Zebra Huddleâ„¢

WFTDA => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: heylexi1 on June 30, 2018, 07:35:40 am

Title: Failure to Reform
Post by: heylexi1 on June 30, 2018, 07:35:40 am
Hello,

During a no pack situation, do skaters in the front group need to skate clockwise to reform the pack?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Failure to Reform
Post by: Destructor on June 30, 2018, 04:00:01 pm
Read the cases in this section.

https://rules.wftda.com/02_gameplay.html#gameplay-engagement-zone-and-pack
Title: Re: Failure to Reform
Post by: heylexi1 on June 30, 2018, 07:26:55 pm
 Hi,

I'd spent some time scouring the rules for a clear answer. Here's what I'd found from the section you mentioned:

[rule]All Blockers from both teams must act to reform a Pack.[/rule]

That's great, but what is considered an "act" for the front group? Stopping? Skating clockwise? In the 2015 ruleset, it was clearly spelled out: "5.10.5 During a No Pack situation, Skaters will be warned that there is no pack and will be penalized if they do not immediately attempt to reform the pack. For Skaters in the rear group, this includes stepping or skating in the counter-clockwise direction. For Skaters in the front group, this includes coasting, braking, or coming to a complete stop".

The most clarification I could find for the current ruleset was in the Casebook, Scenario C2.3.B:

[rule]Roller derby is played in the counterclockwise direction...[/rule]

I would love some further clarification if possible.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Failure to Reform
Post by: Destructor on June 30, 2018, 07:58:35 pm
[rule]It is the responsibility of all Blockers to maintain a Pack, and intentionally destroying the Pack is illegal. When the Pack is moving in the derby direction or stopped during a Jam, clockwise skating which destroys the Pack is illegal.[/rule]

New rule set is not so friendly for new sport people.

Front skaters no need skate in clock direccion because this isn't the game direccion. Front skaters can stop or slow skate in game direccion. But couldn't any action prevent that the other team can reform pack.

But this indication is not explicitly in the rules.
Title: Re: Failure to Reform
Post by: AdamSmasher on July 01, 2018, 06:27:44 pm
The rules don't say.  They just don't.

The rules say:

"Derby is played in the counter clockwise direction."

They also say:

"It is the responsibility of all blockers to maintain a pack."

They do not specify which of those two principles is more important.


That said - the overwhelming consensus is what Destructor said here: The front group only needs to stop.  That's how it was in the prior ruleset, that's how everyone officiates it, and that's what you should do.

But it's not in the rules.
Title: Re: Failure to Reform
Post by: heylexi1 on July 01, 2018, 09:45:33 pm
Thank you!
Title: Re: Failure to Reform
Post by: Garrotin Keillor on July 16, 2018, 06:39:09 am
Always keep in mind that slowing or stopping is an action, and forcing clockwise skating could set a hazardous precedent.

If a group is going at a moderate pace and red team is in back and white team is in front, and there's a no pack called, as red speeds up and white slows, the pack will quickly reform.  I've never seen a no pack last more than a few seconds.

If red team sprints forward and white team is asked to turn and sprint clockwise...well, that's really giving the red team almost an unfair advantage - as the teams meet white cannot (legally) engage red, but red can engage white.
Title: Re: Failure to Reform
Post by: AdamSmasher on July 17, 2018, 03:51:00 am
Always keep in mind that slowing or stopping is an action, and forcing clockwise skating could set a hazardous precedent.

If a group is going at a moderate pace and red team is in back and white team is in front, and there's a no pack called, as red speeds up and white slows, the pack will quickly reform.  I've never seen a no pack last more than a few seconds.

I certainly have.  We wouldn't have "failure to reform" at all if this weren't a possibility.