Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Jammer Passing Inactive Jammers by hellvis
November 14, 2019, 03:37:30 am

Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER by Stray Taco
October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm

Clover Cup 2020 - March 20-22 - North Richland Hills, TX USA by SodOff
September 28, 2019, 10:09:13 am

JAMMER HELMET COVER by 3Beers
September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Author Topic: Exiting the Penalty Box  (Read 17251 times)

Offline Ballistic Whistle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Stats Sheet: 14
  • I like watermelon...
Re: Exiting the Penalty Box
« Reply #15 on: April 16, 2009, 10:38:08 am »
So, am I correct in assuming that a Jammer re-entering from the penalty box in front of in-play\non-pack skaters is not going to immediately earn those points upon re-entry?

If they were out-of-play, she would, but not if they're in-play?

Also, in a Split Pack situation, the jammer is allowed to re-enter wherever she likes. So, if she comes in ahead of the entire pack, does she automatically get all the points for the out-of-play (split pack) skaters behind her?
« Last Edit: April 16, 2009, 11:51:12 am by Ballistic Whistle »

Offline Johnny Zebra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
  • Stats Sheet: 40
Re: Exiting the Penalty Box
« Reply #16 on: April 16, 2009, 01:47:02 pm »
So, am I correct in assuming that a Jammer re-entering from the penalty box in front of in-play\non-pack skaters is not going to immediately earn those points upon re-entry?

If they were out-of-play, she would, but not if they're in-play?

Also, in a Split Pack situation, the jammer is allowed to re-enter wherever she likes. So, if she comes in ahead of the entire pack, does she automatically get all the points for the out-of-play (split pack) skaters behind her?

I think the guideline here is she still needs to pass them to score them, regardless of their status (unless they specifically qualify as NOTT points after she's scored her first).

~j.z.
===============
Johnny Zebra
WFTDA Certified Referee (Level 3)
WFTDA Rules Q&A Working Group
Gotham Girls Roller Derby
Zebra Huddle Moderator

Offline MisterFurious

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Stats Sheet: 2
Re: Exiting the Penalty Box
« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2009, 12:50:53 am »
Last night during scrimmage, we had a jammer coming out of the penalty box who entered in front of the entire pack (I'd say she came in 15-20 feet in front of the foremost blocker - for the record, there were no out of play blockers in this scenario).  Acting as an outside pack ref I wanted to call a major on her - meanwhile, her jammer ref saw it as a no-call.  Naturally, in the moment we both disagreed with each other and each of us had our reasoning as to how we reached our decisions

Heading home to look at the rules, I was torn.  She came into the engagement zone, from my perspective, and from a certain point of view she came in front of the pack but I see my fellow ref's point of view as well.  She didn't come into the pack, nor did she come in within 10 feet of the foremost blocker - she was awarded no points and infact she had to skate all the way back around the track to gain those points. 

However, flipping back to the side that chooses to penalize her - by coming in 15 to 20 feet of the pack, who's to say the pack's not going to choose to skate after her; i.e. is she having an affect on the pack by her actions.  Hate to say it, but it seem slike yet again for the millionth time - it comes down to a matter of semantics, just how to we interpret "re-entering the track in front of"? 

For the record, I'd say I still lean towards giving her a major illegal procedure. 
"We're all in it together"- Harry Tuttle

Offline Cliquework

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1306
  • Stats Sheet: 55
  • EGO sum Speculum. Noxiae poena par esto.
  • League Affiliation: Demolition City Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Exiting the Penalty Box
« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2009, 01:25:38 am »
There is a determination of "in front". As the end of the engagement zone is the start of a new pass, it is also the point in which someone entering can no longer be considered in front, but way behind. So I can see where the jam ref was coming from if he saw her as being 20ft+ in front of the foremost blocker (and now entering way behind). So that would be correct in that case for her to skate around to catch up. She entered as far behind as she could without being considered "in front".

Apparently it was a close call to make.
Demolition City Roller Derby Head Ref
Evansville, IN
Zebra Huddle Moderator
WFTDA Refcert Checklist

Offline Major Wood

  • Administrator
  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2663
  • Stats Sheet: 77
  • League Affiliation: Nashville Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 5
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Exiting the Penalty Box
« Reply #19 on: November 20, 2009, 02:14:06 pm »
Just wanted to point out that you two are in 3.1 rules land
Your friendly Zebra Huddle admin.

Nashville Roller Derby Head Ref
WFTDA Level 5 Certified Referee

I speak only of my opinions and interpretations.

Offline Cliquework

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1306
  • Stats Sheet: 55
  • EGO sum Speculum. Noxiae poena par esto.
  • League Affiliation: Demolition City Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Exiting the Penalty Box
« Reply #20 on: November 20, 2009, 02:33:39 pm »



It's cold here.
Demolition City Roller Derby Head Ref
Evansville, IN
Zebra Huddle Moderator
WFTDA Refcert Checklist

Offline Bishop

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1626
  • Stats Sheet: 51
  • Quoth the raven, "Nevermore."
  • League Affiliation: Unaffiliated
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Exiting the Penalty Box
« Reply #21 on: November 20, 2009, 02:36:28 pm »
Clique, +1 for Bugs Bunny and making me laugh.  :D
Recommended Resources:WFTDA Rules Central, WFTDA officiating & Successful Sports Officiating
Propose rule changes at timeout.wftda.com.

Offline MisterFurious

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Stats Sheet: 2
Re: Exiting the Penalty Box
« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2009, 03:16:44 am »
In my quest to avoid starting a topic that had already been started elsewhere, I searched and searched with all my might and found this post.  Next thing ya know, without realizing it,  I had replied here on this barren island of 3.1.  Thanks Cliquework, for the answer - seems to make sense to me - and with that I'm leaving from my short voyage back in time to 3.1 and headed back to the future. 
"We're all in it together"- Harry Tuttle

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3966
Views: 6546
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2579
Views: 5348
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2778
Views: 5982
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3574
Views: 5969
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal