Zebra Huddleâ„¢

WFTDA => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: 3Beers on January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Title: Jammer's time in penalty box
Post by: 3Beers on January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am
Penalty enforcement 4.4.2 says....whenever possible...there is at least one jammer not serving a penalty.
Casebook C4.4.2A says...too complicated!..too many scenarios!....
It was my understanding ( before the 30 second change) that if a jammer returns to the penalty box, for a second penalty, while the other jammer is still serving a penalty...both serve out their time.
I don't see any clear explanation, as to whether both stay, or one is released.
Comments please.
Title: Re: Jammer's time in penalty box
Post by: Major Wood on February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm
I don't think I agree with that. C4.4.2A is describing a situation that is a little different from what you describe. You are describing a situation with 3 jammer penalties, where C4.4.2A is describing a situation where there are 4 jammer penalties.

The part of the rule that you need is from 4.4.2:

Quote
1. The two Jammers serve an equivalent amount of penalty time, per penalty
2. Whenever possible given point 1, there is at least one Jammer who is not serving a penalty

This is still handled the way you described. I find it's easiest to think of jammer penalties as sets:

Once both jammers are out of the box, you can reset your mental count of which set you are on.
Title: Re: Jammer's time in penalty box
Post by: 3Beers on April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm
Thanks.. :-)