Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Jammer Passing Inactive Jammers by hellvis
November 14, 2019, 03:37:30 am

Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER by Stray Taco
October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm

Clover Cup 2020 - March 20-22 - North Richland Hills, TX USA by SodOff
September 28, 2019, 10:09:13 am

JAMMER HELMET COVER by 3Beers
September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Author Topic: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER  (Read 27532 times)

Offline Shaun Ketterman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
  • Stats Sheet: 42
  • Rush Zeta Epsilon Beta! ZEEBS! ZEEBS! ZEEBS!
  • League Affiliation: Rollergirls of Central Kentucky (ROCK)
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« on: March 02, 2011, 06:42:29 pm »
As many of you know, from time to time an "Official Rules Answer" is posted to the WFTDA message board, and it's understood that this is the way that a rule should be applied.  As a service to those of us without access to the WFTDA message board (myself included), I wanted to start gathering up these Official Rules Answers and posting them here.  As new ones are made available, we can just continue to post them on this thread so they're easy to find. 

I think it would be best if we didn't discuss these Official Rules Answers on this thread; just posted them so people could find the text without having to sift through discussions.  We can discusss them on other threads, using this one as a reference point. 

Official Rules Answer
 
Question:

What does "on the Pivot line" mean in 4.2.2 and 4.2.3?

Answer:
On the Pivot line means on the Pivot line. A Pivot is considered on the line if any part of her body, skates or equipment is touching the line. Per 4.2.3 a Non-Pivot Blocker is required to line up behind a Pivot who is on the Pivot line.

Question:
Assuming that the physical transfer of the star happened legally (In Play), may a Pivot place the star on her helmet (thus completing the "star pass") while OOB or OOP?

Answer:
The Pivot need not to be in the engagement zone to place the star on her helmet.  It is only required that the star pass take place in the engagement zone.  However, until the star is on the Pivot's helmet and she has become the Jammer all out of play penalties still apply.

Question:
If during the time between the star pass and the Pivot placing the star on her helmet, the inactive Jammer is sent to the box for a penalty. What position will she serve her penalty as?

Answer:
The inactive Jammer must serve her penalty as the inactive Jammer. Once she is released from the box, the Pivot may place the star on her helmet and become the Jammer or she may return the star to the Jammer.  While the Jammer is in the penalty box the Pivot may not place the Jammer cover on her helmet.  If she does the referee must tell the Pivot she is not the Jammer and to remove the Jammer Cover.  A Pivot who does not follow the referee's instruction shall receive an insubordination major.
WFTDA Level 3 Certified Referee
MRDA Recognized Referee
Zebrahuddle.com Moderator
Head Referee, Rollergirls of Central Kentucky
Lexington, Kentucky

You can call me "Shaun". My shirts say "Ketterman" because they're sports jersies. Only kids and mascots put first names on jersies!

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2011, 07:47:10 pm »
Multi-player Block


Official Rules Committee Answer:


Question:
 If me and my teammate are side by side, shoulder touching shoulder; but we
are holding each other together with our hands in front of our hips (the link
not making contact with the opponent we are blocking) is it an illegal
multi-player block?


Answer:

In order for a referee to make a multiple player block call he/she must see the following:

#1.  Grasping, joining, linking etc... of one or more teammates together.  This can be active by all parties (ie, linking arms) or can be passive on one or more of their parts (ie, one skater grabbing the jerseys of the teammates on either side of her)
      * To further clarify the link must be grabbing or holding that joins the skaters together. An open hand touch, by itself, is not a link.

#2.  Form a wall

#3.  Impede an opponent
      * Per 6.7.4 the link must be that which impedes the opponent. This does not mean that the link must be physically touching the opposing skater. This means that the link must be in front of the direction/pathway of the opposing skater. Even if the linked skaters have body parts (shoulders, hips ect.) that are between the link and the opposing skater the link is still impeding the opposing skater and must be called as a multiple player block.


To answer the specific scenario asked, yes that is an illegal multiple player block. However, if the skaters involved do not link/grasp/hold each other, but are just touching each other this would be a legal action.

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2011, 07:56:08 pm »
Single Jammer False Start



Official Rules Committee Answer

Question: If a Jammer begins a jam without an opposing Jammer on the line and she false starts, is she still required to yield? Should it be automatically upgraded to a major?

