Zebra Huddleâ„¢

WFTDA => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: 3Beers on September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Title: JAMMER HELMET COVER
Post by: 3Beers on September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm
Rules state: "...Jammer must pass the foremost in-play blocker legally, in bounds, and upright, while wearing the Jammer cover with the stars visible...."
If starting the jam in the penalty box, does the player have to be wearing the helmet cover?
Title: Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER
Post by: Stray Taco on October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm
No. If the Jammer starts the jam in the penalty box and dons the cover prior to making all the passes they need to earn Lead Jammer, they should be awarded lead.

I'm basing this on Scenario C2.2.2.A:
Quote
Red Jammer starts the Jam with their helmet cover inside-out. The stars are not visible with high contrast. They remove the cover, invert it, and put it back on their helmet. They then legally pass all Skaters, including the foremost Blocker.

Outcome: Red Jammer is declared Lead.

Rationale: Since Red Jammer did not have the ability to gain Lead prior to removing the Star from their head, they did not lose that ability.

Keep in Mind: If Red Jammer had removed the Star when the stars were visible, they would have lost the ability to gain Lead.

This scenario is similar: since they didn't have the ability to gain Lead until they were out of the Penalty Box AND wearing the cover with the Star visible, they didn't lose that ability, so they're still eligible to gain the ability and then earn Lead.