Zebra Huddleâ„¢

WFTDA => Rules Discussion => You Make The Call... => Topic started by: llama of death on August 01, 2016, 06:51:13 pm

Title: Penalty or not part of the jam?
Post by: llama of death on August 01, 2016, 06:51:13 pm
Scenario:

Teams line up for the Jam. Black team has 3 blockers on the track and a jammer, their 4th is in the box (serving time form the previous jam). Black 29 skates onto the track at turn 4 skating towards the staring positions (didn't see the black blocker in the box). Jam starts, Black 29 is still in the jammer staring area but completely on the track.

You make the call-
Title: Re: Penalty or not part of the jam?
Post by: Stray Taco on August 01, 2016, 07:03:02 pm
"Black 29 return to your bench." Regardless of position, there are too many Skaters on the track.

[rule]5.13.3 - Too many Skaters on the track. The extra Skater is instructed to return to the bench without stopping the jam.[/rule]
Title: Re: Penalty or not part of the jam?
Post by: The Sharmanator on August 01, 2016, 07:23:55 pm
"Black 29 return to your bench." Regardless of position, there are too many Skaters on the track.

[rule]5.13.3 - Too many Skaters on the track. The extra Skater is instructed to return to the bench without stopping the jam.[/rule]

Okay same scenario but change to there is no one in the box.
Title: Re: Penalty or not part of the jam?
Post by: Stray Taco on August 01, 2016, 07:25:33 pm
"Black 29 return to your bench." Regardless of position, there are too many Skaters on the track.

[rule]5.13.3 - Too many Skaters on the track. The extra Skater is instructed to return to the bench without stopping the jam.[/rule]

Okay same scenario but change to there is no one in the box.
*Tweet* Black 29, Illegal Positioning" <swoop>
[rule]5.13.8 - Illegal Positioning: A Skater who commits a False Start (see Section 3.2.7) by touching completely outside of their legal starting area (but fully inside the track boundary) at the jam-starting whistle. Each Skater who violates this rule shall receive a penalty, even if this includes more than one Skater from the same team.[/rule]
Title: Re: Penalty or not part of the jam?
Post by: The Sharmanator on August 01, 2016, 07:43:52 pm
"Black 29 return to your bench." Regardless of position, there are too many Skaters on the track.

[rule]5.13.3 - Too many Skaters on the track. The extra Skater is instructed to return to the bench without stopping the jam.[/rule]

Okay same scenario but change to there is no one in the box.
*Tweet* Black 29, Illegal Positioning" <swoop>
[rule]5.13.8 - Illegal Positioning: A Skater who commits a False Start (see Section 3.2.7) by touching completely outside of their legal starting area (but fully inside the track boundary) at the jam-starting whistle. Each Skater who violates this rule shall receive a penalty, even if this includes more than one Skater from the same team.[/rule]

Bingo!
Title: Re: Penalty or not part of the jam?
Post by: AdamSmasher on August 02, 2016, 10:26:10 pm
We had a lot of these this weekend at Rollercon on track 2, where the benches were in the opposite straightaway from the jam line.