Zebra Huddleâ„¢

WFTDA => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: constanza on November 13, 2018, 06:57:39 pm

Title: Intentionally not reporting to the penalty box and return to the track
Post by: constanza on November 13, 2018, 06:57:39 pm
Hello everybody, this situation happen last weekend in a tournament and with the SO crew we weren't sure that we handle it well:

White pivot is penalized for a back block for the JR, abandoned immediately the track and skate in direction of the penalty box, but before arriving to the penalty box, she re-enters to the track and starts participating in the play and receives the star. Then the IPR realize that she never reported to the penalty Box and send the "white pivot/current white jammer" to the penalty box for the original penalty plus an insubordination, both penalties were served as Pivot.

Other than the white pivot should have been in the penalty box the star pass was legal, should she had served her time as pivot or as jammer?

The behaviour of the white pivot justified an expulsion?
Title: Re: Intentionally not reporting to the penalty box and return to the track
Post by: AdamSmasher on November 15, 2018, 01:23:11 pm
Here's the sequence, if I have this right:

1. White pivot gets a penalty, and leaves the track.
2. White pivot returns to the track without being told to do so and resumes playing derby.
 - At this point, they are affecting game play after having been penalized.  This *definitely* warrants a second penalty per C5.4.C.  This would be a Misconduct penalty, probably an insubordination.
 - If they refuse to leave the track for the second penalty and continue to affect gameplay, the jam should be called, and they should *also* be issued an Interference penalty as a third penalty for causing a clock stoppage.

.. but continuing with what really happened:

3. White jammer passes the star to white pivot.
 - Since this is a star pass to an illegal recipient, under the rules in effect as of November, 2018, this is a Star Pass Violation (Illegal Procedure) penalty to the jammer. No star pass has occurred - the jammer is the jammer, and the pivot is the pivot, and both should be heading to the box as their original positions.

As far as expulsions go, I think this would have to be situational - did the white pivot appear confused?  Were they obviously flaunting the officials' instructions? This is one of those situations where we do need to look at intent before removing someone from the game.  If the pivot said "F*** you, refs," and returned to play, that's massively unsporting.  If the pivot is, on the other hand, 12 years old, playing in their first game, and completely confused, I wouldn't even remotely consider expelling them.