Answer: An unopposed Jammer will be assessed a minor for a false start and must yield the illegally gained position.  She does this by coming to a complete stop ceasing all forward momentum.  If she does not yield by coming to a complete stop, the false start minor will be upgraded to a major.

If a Jammer is in between the Pivot and Jammer starting lines at the time the Jammer starting whistle is blown, regardless of who she is front of, she will be assessed a false start minor penalty.  The Jammer must yield her position to the opposing Jammer if there is one on the track.  If there is no opposing Jammer on the track, the Jammer must come to a complete stop.  If she fails to stop, the minor false start penalty will be upgraded to a major.  Blockers may legally engage a Jammer who is between the Jammer and Pivot lines immediately after the first whistle starting the jam.

Applicable rules 6.13.5 - 6.13.5.2.3, 6.13.16

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2011, 08:03:00 pm »
Destruction of the Pack prior to the start whistle


Official Rules Response:

Question 1:
Can Blockers illegally destroy the pack and receive a major penalty prior to the pack start whistle?

Answer:
No, it is legal for Blockers to line up in such a way that there is no pack. However, Blockers must immediately reform a pack or penalties will be given per section 6.10

Question 2:
Can Blockers illegally destroy the pack and receive a major penalty prior to the Jammer start whistle?

Answer:
Yes, after the pack start whistle has blown and once a pack is formed with an established pack speed an illegal destruction of the pack penalty shall be enforced per section 6.10. In addition, a group of Blockers who skate clockwise prior to the Jammer start whistle which results in a no pack situation shall also receive a penalty for illegal destruction of the pack.

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
« Last Edit: March 02, 2011, 08:04:34 pm by the pantichrist »
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2011, 08:16:49 pm »
Relative Position



Official Rules Response:


Question 1:
Should relative position be judged by all skaters on the track, or only by the
skaters directly involved/impacted by an engagement?

Answer 1:
Relative position should be judged only by the skaters directly involved or
impacted by an engagement.

Question 2:
An illegal hit puts a player off balance.
The initiator of that hit doesn't gain position on the recipient.
Some other player completely uninvolved and unaffected by the engagement passes
the off-balance skater. Minor or Major?

Answer 2:
The referee must determine the impact of that hit on the recipient in order to
determine if it is a major or minor; if the illegal action only causes the
skater to be off balance but does not physically move/propel her or cause her to
fall or go out of bounds then it would be a minor.


*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2011, 08:20:04 pm »
Blocking after the 4th whistle


Official answer from Rules:

Question:
Section 6 does not specify what the penalty is for blocking after the
whistle. How should a hit after the fourth whistle ending the jam be
called?


Answer:
A skater initiating contact or engaging an opponent after the fourth
whistle of the jam that slightly forces the receiving skater off
balance, forward or sideways but does not cause her to fall should be
called as an illegal procedure minor penalty.

A skater initiating contact or engaging an opponent after the fourth
whistle of the jam that severely forces the receiving skater off
balance, forward or sideways should be called as an illegal procedure major penalty.

Any contact above this which is negligent, reckless and/or intentional should be called as an gross misconduct expulsion.

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2011, 08:24:54 pm »
Skating OOB


Official Response from Rules Committee:

Question: Does skating out of bounds penalties apply to skating clockwise out of
bounds?

Example: Black Jammer is hit out of bounds and skates clockwise to legally
re-enter the pack.


Answer: Skating clockwise out of bounds to legally rejoin the pack at the first legal opportunity is not an illegal action. Some confusion may have arised due to 6.12.6:

6.12.6 Skating out of bounds to maintain or increase speed.

The main intent of this rule is to penalize skaters who are in bounds and going out
of bounds (example: slightly cutting the inside corners or pushing over the
outside track boundary)in order to maintain or increase speed.

The key word in 6.12.6 is "to." A skater who is hit out of bounds is not skating
out of bounds to maintain or increase speed. They are skating out of bounds in
order to legally renter the track. However the skater must immediately
(meaning at the first legal opportunity) rejoin the pack, otherwise penalties may
be applied.


*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2011, 08:44:40 pm »
Assist that leads to a no pack scenario



Official Response from Rules Committee


Question:
Should an assist which results in a no pack situation be penalized for illegally destroying the pack?

