Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

London Roller Derby Referee Sessions by 3Beers
July 14, 2020, 01:34:46 pm

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Recent Posts

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]
91
Woof, there's a lot happening here.

First off, here's what *should* have happened in a perfect world.  This is *not* to assign blame because it didn't happen - things get busy, and we all miss stuff.  That said, as soon as the jammer lined up without a visible star, they should have been issued a warning.

If they did not have the star visible by 29 seconds on the period clock, the jam should not have been started at all.  This would have avoided the interference situation after the jam had started.  No jam should ever be started without two jammers present and in visible possession of the star.

In the situation that you had, where the jam was started without the cover present, no warning should have been issued - the jam should just have been immediately called off. 

On the subject of the bench staff - that's a tricky one.  It certainly warrants a *penalty* but I'm not sure I'd expel a coach for this.  However, I wouldn't fault an official who did, as it is certainly on the line.

Important note: if you *expel* the bench staff, the captain sits for 30 seconds, but does NOT have a penalty added to their total.  If you simply *penalize* the bench staff, it DOES count towards the captain's 7.
92
Rules Discussion / Re: Early Hit
« Last post by AdamSmasher on June 08, 2018, 01:40:27 pm »
Before a jam start, a White player wearing the Star initiate contact with a Red Blocker, between the Pivot and Jammer Lines, making that the Red Blocker fall or lost their established position. The White player involved in this situation is issued  with an Early Hit penalization, but  him should serve it as a Jammer or Blocker?

Unfortunately, this is no longer clearly spelled out in the rules.  All we have to go on is: "Penalties are applied to both a Skater and the position that Skater is currently playing." (Section 4, introduction)  However, before the jam, no one is playing derby.

I suspect you would find that a majority of officials would penalize the skater in this situation as a jammer, however, I am aware of strong opinions in the other direction by respected officials.
93
Rules Discussion / How to deal with players that are also referees?
« Last post by nueces on June 08, 2018, 09:03:06 am »
How to deal with players that are also referees and when they play act as they were officiating from inside of the track?

A few weeks ago, a player that was also a referee in the same tournament, was playing and during the game in a lot of occasions he was doing hand signals or pointing to others players when he believe they where committing penalties. In some occasions he was right, in other I don't see the penalty or agree with their opinion.

What I did was warn to the player that I was only making calls for what I could see and if it was the same that he was continuously pointing with their hand signals from inside the track, that would lead to understand for opositive players and spectators, that I was following their directives,  undermining my authority in the game, and because that being unrespectfull with the referees.
After that, a few jams later the game ends.

My question is how to deal with this kind of situations? was my warning proper? or I should just ignore this kind of players? and if not, and if after the warning the player continues with their behavior should I issue a misconduct?
94
Rules Discussion / Delay of game for Captain and expulsion for bench staff?
« Last post by nueces on June 08, 2018, 07:34:00 am »
This situation happens to me as a Jammer Referee in a game a few week ago:

Before the Jam start, a White Player is positioned after the Jammer Line, without visibilly carrying the Star in their helmet or hands. Immediately after the Jam-Starting Whistle the Jammer Referee warns to the White Player to show the Star, in that moment one person from the bench staff of the White Team drop the Start into in the hands of the White Player. In that moment the Jammer referee finished the Jam.

I Issue a Delay of Game for the Captain of the White Team, and after a OTO the Bench staff member was expelled from the game for interference with the game and a second penalty was issued to the White Captain.

Was the expulsion of the Bench staff member the correct action?

I believe that I should have warned to the White Player to show the Star before the Jam start, but I noticed it almost at the same time that the Jam start.
95
Rules Discussion / Early Hit
« Last post by nueces on June 08, 2018, 07:07:31 am »
Before a jam start, a White player wearing the Star initiate contact with a Red Blocker, between the Pivot and Jammer Lines, making that the Red Blocker fall or lost their established position. The White player involved in this situation is issued  with an Early Hit penalization, but  him should serve it as a Jammer or Blocker?
96
Rules Discussion / Re: NOTT then lap point in 2 trip?
« Last post by AdamSmasher on June 05, 2018, 12:09:11 pm »
Hello,

the following situation happen last weekend and I have a doubt about it.
White jammer went in the box during his initial trip.

the red jammer finish his trip and start his first scoring pass.
He score on each blocker and on the jammer still in the box and go out of bound leagaly and he is recycle behind the pack.

At this moment, the white jammer leave the box (corrected - Smasher) and enter in the front of the red jammer and behind the pack.

The white jammer his still in his initial trip when the red jammer pass him on his First scoring pass, leave this trip and start his second trip.
The red jammer pass for the second time in a row the white jammer.


The red jammer will have a NOTT point on the first scoring trip and a Lap point in the second?


"3.1 Earning Points Jammers score one point every time they lap an opponent. A Jammer laps an opponent if they pass that opponent twice in a row"

That's correct. It's not super common for this to happen, since normally the NOTT point implies that the re-entering jammer has entered behind the scoring one.  But once everyone is on the track, the scoring jammer can indeed drop back and establish lapping position by earning a pass on the formerly penalized one.
97
Rules Discussion / NOTT then lap point in 2 trip?
« Last post by watzé on June 05, 2018, 07:59:51 am »
Hello,

the following situation happen last weekend and I have a doubt about it.
White jammer went in the box during his initial trip.

the red jammer finish his trip and start his first scoring pass.
He score on each blocker and on the jammer still in the box and go out of bound leagaly and he is recycle behind the pack.

At this moment, the white jammer leave the pack and enter in the front of the red jammer and behind the pack.

The white jammer his still in his initial trip when the red jammer pass him on his First scoring pass, leave this trip and start his second trip.
The red jammer pass for the second time in a row the white jammer.


The red jammer will have a NOTT point on the first scoring trip and a Lap point in the second?


"3.1 Earning Points Jammers score one point every time they lap an opponent. A Jammer laps an opponent if they pass that opponent twice in a row"
98
Ahh, I didn't read your initial post clearly enough and missed the "pre-wftda" bit.

Glad you found it.
99
General Ref Discussion / Re: Help finding a comparison of old pre-WFTDA rule sets
« Last post by Bishop on May 31, 2018, 05:10:29 pm »
Thanks, Axis of Stevil.

I actualy did find what I was looking for through a regular Google search.

http://derbymemoirs.bankedtrack.info/rules.html

I had thought there was a rule set that allowed (or required) two pivots. Apparently it wasn't any of those rule sets in the link. I was doing some background research for suggestions for the WFTDA rule set.



100
Hmm.  The WFTDA Rules Archive has all previous versions, but I'm not familiar with any document that compares more than one edition vs. the edition previous to it.

https://wftda.org/rules/archive
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4609
Views: 7919
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3092
Views: 6452
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3311
Views: 7433
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4142
Views: 9443
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal