Zebra Huddleâ„¢

WFTDA => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: MyBabyDaddy on April 21, 2019, 03:22:45 am

Title: Yielding to the opposite side of the track
Post by: MyBabyDaddy on April 21, 2019, 03:22:45 am
Scenario:
White jammer is knocked OOB by Red blocker on the inside apex. White jammer is moving at such a speed that her momentum takes her across the track to the outside, OOB. Since she is already OOB, she stays on the outside of the track and yields the cut, making sure she enters the track legally without gaining position.
Cut penalty?

I remember this being a clarification at some point. I am not sure if it was an official one, or just a tournament level one that became SOP. But, I can't find it in the current rule book or casebook. Any clues?

Cheers.
Title: Re: Yielding to the opposite side of the track
Post by: Bluebeard on April 22, 2019, 07:21:28 pm
The clarification you are thinking of was from before there was such a thing as ceding a cut. It referenced an incident where at the beginning of a jam one jammer knocked the other jammer OOB to the outside and started skating clockwise for a runback.  The OOB jammer crawled across the track to the inside to avoid skating the much longer distance on the outside of the track.  Rules clarified that under that ruleset that action should be a penalty (I believe it was Skating Out Of Bounds).

The action you describe, I do not see a penalty there.

For the variation where a skater gets knocked to the outside, re-enters, then exits to the inside to cede;  it depends on context.

Context 1: Rookie scrimmage to get people fresh out of boot camp some game experience. The skating skills are probably such that it is quicker and easier for them to exit to the inside than to stop, turn around, and exit to the outside.  In that case I do not see a penalty to issue there either.

Context 2a:  Sanctioned game with post season ramifications. Those skaters I expect to have the skating skills to stop, turn around, and cede properly.  If the skater did not realize they stepped out, and as soon as their teammate told them, they exited the closest way.  Maybe not a penalty, but maybe depending on how long they were in bounds before exiting.

Context 2b: Same as 2a except they are trying to skirt the rules and unfairly shorten the distance they have to skate to re-enter legally, like the example in that now defunct clarification.  This one is probably a penalty.


The current ruleset format gives us some leeway to consider if the skater is trying to play legally and make things right. Or, are they trying to gain an unfair advantage when deciding whether or not to penalize.