Situation: 4 green Blockers are 8 feet in front of 1 white Blocker. The remaining white Blockers are 4 feet behind the frontmost white Blocker. The frontmost white Blocker assists her Jammer. As a result of the assist the front most white blocker abruptly slows down, destroying the pack and is now 12 feet behind the green Blocker.

Answer:
Per 6.10.20 the frontmost white Blocker must be given an out of play major for illegally destroying the pack. Regardless of who initiated the assist, her abrupt change in speed caused a no pack situation and the frontmost white Blocker must be penalized.


*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2011, 09:24:11 pm »
Official Rules Committee reply

Question:
Does 9.2.6.3 supersede 2.5.1.1?  That is, if an overtime jam ends before two minutes and the score is not tied, can a head referee invoke 9.2.6.3 to play an additional overtime jam?

Answer:
2.5.1.1 and 9.2.6.3 stand on equal footing in the Rules...no hierarchy.

2.5.1.1 says specifically "for any reason" - and because it says that, a Head Referee does not have the power given to her/him by the Rules to run an additional Overtime Jam.


*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2011, 10:00:27 pm »
Jammer loses helmet cover due to opponents block (3.4.6)

Note- this one is a bit messy but I did my best to preserve all the info, the only thing I changed was to capitalize a couple of letters and spelled out "committee".  Anything in bold was done so by the original poster.  The words that are not attributed to anyone in particular were written by Roastbeef (rules committee member)~panti


Quote from: Hambone
3.5.8.3 says:

3.5.8.3 If a star pass cannot be completed for any reason, the Jammer may return the helmet cover to her own helmet and regain her active Jammer position, but not her Lead Jammer status.

Okay Lead Jammer status can't ever be regained if a foe grabs at my helmet cover and pulls it off.  Got it.

But wait; a few rules earlier (3.4.6), it says:

3.4.6 The Lead Jammer is the only skater who has the privilege of calling off (ending) the jam prior to the expiration of the full two minutes. She may call off the jam at any time after her position has been established, unless she has been removed from the jam due to a penalty or her helmet cover has been removed. She calls off the jam by repeatedly placing both hands on her hips until the referee whistles the end of the jam. The jam is not over until the referee officially calls off the jam. If there is no Lead Jammer, the jam will run until the full two-minute time limit expires.

How about that... I guess there is at least once circumstance where Lead Jammer *can* be regained, after all.

Presumably we should mentally strike the "for any reason" phrase in 3.5.8.3, because buried in the middle of a long paragraph of 3.4.6 there's a very specific exception to it.  Right?  Or at least scribble in a mental reference to the exception described in 3.4.6?

Either that, or a 'star pass' is a phrase which only applies to intentional star passes initiated by the star-owning team?  (Not in the glossary)

Answer:
Quote from: Grace Killy
Having the cover knocked off your head by an opponent is not the same as a star pass.

and

Quote from: CorbinCojones
A cover removed by an opponent (either by naughty hands or hard hit) and then replaced on the head of a lead jammer does not end her status as lead jammer.

Correct.

Also:

Quote from: CorbinCojones
A cover placed on the helmet all akimbo that pops off on it's own accord from the lead jammer's head ends her status as lead jammer.

Yes, if it is not the result of "an opponent's action"

Quote from: Rev Riot
Can a Lead Jammer who has the helmet cover removed from her head call off the jam?

3.4.6 says she will "regain Lead Jammer status", but 3.4.7 says she "retains Lead Jammer status for the duration of the Jam unless SHE FORFEITS the status by; 3.4.7.1 Removing her helmet cover for any reason; 3.4.7.2 Being removed from play due to a penalty"

She didn't remove the helmet cover, she had it removed, so 3.4.7.1 doesn't apply, and obviously 3.4.7.2 doesn't apply. In the sense of fairness I don't see why if an opponent were to grab the cover she should have to chase them down first to call off the jam. Of course I'd probably call it off anyway, but I also don't see why that would warrant a penalty, minor or major.

The rules are clear that she must have it back on her helmet to regain lead, and therefore call it off.

If an opponent were to grab it off of the opposing Jammer's helmet and run (skate) away, Rules Committee agreed that act is expulsion worthy and in some cases would be justification for the jam to be called off by the referee.

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2011, 10:22:00 pm »
Dual Penalization vs Upgrading

This is another clarification from Rules Committee that is not as clean (in terms of format) as some of the others but nonetheless is quite clear.  Also, all the words that are not specifically attributed to anyone were written by Roastbeef (rules committee member)  ~panti


Quote from: Johnny Zebra
Just want to clarify what's being discussed here, as the thread responses seem to be crossing a few streams at times.

Is this what's being said is the appropriate way to call the following situations that have been mentioned here?

1. False start, then failure to yield = a minor upgraded to a major.

2. Too many players on the track, then jam has to be called = two penalties (minor + major)

3. Player is OOP, receives minor, does not immediately re-enter EZ = two penalties (minor + major)

4. No pack situation, failure to reform minor given, then sustained failure to reform = two penalties (minor + major)

All of these are correct.

Regarding #1, if the false start is a Jammer's fourth minor she should be sent off immediately as stated here correctly by J.Zebra:

Quote from: Seer Sin
A skater false starts, before she had a chance to yield I sent her off for her 4th minor. Should we wait to send her off because if she doesn't yield we upgrade to a major? I've always sent a skater off immediately for an intentional 4th minor. Should an unintentional 4th be any different?

Quote from: Johnny Zebra
I'd say no. Once she earns her fourth, she should be directed off the track immediately, and for all intents and purposes is a NOTT player. So needing to yield becomes moot.

*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2011, 11:16:12 pm »
Official Rules Response

Question:
When has the rearmost pack skater crossed the line?

Answer:
The rearmost pack skater has crossed the Pivot line once her skates are no longer touching on or behind the Pivot line.


*this response may be shared with non-wftda refs
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline the pantichrist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2011, 11:25:18 pm »
For the above clarifications WFTDA members (like myself) were given permission to share with non-WFTDA referees.  Hence each one has the line-
*edit: this official rules response may be shared w/ non WFTDA referees

I have only posted clarifications that had the above designation.

Some of these clarifications have already been used in threads here on Zebra Huddle.  

I have been thinking for some time that these needed to be gathered for Zebra Huddle and put in one place so when Shaun Ketterman started this thread I took it upon myself to gather an exhaustive list.  (eek, 'tis scary to post things from WFTDA)

As of March 2, 2011- this is it, these are all the clarifications that have been given the green light to share.


In some cases their may have been other discussions in the original threads from the WFTDA forum that could provide further enlightenment but we have not been given permission to post all of that stuff, and for good reason, the waters get muddy enough as it is.  
 

I hope you all find this helpful (and I hope the powers that be at Zebra Huddle are okay with my actions).  As new clarifications are given the green light I will place them here.

thx,
panti
« Last Edit: March 03, 2011, 12:45:14 am by the pantichrist »
WFTDA Officiating Education Director
WFTDA Certified L3
Memphis Roller Derby

Offline Major Wood

  • Administrator
  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2663
  • Stats Sheet: 77
  • League Affiliation: Nashville Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 5
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2011, 11:02:51 pm »
Let's please keep all posts in this thread to official rules answers.
Your friendly Zebra Huddle admin.

Nashville Roller Derby Head Ref
WFTDA Level 5 Certified Referee

I speak only of my opinions and interpretations.

Offline mick hawkins

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1926
  • Stats Sheet: 61
  • They're covers people. Helmet COVERS!
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: OFFICIAL RULES ANSWER
« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2011, 01:32:28 am »
I have an Official WFTDA Rules Committee answer for your question :

[rule]A blocker who is on the track in front of the pivot line, but behind the jammer line has false started and must yield to the pack by allowing it to catch up to or pass them before skating forwards.  The skater may chose to speed up their yield by skating clockwise to rejoin the back of the pack, but is not required to skate clockwise to complete the yield.  Failing to yield to the pack will result in a false start major penalty.  Officially.  There is no other penalty applied because they are either patiently waiting for the pack to catch and pass them (also satisfying the requirements for returning to play), or they have skated forward and received a major false start and should be signaled to the box.[/rule]
Sun State Roller Girls (WFTDA Apprentice League)
Brisbane, Australia

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3980
Views: 6576
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2586
Views: 5364
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2787
Views: 6002
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3582
Views: 5987
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal