Zebra Huddle™

WFTDA => General Ref Discussion => Topic started by: Destructor on February 18, 2018, 10:54:22 pm

Title: Is this a Stop Clockwise?
Post by: Destructor on February 18, 2018, 10:54:22 pm
I saw this video: https://streamable.com/s/jiko1/majltz

I think it's a good technique, but the execution that is seen in this video for me is to "Stop Clockwise" when the blocker stops on the two toes and throws out of bounds the other player.

Is the appreciation correct or very strict?

If the blue skater not exit, NI / NP?
If the black blocker continue moving in counterclockwise and push out the blue skater, legal?
Title: Re: Is this a Stop Clockwise?
Post by: Anton Deck on February 20, 2018, 09:45:28 am
Ive seen this posted in a number of places and the almost universal repsonse is no call.

Although there is a breif pause in the skates moving (and this action is slowed down in the video) just prior to the final block being executed that isnt consistent with what gets penalised as a stop block in general gameplay. There used to be a specific listed exemption for moementrairy pauses in movement, and whilst this hasnt been explicitly carried over into the newer rulesets as a casebook there been no indication of an intended change by omission and I have seen no change in how stop blocks have been called.
The "stop" relaly is fraction when viewed at real time. There is the potential for this type of action to be a stop block, but this isnt one that would normally get penalised. It could be argued as tehcnically correct, but it seems most agree that this wouldnt be consistent or how the sort of action that is intended to be penalised by the stop block rules.

In regard to the impact spectrum ... a significant change in trajectory or knocking the recipient severly off balance is sufficient to penalise if this were deemed to be a stop block. It appears to me that both happens in this example.

Title: Re: Is this a Stop Clockwise?
Post by: Cassano on May 02, 2018, 04:05:36 pm
How long does it take to master something like that? It looks rather complex to me. But then again, I'm a newbie still.
Title: Re: Is this a Stop Clockwise?
Post by: Mav'Ricky on May 11, 2018, 12:06:47 pm
Ooh that’s a good question. I’d probably let that one go but I understand if another ref calls it. It’s very subtle. I watched it once and ignores the slo motion as that’s all you get in real life derby.

That said, once both toe stops go down that gets my attention