Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER by Stray Taco
October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm

Clover Cup 2020 - March 20-22 - North Richland Hills, TX USA by SodOff
September 28, 2019, 10:09:13 am

JAMMER HELMET COVER by 3Beers
September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Re: Clamping down with the upper arm by bmd (2113)
June 12, 2019, 07:54:29 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 12, 2019, 04:16:34 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Rego_Derby
June 11, 2019, 11:35:08 pm

Author Topic: Jammer takes off on pack starting whistle  (Read 2419 times)

Offline Slaying Mantis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Stats Sheet: 0
Jammer takes off on pack starting whistle
« on: May 14, 2012, 11:22:49 pm »
Hello all,

This actually happened twice last night at practice, and I just wanted to get clarification that both of these scenarios warranted a no impact/no penalty or find out what should have been called instead:

1. Pack whistle blows, black jammer takes off through the pack, making no contact at all, while pack stalls and stays behind the pivot line. She comes all the way around back to behind the jammer line before the jammer whistle blows. Not a false start, but does anything need to be called here? Is she fully a lap ahead and would need to yield a full lap to the opposing jammer? (I made no call here)

2. Pack whistle blows, black jammer takes off through the pack, legally blocking opposing, standing, stalling blockers through the pack to pass through. Jammer makes it back all the way around to the jammer line before jammer whistle blows. Once again, I'm speechless. No call.

Now, something tells me she needs to be penalized for making contact on blockers before the jammer whistle blows, but I couldn't find the rule to confirm this. Obviously it was a newer jammer, but because of the pack not moving forward to start the jammer whistle, there was essentially no play happening.

Kind of a silly situation (apologies if this has been spelled out before), but hadn't come across this before, since false starts generally happen because the pack has moved across the pivot line before the jammer makes it back behind the jammer line.

Offline PapaGanda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Lava City Roller Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer takes off on pack starting whistle
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2012, 11:52:44 pm »
In scenario 1 as long as the jammer that skated early was not accelerating at the jammer start whistle, no penalty as described I believe.

In example 2 I am of the mind that an Illegal Procedure (Illegal Engaging) prior to the Jammer Start Whistle, based on impact would be assessed on the jammer for initiating contact to the legally started blockers before the jammer start whistle, no penalty for counterblocking blockers illegally engaged by jammer.

Offline Bratty Cardia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Stats Sheet: 15
  • League Affiliation: Toronto Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer takes off on pack starting whistle
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2012, 03:30:22 am »
Agreed. In addition, I'd tend to consider the Jammer to be "behind the Jammer Line" if she has crossed the Pivot Line at the moment of the Jammer Start Whistle. No false start, but she's way behind and needs to catch up by skating counterclockwise before she can start passing Blockers on her initial pass.

If she's touching between the Jammer Line and the Pivot Line, though, I'd call it a false start. The elliptical track wreaks havoc on the concept of linear positioning. So confusing.
Bratty Cardia
2.2.2 — The team with the most points at the end of the game wins.

Offline Stegoscorus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 773
  • Stats Sheet: 51
  • STOP. Collaborate, and listen.
  • League Affiliation: Rose City Rollers
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer takes off on pack starting whistle
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2012, 04:26:07 am »
In scenario 1 as long as the jammer that skated early was not accelerating at the jammer start whistle, no penalty as described I believe.

In example 2 I am of the mind that an Illegal Procedure (Illegal Engaging) prior to the Jammer Start Whistle, based on impact would be assessed on the jammer for initiating contact to the legally started blockers before the jammer start whistle, no penalty for counterblocking blockers illegally engaged by jammer.

Winner winner, chicken dinner. 
WFTDA Certified Referee - Level 3
Founding Member, ARROW
Portland, OR, U.S.A.

Offline Anton Deck

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Stats Sheet: 3
  • League Affiliation: Dolly Rockit Rollers
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer takes off on pack starting whistle
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2012, 09:23:42 am »
I buy into the past the pivot line is behind argument,  but she still might be accelerating when the jammer whistle sounds and so false starting?

Question regarding blocking in this situation:
If the jammers between the jammer and pivot line after the jam whistle but before the jammer whistle shes fair game for the blockers to hit, but any blocks she executes would be illegal engagement yes?
When past the pivot line if we are considering the jammer to be a lap behind and not started yet then the blockers cant engage her legally either till the jammer start whistle goes?



Offline Darkjester

  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • ********************
  • Posts: 3067
  • Stats Sheet: 39
  • "When in doubt, RTFM"
  • League Affiliation: Beach Brawl SK8R Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer takes off on pack starting whistle
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2012, 09:47:53 am »
1. Yes

2. I am unsure on this, from the Jammer standpoint.. Past the pivot line is behind the jammer line, but isn't a lap behind unless the pack laps her... I would say 'no' neither could engage (Pack/Jammers) until the jammer whistle.
Madness Tolls
69¢
Beach Brawl Sk8R Dolls
Fort Walton Beach FL

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3924
Views: 6403
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2549
Views: 5258
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2742
Views: 5869
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3535
Views: 5866
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal