Zebra Huddleâ„¢

WFTDA => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: Rego_Derby on November 07, 2018, 01:14:35 am

Title: 4.1.1 Intiator of Illegal Target Zone
Post by: Rego_Derby on November 07, 2018, 01:14:35 am
How should I rule on this? A line of blockers shoulder to shoulder are up against one of the lines (inside or outside doesn't matter). The blocker on the line turns their body at an angle so they are facing more towards the inside/outside of the track than straight ahead such that the angle they create with the blocker next to them eliminates the seam and the jammer has nothing to contact except the illegal target zone on both blockers as defined in that section. Does the blocker doing this get called for initiating with the illegal target zone? Does it matter more about how much time they give the jammer to react? It would seem like a sound strategy to force the jammer to the middle depending on how to rule on the situation.
Title: Re: 4.1.1 Intiator of Illegal Target Zone
Post by: AdamSmasher on November 15, 2018, 01:32:07 pm
I think you may be overthinking this a little bit.  Blockers are allowed to position themselves however they like on the track, as long as they aren't linked.  Turning one shoulder away from an opponent turns the other shoulder toward them, after all.

Initiation is a separate question from positioning.  Initiation just asks "who made the last move which caused this contact to happen the way it did?"

If a jammer is coming in at high speed and the blocker suddenly jumps in front of them such that the jammer couldn't change course, the answer to that is "the blocker."

On the other hand, if a jammer who *could* have changed trajectory *doesn't*, then the answer is "the jammer."

And it is definitely possible for there to be two initiators for a contact, if both people move simultaneously in a way that determines the final situation.