Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Author Topic: One or two actions?  (Read 1656 times)

Offline mick hawkins

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1926
  • Stats Sheet: 61
  • They're covers people. Helmet COVERS!
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
One or two actions?
« on: June 28, 2012, 04:56:11 am »
This happened in a bout on the weekend.
I'm now overthinking it and questioning the call I made.

Black blocker moves in to block white blocker and black blocker initiates contact.
Black blocker's skates contact white blocker's skates and they both fall (the skate contact caused the fall).
While falling, well before they hit the ground, black blocker's flailing elbow hits white blocker in the face.

So, we have a major low block and an elbow to the face.

Is this one action, or two?
Would you consider there to be two penalties in this... or just one?

(For example, if it's one action, the elbow to the face isn't "initial" contact to the head)

and, special bonus question that just occurred to me this morning...
Is there any grounds for expulsion or GM for the elbow? Is it reckless and negligent?


EDIT: sorry... probably should have put this in "you make the call".
« Last Edit: June 28, 2012, 06:26:21 am by mick hawkins »
Sun State Roller Girls (WFTDA Apprentice League)
Brisbane, Australia

Offline Stegoscorus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 773
  • Stats Sheet: 51
  • STOP. Collaborate, and listen.
  • League Affiliation: Rose City Rollers
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: One or two actions?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2012, 07:39:45 am »
It sounds like there was a second or two between the two actions described, so I think it would probably qualify for two penalties. 

Unless there were something really outrageous about the way Black Blocker fell, I wouldn't go to Expulsion Town.  A major sounds appropriate to me. 
WFTDA Certified Referee - Level 3
Founding Member, ARROW
Portland, OR, U.S.A.

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4403
Views: 7353
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2914
Views: 5968
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3116
Views: 6862
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3940
Views: 8429
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal