Zebra Huddle™

WFTDA => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: Shaun Ketterman on March 02, 2011, 06:42:29 pm

Title: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: Shaun Ketterman on March 02, 2011, 06:42:29 pm
As many of you know, from time to time an "Official Rules Answer" is posted to the WFTDA message board, and it's understood that this is the way that a rule should be applied.  As a service to those of us without access to the WFTDA message board (myself included), I wanted to start gathering up these Official Rules Answers and posting them here.  As new ones are made available, we can just continue to post them on this thread so they're easy to find. 

I think it would be best if we didn't discuss these Official Rules Answers on this thread; just posted them so people could find the text without having to sift through discussions.  We can discusss them on other threads, using this one as a reference point.   

Official Rules Answer
 
Question:

What does "on the Pivot line" mean in 4.2.2 and 4.2.3?

Answer:
On the Pivot line means on the Pivot line. A Pivot is considered on the line if any part of her body, skates or equipment is touching the line. Per 4.2.3 a Non-Pivot Blocker is required to line up behind a Pivot who is on the Pivot line.

Question:
Assuming that the physical transfer of the star happened legally (In Play), may a Pivot place the star on her helmet (thus completing the "star pass") while OOB or OOP?

Answer:
The Pivot need not to be in the engagement zone to place the star on her helmet.  It is only required that the star pass take place in the engagement zone.  However, until the star is on the Pivot's helmet and she has become the Jammer all out of play penalties still apply.

Question:
If during the time between the star pass and the Pivot placing the star on her helmet, the inactive Jammer is sent to the box for a penalty. What position will she serve her penalty as?

Answer:
The inactive Jammer must serve her penalty as the inactive Jammer. Once she is released from the box, the Pivot may place the star on her helmet and become the Jammer or she may return the star to the Jammer.  While the Jammer is in the penalty box the Pivot may not place the Jammer cover on her helmet.  If she does the referee must tell the Pivot she is not the Jammer and to remove the Jammer Cover.  A Pivot who does not follow the referee's instruction shall receive an insubordination major.
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 07:47:10 pm
Multi-player Block


Official Rules Committee Answer:


Question:
 If me and my teammate are side by side, shoulder touching shoulder; but we
are holding each other together with our hands in front of our hips (the link
not making contact with the opponent we are blocking) is it an illegal
multi-player block?


Answer:

In order for a referee to make a multiple player block call he/she must see the following:

#1.  Grasping, joining, linking etc... of one or more teammates together.  This can be active by all parties (ie, linking arms) or can be passive on one or more of their parts (ie, one skater grabbing the jerseys of the teammates on either side of her)
      * To further clarify the link must be grabbing or holding that joins the skaters together. An open hand touch, by itself, is not a link.

#2.  Form a wall

#3.  Impede an opponent
      * Per 6.7.4 the link must be that which impedes the opponent. This does not mean that the link must be physically touching the opposing skater. This means that the link must be in front of the direction/pathway of the opposing skater. Even if the linked skaters have body parts (shoulders, hips ect.) that are between the link and the opposing skater the link is still impeding the opposing skater and must be called as a multiple player block.


To answer the specific scenario asked, yes that is an illegal multiple player block. However, if the skaters involved do not link/grasp/hold each other, but are just touching each other this would be a legal action.

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 07:56:08 pm
Single Jammer False Start



Official Rules Committee Answer

Question: If a Jammer begins a jam without an opposing Jammer on the line and she false starts, is she still required to yield? Should it be automatically upgraded to a major?

Answer: An unopposed Jammer will be assessed a minor for a false start and must yield the illegally gained position.  She does this by coming to a complete stop ceasing all forward momentum.  If she does not yield by coming to a complete stop, the false start minor will be upgraded to a major.

If a Jammer is in between the Pivot and Jammer starting lines at the time the Jammer starting whistle is blown, regardless of who she is front of, she will be assessed a false start minor penalty.  The Jammer must yield her position to the opposing Jammer if there is one on the track.  If there is no opposing Jammer on the track, the Jammer must come to a complete stop.  If she fails to stop, the minor false start penalty will be upgraded to a major.  Blockers may legally engage a Jammer who is between the Jammer and Pivot lines immediately after the first whistle starting the jam.

Applicable rules 6.13.5 - 6.13.5.2.3, 6.13.16

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 08:03:00 pm
Destruction of the Pack prior to the start whistle


Official Rules Response:

Question 1:
Can Blockers illegally destroy the pack and receive a major penalty prior to the pack start whistle?

Answer:
No, it is legal for Blockers to line up in such a way that there is no pack. However, Blockers must immediately reform a pack or penalties will be given per section 6.10

Question 2:
Can Blockers illegally destroy the pack and receive a major penalty prior to the Jammer start whistle?

Answer:
Yes, after the pack start whistle has blown and once a pack is formed with an established pack speed an illegal destruction of the pack penalty shall be enforced per section 6.10. In addition, a group of Blockers who skate clockwise prior to the Jammer start whistle which results in a no pack situation shall also receive a penalty for illegal destruction of the pack.

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 08:16:49 pm
Relative Position



Official Rules Response:


Question 1:
Should relative position be judged by all skaters on the track, or only by the
skaters directly involved/impacted by an engagement?

Answer 1:
Relative position should be judged only by the skaters directly involved or
impacted by an engagement.

Question 2:
An illegal hit puts a player off balance.
The initiator of that hit doesn't gain position on the recipient.
Some other player completely uninvolved and unaffected by the engagement passes
the off-balance skater. Minor or Major?

Answer 2:
The referee must determine the impact of that hit on the recipient in order to
determine if it is a major or minor; if the illegal action only causes the
skater to be off balance but does not physically move/propel her or cause her to
fall or go out of bounds then it would be a minor.


*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 08:20:04 pm
Blocking after the 4th whistle


Official answer from Rules:

Question:
Section 6 does not specify what the penalty is for blocking after the
whistle. How should a hit after the fourth whistle ending the jam be
called?


Answer:
A skater initiating contact or engaging an opponent after the fourth
whistle of the jam that slightly forces the receiving skater off
balance, forward or sideways but does not cause her to fall should be
called as an illegal procedure minor penalty.

A skater initiating contact or engaging an opponent after the fourth
whistle of the jam that severely forces the receiving skater off
balance, forward or sideways should be called as an illegal procedure major penalty.

Any contact above this which is negligent, reckless and/or intentional should be called as an gross misconduct expulsion.

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 08:24:54 pm
Skating OOB


Official Response from Rules Committee:

Question: Does skating out of bounds penalties apply to skating clockwise out of
bounds?

Example: Black Jammer is hit out of bounds and skates clockwise to legally
re-enter the pack.


Answer: Skating clockwise out of bounds to legally rejoin the pack at the first legal opportunity is not an illegal action. Some confusion may have arised due to 6.12.6:

6.12.6 Skating out of bounds to maintain or increase speed.

The main intent of this rule is to penalize skaters who are in bounds and going out
of bounds (example: slightly cutting the inside corners or pushing over the
outside track boundary)in order to maintain or increase speed.

The key word in 6.12.6 is "to." A skater who is hit out of bounds is not skating
out of bounds to maintain or increase speed. They are skating out of bounds in
order to legally renter the track. However the skater must immediately
(meaning at the first legal opportunity) rejoin the pack, otherwise penalties may
be applied.


*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 08:44:40 pm
Assist that leads to a no pack scenario



Official Response from Rules Committee


Question:
Should an assist which results in a no pack situation be penalized for illegally destroying the pack?

Situation: 4 green Blockers are 8 feet in front of 1 white Blocker. The remaining white Blockers are 4 feet behind the frontmost white Blocker. The frontmost white Blocker assists her Jammer. As a result of the assist the front most white blocker abruptly slows down, destroying the pack and is now 12 feet behind the green Blocker.

Answer:
Per 6.10.20 the frontmost white Blocker must be given an out of play major for illegally destroying the pack. Regardless of who initiated the assist, her abrupt change in speed caused a no pack situation and the frontmost white Blocker must be penalized.


*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 09:24:11 pm
Overtime Jam- rules hierarchy



9.2.6.3 - In the event that a referee must call off a jam prior to its natural conclusion (per Sections 9.2.6.2.39.2.6.2.8 ) with time remaining on the jam clock, but not on the period clock, the points from the jam will remain and an additional jam may occur at the Head Referees discretion.

2.5.1.1 - If an overtime jam ends before two (2) minutes for any reason, the bout ends immediately and the score stands. Additional overtime jams can only be played if the score remains tied.

Official Rules Committee reply

Question:
Does 9.2.6.3 supersede 2.5.1.1?  That is, if an overtime jam ends before two minutes and the score is not tied, can a head referee invoke 9.2.6.3 to play an additional overtime jam?

Answer:
2.5.1.1 and 9.2.6.3 stand on equal footing in the Rules...no hierarchy.

2.5.1.1 says specifically "for any reason" - and because it says that, a Head Referee does not have the power given to her/him by the Rules to run an additional Overtime Jam.


*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 10:00:27 pm
Jammer loses helmet cover due to opponents block (3.4.6)

Note- this one is a bit messy but I did my best to preserve all the info, the only thing I changed was to capitalize a couple of letters and spelled out "committee".  Anything in bold was done so by the original poster.  The words that are not attributed to anyone in particular were written by Roastbeef (rules committee member)~panti


Quote from: Hambone
3.5.8.3 says:

3.5.8.3 If a star pass cannot be completed for any reason, the Jammer may return the helmet cover to her own helmet and regain her active Jammer position, but not her Lead Jammer status.

Okay Lead Jammer status can't ever be regained if a foe grabs at my helmet cover and pulls it off.  Got it.

But wait; a few rules earlier (3.4.6), it says:

3.4.6 The Lead Jammer is the only skater who has the privilege of calling off (ending) the jam prior to the expiration of the full two minutes. She may call off the jam at any time after her position has been established, unless she has been removed from the jam due to a penalty or her helmet cover has been removed. If the helmet cover is removed by an opponents action, the Jammer may replace the helmet cover and regain Lead Jammer status. She calls off the jam by repeatedly placing both hands on her hips until the referee whistles the end of the jam. The jam is not over until the referee officially calls off the jam. If there is no Lead Jammer, the jam will run until the full two-minute time limit expires.

How about that... I guess there is at least once circumstance where Lead Jammer *can* be regained, after all.

Presumably we should mentally strike the "for any reason" phrase in 3.5.8.3, because buried in the middle of a long paragraph of 3.4.6 there's a very specific exception to it.  Right?  Or at least scribble in a mental reference to the exception described in 3.4.6?

Either that, or a 'star pass' is a phrase which only applies to intentional star passes initiated by the star-owning team?  (Not in the glossary)

Answer:
Quote from: Grace Killy
Having the cover knocked off your head by an opponent is not the same as a star pass.

and

Quote from: CorbinCojones
A cover removed by an opponent (either by naughty hands or hard hit) and then replaced on the head of a lead jammer does not end her status as lead jammer.

Correct.

Also:

Quote from: CorbinCojones
A cover placed on the helmet all akimbo that pops off on it's own accord from the lead jammer's head ends her status as lead jammer.

Yes, if it is not the result of "an opponent's action"

Quote from: Rev Riot
Can a Lead Jammer who has the helmet cover removed from her head call off the jam?

3.4.6 says she will "regain Lead Jammer status", but 3.4.7 says she "retains Lead Jammer status for the duration of the Jam unless SHE FORFEITS the status by; 3.4.7.1 Removing her helmet cover for any reason; 3.4.7.2 Being removed from play due to a penalty"

She didn't remove the helmet cover, she had it removed, so 3.4.7.1 doesn't apply, and obviously 3.4.7.2 doesn't apply. In the sense of fairness I don't see why if an opponent were to grab the cover she should have to chase them down first to call off the jam. Of course I'd probably call it off anyway, but I also don't see why that would warrant a penalty, minor or major.

The rules are clear that she must have it back on her helmet to regain lead, and therefore call it off.

If an opponent were to grab it off of the opposing Jammer's helmet and run (skate) away, Rules Committee agreed that act is expulsion worthy and in some cases would be justification for the jam to be called off by the referee.

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 10:22:00 pm
Dual Penalization vs Upgrading

This is another clarification from Rules Committee that is not as clean (in terms of format) as some of the others but nonetheless is quite clear.  Also, all the words that are not specifically attributed to anyone were written by Roastbeef (rules committee member)  ~panti


Quote from: Johnny Zebra
Just want to clarify what's being discussed here, as the thread responses seem to be crossing a few streams at times.

Is this what's being said is the appropriate way to call the following situations that have been mentioned here?

1. False start, then failure to yield = a minor upgraded to a major.

2. Too many players on the track, then jam has to be called = two penalties (minor + major)

3. Player is OOP, receives minor, does not immediately re-enter EZ = two penalties (minor + major)

4. No pack situation, failure to reform minor given, then sustained failure to reform = two penalties (minor + major)

All of these are correct.

Regarding #1, if the false start is a Jammer's fourth minor she should be sent off immediately as stated here correctly by J.Zebra:

Quote from: Seer Sin
A skater false starts, before she had a chance to yield I sent her off for her 4th minor. Should we wait to send her off because if she doesn't yield we upgrade to a major? I've always sent a skater off immediately for an intentional 4th minor. Should an unintentional 4th be any different?

Quote from: Johnny Zebra
I'd say no. Once she earns her fourth, she should be directed off the track immediately, and for all intents and purposes is a NOTT player. So needing to yield becomes moot.

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 11:16:12 pm
Official Rules Response

Question:
When has the rearmost pack skater crossed the line?

Answer:
The rearmost pack skater has crossed the Pivot line once her skates are no longer touching on or behind the Pivot line.


*this response may be shared with non-wftda refs
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: the pantichrist on March 02, 2011, 11:25:18 pm
For the above clarifications WFTDA members (like myself) were given permission to share with non-WFTDA referees.  Hence each one has the line-
*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees

I have only posted clarifications that had the above designation.

Some of these clarifications have already been used in threads here on Zebra Huddle.  

I have been thinking for some time that these needed to be gathered for Zebra Huddle and put in one place so when Shaun Ketterman started this thread I took it upon myself to gather an exhaustive list.  (eek, 'tis scary to post things from WFTDA)

As of March 2, 2011- this is it, these are all the clarifications that have been given the green light to share.


In some cases their may have been other discussions in the original threads from the WFTDA forum that could provide further enlightenment but we have not been given permission to post all of that stuff, and for good reason, the waters get muddy enough as it is.  
 

I hope you all find this helpful (and I hope the powers that be at Zebra Huddle are okay with my actions).  As new clarifications are given the green light I will place them here.

thx,
panti
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: Major Wood on March 03, 2011, 11:02:51 pm
Let's please keep all posts in this thread to official rules answers.
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: mick hawkins on April 12, 2011, 01:32:28 am
I have an Official WFTDA Rules Committee answer for your question :

[rule]A blocker who is on the track in front of the pivot line, but behind the jammer line has false started and must yield to the pack by allowing it to catch up to or pass them before skating forwards.  The skater may chose to speed up their yield by skating clockwise to rejoin the back of the pack, but is not required to skate clockwise to complete the yield.  Failing to yield to the pack will result in a false start major penalty.  Officially.  There is no other penalty applied because they are either patiently waiting for the pack to catch and pass them (also satisfying the requirements for returning to play), or they have skated forward and received a major false start and should be signaled to the box.[/rule]
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: Graeme on June 24, 2011, 01:21:37 pm
has there been any more clarifications since it has been 2 months since the last one???
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: JoeXCore on June 24, 2011, 03:33:26 pm
Anything that should be posted here is posted here VERY soon after it can be.

However there are these...

http://wftda.com/rules/qa

Which are not posted here. One thing has been released there in the last bit.
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: JoeXCore on July 15, 2011, 12:59:13 am
http://wftda.com/rules

At a glance this thread is likely obsolete.

EDIT - apparently there are a number of things here that aren't there
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: mick hawkins on July 15, 2011, 01:05:49 am
http://wftda.com/rules

At a glance this thread is likely obsolete.

There's a number of things on page one of this thread that aren't on the /rules page
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: Midnight Mark on March 29, 2012, 11:42:31 pm
Not to propagate the non-rules discussion but my understanding of this thread is that only clarifications posted on the WFTDA message board and not consequently posted on the /rules page of the website will be posted here.  Since anyone can see the Rules QA on the WFTDA site they do not need to be posted here.
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: Rev. Riot on July 31, 2014, 05:46:35 am
Hope this is the right place:

Official Rules Committee post:

Forceful contact above the shoulders, even unintentional, should be called as a high block.
Quote
No Impact/No Penalty
5.2.1 - Contact above the shoulders that is incidental.
Penalty
5.2.2 - Any block with forceful contact landing above the shoulders.

We suspect that some forceful high blocks are not being called because they are judged to be "incidental," in the sense that they are secondary to some other action.
Quote
No Impact/No Penalty
5.2.1 - Contact above the shoulders that is incidental.
With regard to high blocks, "Incidental" describes contact that you would only mention because it was above the shoulders, and otherwise was entirely un-noteworthy.  Forceful contact that is secondary to another action should not be treated as "incidental" in this context.

WFTDA removed the notion of secondary from the high block section in order for a penalty to be given to any hit that had forceful contact to the head.  "Incidental" under the no penalty section should not be read as "secondary." We'll be changing the wording in the next rule set to replace the word "incidental" with "not forceful" in order to make this more clear.
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: Vanilla VICE on July 31, 2014, 12:55:28 pm
I'm glad to see this being put out there. I was still hearing refs that were still quoting the previous ruleset and trying to apply that to the current one.
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: ttjustice on April 02, 2015, 01:35:29 am
I received feedback that the Star Pass to draw a Cut is still not being called consistently, so I am posting the consensus answer which is also the one agreed upon by WFTDA Rules Comm.  Please share with any appropriate groups to spread the knowledge!

Star Pass to draw a Cut

Situation:
•   Jam starts and Green Jammer blocks Blue Jammer out of bounds.
•   Green Jammer skates clockwise to force the Blue Jammer to come in behind her.
•   Blue Jammer starts to also skate clockwise out of bounds but stops in turn 3 and waits.
•   Green Jammer makes it to the front of the pack which is near the pivot line now.
•   Green Jammer (still ahead of the pack) passes the star to the Green Pivot who is the foremost blocker in the pack.
•   New Green Jammer skates forward and back around to begin her initial pass, while the old Green Jammer (now blocker) remains with the pack.
•   Blue Jammer waits until the pack comes around and she reenters behind the old Green Jammer now blocker.
The consensus was that the Blue Jammer needed to reenter behind the old Green Jammer/Blocker and that the old Green Jammer/Blocker was now just part of the pack.  Keep it simple right? We all know how when a group of derby officials get together they start talking about rules they begin tossing out "what about this?" or "what about that?"  So here are a couple questions a group of us had:
1.   When the star pass took place, was the old jammer now new blocker really really far behind the pack & need to reenter the pack from the rear?
2.   Pending on how you view the answer to question #1, would then the old jammer/new blocker have lost her "relative position" allowing the Blue jammer to enter the track once the star pass was completed?


Analysis:

The Blue Jammer can re-enter immediately after the Star Pass happens.

We know that the Green Jammer is a lap behind the pack. That's a position (the Jammer position), as evidenced by the fact that both the position and the status that position has can be transferred.

We know that the Green Pivot/all other Green Blockers are on the same lap as the Blue Jammer. Since the Player A is no longer a Jammer, and must now be a Blocker, and since she won't be penalized for illegally entering the pack from the wrong direction, presumably she is also on the same pass as the Pack and the Blue Jammer.

So Blue Jammer can immediately re-enter, because she IS entering legally behind the person who knocked her out. That person is the Green Blocker who is on the same pass as her, and is now in front of her.

Also discussed in this ZH thread.
http://www.zebrahuddle.com/index.php?topic=4450.msg47771#msg47771
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: ttjustice on April 29, 2015, 12:03:27 pm
WFTDA Rules Committee Statement on Multi-Player Blocking.

Section 5.7 makes multiple references to "upon a physical challenge by an opponent."  The intent of that language is to indicate that a skater must physically attempt to get in between the two opponents that are linked, grasping, or intertwined.  The skater does not need to make direct, physical contact to the linked body part(s) in order for a multi-player block penalty to be assessed.

The rule is designed to eliminate the unfairness inherent in reinforcing a connection in a wall, allowing officials to make calls based on the action rather than forcing additional analysis of the potential impact or outcome of that action.

(So the message is there was no change to the rule itself from the previous ruleset.)
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: ttjustice on June 01, 2015, 07:00:07 pm
Rules Committee Statement on Forearms

    In observing recent gameplay under the 2015 rules, the Rules Committee is concerned about varying impact standards for Forearms penalties, and more specifically an incongruent standard for penalization between forearms used to impede versus forearms used to pass an opponent. While these are two different types of action that will ultimately always look different, we need to align the level of impact. Roller Derby is not played using one’s hands or forearms against an opponent, however like most illegal actions, the Forearms rules call for an impact determination. In the gameplay observed, “forearms to impede” have at times been called too aggressively while “forearms to pass” have been called too lax.

    Quote

    5.5.8 - Use of hands or forearms to grab, hold onto or hold back an opponent impeding that opponent’s mobility.


    Referees should visually establish that active resistance is being applied with the forearm. This typically cannot be established in a singular moment in time or by the observance of contact alone. If the contact happens and is immediately dropped, then it probably ought not be called as a penalty. If it lasts long enough to be clear that the illegal contact is holding back the opponent, a “forearm for impeding” penalty is likely warranted.

    A referee might not be able to determine if a skater is impeded after the first instance of quick, successive forearm contacts. However, if the skater is repeatedly using hands/forearms to maintain engagement with, or a superior position to, an opponent, or if that opponent would've been able to get by the initiating skater were it not for these temporary forearms, a penalty is warranted.

    Quote

    5.5.7 - Any illegal forearm or hand contact allowing the initiator or a teammate to gain relative position, or causing an opponent to lose relative position.


    The Rules Committee has often heard the interpretation that the illegal forearm contact must “cause” the pass, however causation is often more complicated than a single point of contact, and this interpretation leads referees to be unable to make a call due to being less than certain that the illegal forearm contact was the sole cause of the pass. Referees ought to determine if the illegal hand/forearm contact materially aided in the pass. If a skater uses their hands/forearms to assist themself in passing an opponent, a penalty is warranted. Incidental contact that does not aid or assist in the change of relative position (nor warrant a penalty for any other reason) ought not be penalized.


    Using hands/forearms to maintain balance or an in-bounds status without impeding or causing a change in relative position against an opponent should not currently be called as a penalty in the rules. The Rules Committee acknowledges that a significant portion of skaters believe this ought to be penalized, however it does not represent the intent of the current Rules of Flat Track Roller Derby. In observation of gameplay and anecdotal experience, the Rules Committee also believes that instances of this action are rare.

Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: Vanilla VICE on June 02, 2015, 01:10:01 pm
Quote
The Rules Committee has often heard the interpretation that the illegal forearm contact must “cause” the pass, however causation is often more complicated than a single point of contact, and this interpretation leads referees to be unable to make a call due to being less than certain that the illegal forearm contact was the sole cause of the pass. Referees ought to determine if the illegal hand/forearm contact materially aided in the pass. If a skater uses their hands/forearms to assist themself in passing an opponent, a penalty is warranted. Incidental contact that does not aid or assist in the change of relative position (nor warrant a penalty for any other reason) ought not be penalized.

I really like this part because I have been recently trying to make the case that aiding is a penalty but met with resistance.

As far is the impeding being too strict, I didn't even know that was being called to strict. I really like these types of clarifications that put people on the same page.
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: ttjustice on March 01, 2016, 06:43:45 pm
Rules Committee statement on Point of No Return:

The 2015 revision to 6.1.1.1, when paired with 6.2.2.1.1, created an unintended application of the Point of No Return. The 2015 revision to 6.1.1.1 was in respect to scoring points and not the Point of No Return. Therefore, 6.2.2.1.1 should now read as:

6.2.2.1.1 If, after receiving the appropriate hand signal and verbal cue, all parts of a penalized Skater have passed beyond the Point of No Return (see Glossary), the Skater must skate all the way around the track in order to enter the box from the appropriate counter-clockwise direction.

