Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Jammer Passing Inactive Jammers by hellvis
November 14, 2019, 03:37:30 am

Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER by Stray Taco
October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm

Clover Cup 2020 - March 20-22 - North Richland Hills, TX USA by SodOff
September 28, 2019, 10:09:13 am

JAMMER HELMET COVER by 3Beers
September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Author Topic: Jammer confusion  (Read 5810 times)

Offline hottrod

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Beckley Area Derby Dames
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Jammer confusion
« on: August 24, 2012, 07:06:15 pm »
Recently I reffed a bout where both jammers lost the ability to obtain lead status but one of the jam refs forgot he called the minor and somewhere through the jam he started signaling lead jammer. The skater was well aware that she had recieved the minor but since he was pointing at her she called it off anyway resulting in an official review. After going over all of the options it was decided that even though the ref had a hand in the confusion the skater still owns the responsibility of her status on the track so she was penalized and sent to the box. The only issue I had with the decision was that this happened on the next to last jam with only ten points separating the score. Was three right decision made? I am starting to head ref more bouts and I want to make sure I get situations like this resolved as fairly as possible.

Offline Shaun Ketterman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
  • Stats Sheet: 42
  • Rush Zeta Epsilon Beta! ZEEBS! ZEEBS! ZEEBS!
  • League Affiliation: Rollergirls of Central Kentucky (ROCK)
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer confusion
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2012, 07:27:22 pm »
No, the player shouldn't have been penalized.  If a referee communicates to a jammer that she's lead and she calls it off, she's not to be penalized.

[rule]
Q: Both scoring referees award and signal Lead Jammer status to their Jammers (the second, mistakenly). If the second Jammer successfully calls off the jam (incorrectly believing she is the Lead Jammer), should she be assessed a penalty?

A: No. It is only a penalty for a Jammer who is NOT Lead Jammer to call off a jam (6.13.8 and 6.13.19). If both Jammers are awarded Lead Jammer status, even in error, then an appropriate use of referee discretion should be to dismiss any penalty assessment.[/rule]
WFTDA Level 3 Certified Referee
MRDA Recognized Referee
Zebrahuddle.com Moderator
Head Referee, Rollergirls of Central Kentucky
Lexington, Kentucky

You can call me "Shaun". My shirts say "Ketterman" because they're sports jersies. Only kids and mascots put first names on jersies!

Offline hottrod

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Beckley Area Derby Dames
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer confusion
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2012, 07:33:09 pm »
Simple enough. Thank you.

Offline Cliquework

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1306
  • Stats Sheet: 55
  • EGO sum Speculum. Noxiae poena par esto.
  • League Affiliation: Demolition City Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer confusion
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2012, 08:07:40 pm »
Quote
but one of the jam refs forgot he called the minor

Wanted to focus on this briefly, just as a reminder. You may well know this, but for others as well. A minor in itself does not make the jammer inelligible. It may. The player may have cut a skater. A minor penalty, but more importantly an illegal pass. It is the passes that count towards lead. Not the penalties. An "Elbows" minor for instance wouldn't render a skater inelligible for lead. The illegal pass in the previous example can be rectified by passing legally.
Demolition City Roller Derby Head Ref
Evansville, IN
Zebra Huddle Moderator
WFTDA Refcert Checklist

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3958
Views: 6523
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2575
Views: 5339
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2774
Views: 5971
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3570
Views: 5961
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal