Zebra Huddleâ„¢

WFTDA => General Ref Discussion => Mistakes and other problems => Topic started by: hottrod on August 24, 2012, 07:06:15 pm

Title: Jammer confusion
Post by: hottrod on August 24, 2012, 07:06:15 pm
Recently I reffed a bout where both jammers lost the ability to obtain lead status but one of the jam refs forgot he called the minor and somewhere through the jam he started signaling lead jammer. The skater was well aware that she had recieved the minor but since he was pointing at her she called it off anyway resulting in an official review. After going over all of the options it was decided that even though the ref had a hand in the confusion the skater still owns the responsibility of her status on the track so she was penalized and sent to the box. The only issue I had with the decision was that this happened on the next to last jam with only ten points separating the score. Was three right decision made? I am starting to head ref more bouts and I want to make sure I get situations like this resolved as fairly as possible.
Title: Re: Jammer confusion
Post by: Shaun Ketterman on August 24, 2012, 07:27:22 pm
No, the player shouldn't have been penalized.  If a referee communicates to a jammer that she's lead and she calls it off, she's not to be penalized.

[rule]
Q: Both scoring referees award and signal Lead Jammer status to their Jammers (the second, mistakenly). If the second Jammer successfully calls off the jam (incorrectly believing she is the Lead Jammer), should she be assessed a penalty?

A: No. It is only a penalty for a Jammer who is NOT Lead Jammer to call off a jam (6.13.8 and 6.13.19). If both Jammers are awarded Lead Jammer status, even in error, then an appropriate use of referee discretion should be to dismiss any penalty assessment.[/rule]
Title: Re: Jammer confusion
Post by: hottrod on August 24, 2012, 07:33:09 pm
Simple enough. Thank you.
Title: Re: Jammer confusion
Post by: Cliquework on August 24, 2012, 08:07:40 pm
Quote
but one of the jam refs forgot he called the minor

Wanted to focus on this briefly, just as a reminder. You may well know this, but for others as well. A minor in itself does not make the jammer inelligible. It may. The player may have cut a skater. A minor penalty, but more importantly an illegal pass. It is the passes that count towards lead. Not the penalties. An "Elbows" minor for instance wouldn't render a skater inelligible for lead. The illegal pass in the previous example can be rectified by passing legally.