Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Author Topic: Quick penalty box question  (Read 1796 times)

Offline Black Adder

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Stats Sheet: 5
  • League Affiliation: Sun State Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Quick penalty box question
« on: June 01, 2011, 03:55:25 am »
Hi All,
Is it ok for a skater seated / standing in the penalty box to have one skate (or any part of her) touching outside the Box?

Offline JoeXCore

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1022
  • Stats Sheet: 20
  • Will go anywhere to which I can afford to travel.
Re: Quick penalty box question
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2011, 04:08:16 pm »
This is not defined in the WFTDA rules or any WFTDA document that I have seen posted anywhere, so you should not expect any answer here to even approach official or "correct"

I recommend asking the head ref for every bout.
Black n Bluegrass Roller Girls - head referee
MRDA Recognized Refree

Offline FNZebra

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1408
  • Stats Sheet: 35
  • I'm a shitty ref.
  • League Affiliation: Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Quick penalty box question
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2011, 04:42:04 pm »
There is no specific rule regarding that, because penalty boxen are so venue-dependent.

As an HR, if there were lots of room in the PB, I would mention in the pre-bout CA meeting that this would be considered as straddling is to the track.

Alternately, you might consider it the way someone managing to keep a body part just on that good side of the point of no return line.

If the PB were very small though, I would be inclined to definitely make it a no call.
You will bout as you practice.


Cheers,

FN Zebra
Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby (WFTDA)
Bloomington, Indianer

Offline Dave Brawlings

  • Referee
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: San Diego Derby Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Quick penalty box question
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2011, 08:59:38 pm »
The 8/2010 Standardized Practices says,

[rule]So long as the skater is somehow touching the floor within the
boundaries of the furthest forward edge of the Penalty Box (the
"Point of No Return"), they should still be considered to be in the box, and
so need not skate around to enter the box. The boundary line is to be
considered in.[/rule]

in answer to the (posed) question:

[rule]At what point is a skater to be considered entering the box
from a clockwise direction?"[/rule]

That seems relevant here.

Offline JoeXCore

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1022
  • Stats Sheet: 20
  • Will go anywhere to which I can afford to travel.
Re: Quick penalty box question
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2011, 09:07:02 pm »
The 8/2010 Standardized Practices says,

[rule]So long as the skater is somehow touching the floor within the
boundaries of the furthest forward edge of the Penalty Box (the
"Point of No Return"), they should still be considered to be in the box, and
so need not skate around to enter the box. The boundary line is to be
considered in.[/rule]

in answer to the (posed) question:

[rule]At what point is a skater to be considered entering the box
from a clockwise direction?"[/rule]

That seems relevant here.


I consider this only slightly relevant as it is comparable to straddling, as pointed out by FN they are in for somethings and out for others.

I have worked as penalty box manager a number of times with a literal box taped out on the floor and had to strain my voice to have someone standing at one edge of it hear me. I am glad they were as close as they were.

However Dave since you bring this up... and it is something we can cite, I think it is a good standard. I have acknowledged and decided not to use it many times in the past, and as of this moment I think my opinion is changed. Seeing something in writing at all makes decisions feel a lot easier.
Black n Bluegrass Roller Girls - head referee
MRDA Recognized Refree

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4404
Views: 7354
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2914
Views: 5968
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3116
Views: 6862
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3940
Views: 8430
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal