Zebra Huddle™

WFTDA => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: Alonzo Barricades on November 21, 2012, 04:10:56 pm

Title: 3.4.2.4 both jammer simultaneously meet all requirement to become lead jammer
Post by: Alonzo Barricades on November 21, 2012, 04:10:56 pm
Hi,

This rules come from a clarification of the previous ruleset. I remember the clarification gave a scenario where both jammer had passed all blocker but one, and this last blocker exit the engagement zone. By 3.4.1.3 both jammer meet all requirement to become lead at the exact moment this blocker exit the EZ.

But, is this the only possible scenario ?
If the last blocker in front of jammers fall he is considerdered OOP. So you can say that at this exact moment both blocker had passed the foremost inplay blocker and they both meet requirement for lead jammer status. Is it right ?
Title: Re: 3.4.2.4 both jammer simultaneously meet all requirement to become lead jammer
Post by: Darkjester on November 21, 2012, 06:17:37 pm
yep.. or goes out of bounds....
Title: Re: 3.4.2.4 both jammer simultaneously meet all requirement to become lead jammer
Post by: Bratty Cardia on November 21, 2012, 08:08:04 pm
I could have sworn that if the Blocker goes down instead of out of the Engagement Zone, that Blocker still needs to be passed to earn Lead Jammer, but I'm not entirely certain. Could anyone chime in on this?

However, I ought to mention the new rule that states:

[rule]3.4.2.4—In the event both Jammers simultaneously meet all requirements for Lead Jammer, the foremost Jammer, if there is one, will be declared Lead Jammer.[/rule]

Therefore, in the original scenario, we need to see which Jammer, if either, is ahead of the other. If there is one, that Jammer will be awarded Lead. Otherwise, neither of them should be awarded Lead. This overrides the clarification from the previous ruleset.
Title: Re: 3.4.2.4 both jammer simultaneously meet all requirement to become lead jammer
Post by: Nick Bergus on November 21, 2012, 08:11:15 pm
Every blocker, except those who have exited the front of the engagement zone, needs to be passed for lead jammer to be awarded. It was recently discussed here (http://www.zebrahuddle.com/index.php?topic=3078.msg39315).
Title: Re: 3.4.2.4 both jammer simultaneously meet all requirement to become lead jammer
Post by: Bratty Cardia on November 21, 2012, 08:23:36 pm
Thank you for the quick citation! Unless the Blocker is NOTT or is ahead of the Engagement Zone, they must still be passed for purposes of earning Lead Jammer.

So in the original scenario, if that Blocker were sent off for a penalty, or perhaps because they were in the queue for the penalty box, and now a spot has opened up, they do not need to be passed for purposes of earning Lead Jammer once they are directed off the track. At that moment, apply rule 3.4.2.4 to see if there is a foremost Jammer to award Lead to.
Title: Re: 3.4.2.4 both jammer simultaneously meet all requirement to become lead jammer
Post by: Alonzo Barricades on November 21, 2012, 08:47:08 pm
Thank you all ! I knew that missed something but now I what it is !