Zebra Huddleâ„¢

WFTDA => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: rogrant on April 08, 2019, 09:25:34 pm

Title: Clamping down with the upper arm
Post by: rogrant on April 08, 2019, 09:25:34 pm
Here is the scenario:

Jammer is trying to drive through the middle of a tripod (flying-V, triangle, etc.).  The jammer then sticks their arm into the space between the two booty blockers.  One of the blockers clamps down on the jammer's arm with their upper arm preventing the jammer from being able to pull out of the wall.  Would this clamping down on the jammer's arm by the blocker be a penalty? It isn't a forearm or elbow penalty.  If it is a penalty is it misconduct?

Thank you!
Title: Re: Clamping down with the upper arm
Post by: Vanilla VICE on April 14, 2019, 07:46:55 pm
Just doing it may not warrant a penalty, but doing it and then some amount of time later if you see it is impeding the Jammer's progress, then a Forearm penalty should go to the blocker. Officials should be certain that the clamp is happening, and not just some product of a jammer sticking their arm there on purpose.

Unrelated: Elbows were removed as a verbal cue and penalty code.