(and my apologies for not being around here much- youngest is playing club and high school volleyball and oldest is going to college next year so applications and stuff.  A full life I lead!)
Title: Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
Post by: ttjustice on March 01, 2016, 06:45:09 pm
Rules Time Out Clarification:


Q: If an Alternate is not wearing an “A,” should they immediately receive a penalty?
A: 2.7.2 states that a team’s Designated Alternate must visibly display an “A” on their clothing, uniform, or arm.

Although failing to visibly display an “A” is a violation of the rules, a penalty is only warranted if and when there has been an impact on the game. An example of impact would include a Designated Alternate successfully calling a Team Timeout or Official Review.

A team must select its Designated Alternate and identify them to the Head Referee prior the start of the game. Once the game has started, a team may not replace their Designated Alternate. A team that does not select and identify its Designated Alternate prior to the start of the game may not do so once the game has started (2.7.2.2).

A Designated Alternate who fails to visibly display an “A” does not have their status as Designated Alternate revoked - there is no such thing as an “inactive Designated Alternate.”

Example 1
A team’s Designated Alternate is not visibly displaying an “A.” They request a Team Timeout.
Verdict - The Team Timeout should be granted. An Illegal Procedure penalty should be issued to the Designated Alternate (or, if the Designated Alternate is a Non-Skater, to the Captain as per 6.1.4) for a Uniform Violation.
Reasoning - There is no such thing as an “inactive Designated Alternate” - despite not visibly displaying an “A,” the Designated Alternate retains the privilege of calling a Team Timeout. Officials should grant the request if their team has a Team Timeout remaining. However, successfully calling the the Team Timeout while not visibly displaying an “A” has impacted on the game, and warrants a penalty (5.13.13).

Example 2
A team’s Captain calls an Official Review. Officials grant the request. The team’s Designated Alternate, while not visibly displaying an “A,” conferences with the Head Referee during the Official Review.
Verdict - No Penalty.
Reasoning - The Official Review was called legally, by the Captain. The Designated Alternate’s failure to visibly display an “A” has not had enough impact on the game to warrant a penalty.


Q: Should a Captain not wearing a “C” be treated the same way?
A: Yes. The principles in the answer above also apply to a Captain not wearing a “C.”
However, note that it is possible to replace a Captain mid-game (2.7.2.1).


Q: A non-Captain, non-Alternate skater requests a Team Timeout. Should they immediately receive a penalty?
A: 1.7.2 and 1.11.1.1 state that a team’s Captain or Designated Alternate signal the Officials to request a Team Timeout or Official Review.

A non-Captain, non-Alternate skater (or support staff member) who signals the Officials for a Team Timeout or Official Review should not have their request granted. No penalty is warranted.

In the event that their request for a Team Timeout or Official Review is successful, a Delay of Game penalty should be issued to the requesting Skater (or, if the requester is a support staff member, to the Captain as per 6.1.4).

Example 3
A Skater (who is neither the Captain, nor the Designated Alternate) requests a Team Timeout. Officials grant the request.
Verdict - A Delay of Game penalty should be issued to the Skater. The next jam should be started as quickly as possible (but no sooner than 30 seconds from the end of the previous jam). The team should not be charged for a Timeout.
Reasoning - The Skater’s successful, but illegal, request has interfered with the standard progression of the game. This has caused enough impact on the game to warrant a penalty.

Example 4
A Skater (who is not the Designated Alternate) uses hand signals to communicate with their Captain, asking for a Team Timeout to be called. An Official, mistaking the Skater’s hand signals for a legal request, grants a  Team Timeout.
Verdict - No Penalty. The next jam should be started as quickly as possible (but no sooner than 30 seconds from the end of the previous jam). The team should not be charged for a Timeout.
Reasoning - The Skater was attempting to communicate with their Captain. They were not attempting to request a Team Timeout from the Officials. No penalty is warranted.