Zebra Huddle™

WFTDA => General Ref Discussion => Topic started by: Robert 5 to 3 on August 07, 2018, 12:00:13 am

Title: Star Pass Complete ?
Post by: Robert 5 to 3 on August 07, 2018, 12:00:13 am
Hi Zebra friends!

I witness a few star passes over the weekends bouts in my home town and saw two different timings on when the Jammer Referees would indicate a star pass is complete (using the hand signal).

1 - As soon as the star cover has been legally handed to the Pivot
2 - As soon as the Pivot has placed the star helmet cover over the Pivot cover...

Which is the at the point of completed star pass? During the change over, if a penalty is given, who would they serve it as?
Title: Re: Star Pass Complete ?
Post by: AdamSmasher on August 07, 2018, 12:16:19 pm
WFTDA Rule/Clarification:
2.2.4

...Upon releasing the Star into the Pivot’s grasp, the position of Jammer is passed. The new Jammer takes over for the old Jammer in terms of points scored, trips through the pack, and Skaters passed.

You may have just perceived the signal being given longer or later, but the moment of the transfer of position is when the jammer lets go of the star.  This assumes that the pass is fully legal, i.e., that the jammer and the pivot are both upright, in bounds, in play, not in queue, and not currently penalized.
Title: Re: Star Pass Complete ?
Post by: Robert 5 to 3 on August 08, 2018, 01:09:44 am
Thanks AdamSmasher.

So if a Pivot legally receives a the Star helmet cover, has not yet put it on and receives a penalty... They will need to serve the penalty as a Jammer...
Title: Re: Star Pass Complete ?
Post by: AdamSmasher on August 08, 2018, 03:31:24 am
Thanks AdamSmasher.

So if a Pivot legally receives a the Star helmet cover, has not yet put it on and receives a penalty... They will need to serve the penalty as a Jammer...

Correct.  As soon as the Jammer releases the star into the Pivot's grasp (all other things being legal), the jammer status has transferred.
Title: Re: Star Pass Complete ?
Post by: Bluebeard on August 23, 2018, 12:41:14 am
First, I agree with everything Smasher said.  He is absolutely correct.

Another possible explanation for an official indicating star pass complete when the pivot turned jammer dons the star is that in old rulesets, the pass was not complete until the pivot donned the star.  I forget off the top of my head if it was the 2014, or 2015 rulesets that changed the star pass process so that the pass was complete upon the jammer releasing the star to the pivot.  That could have been a referee who has been around for a while (possibly with a break during which star passes changed) and could be thinking of star passes from an old ruleset.  In that case that official could use a reminder that star passes have changed and they should probably go over the current rule set with respect to star passes.