Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Re: Clamping down with the upper arm by bmd (2113)
June 12, 2019, 07:54:29 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 12, 2019, 04:16:34 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Rego_Derby
June 11, 2019, 11:35:08 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Axis of Stevil
June 10, 2019, 06:56:10 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 10, 2019, 01:49:04 pm

Ref facepaint by Rego_Derby
June 09, 2019, 03:38:38 pm

Author Topic: Failure to reform case  (Read 3155 times)

Offline watzé

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Paris Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Failure to reform case
« on: October 18, 2012, 12:37:14 am »
Hi everyone,

If I have 4 white blockers and 1 black blocker (call her "blocker A") in the front and 3 black blocker 19ft behind, we got the pack in the front. the blocker A try to go with her teammate in the back but the white trap her

But If the black blocker go outside (by a legal block), it's a no pack legal.

and the blocker A take advantage of that and go in clockwise direction outside to rejoin her teammate. if it's too long to have a pack, did we call a failure to reform to the blocker A or to the foremost black blocker in bounds?

(I know it's a lot of "if" for a simple question)
Watzé

Paris rollergirls
Watzegaga@gmail.com

Offline Alonzo Barricades

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Roller Derby Bordeaux Club
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Failure to reform case
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2012, 01:28:45 am »
I think you put the penalty on the one who have "the first legal opotunity" to reform the pack. In your scenario it sound like it's the blocker A, but on the track it can be diferent...
I don't know if this help, but i don't see any arguments to say it's one or the other each time.
For me it's a situation that you have to see to make the call.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2012, 01:49:06 am by Alonzo Barricades »

Offline Alonzo Barricades

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Roller Derby Bordeaux Club
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Failure to reform case
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2012, 02:04:11 am »
Here's an helpfull thread about failure to reform and sustained failure to reform, with some tips on the metric to judge who is more responsible.

http://www.zebrahuddle.com/index.php?topic=2268.msg34491;topicseen#msg34491

Offline Riff Reff

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1001
  • Stats Sheet: 30
  • League Affiliation: Dublin Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Failure to reform case
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2012, 07:05:57 am »
Quote
and the blocker A take advantage of that and go in clockwise direction outside to rejoin her teammate.

Being outside the track boundary does not relieve you from the obligation to reform. She a) needs to re-enter the track and then b) go in a direction to reform a pack. There is a possible penalty here, depending on the positions of the other players on the track and their actions/attempts to reform.
Don't look at the game with rules-tinted glasses; look at the rules with game-tinted glasses!

Offline watzé

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Paris Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Failure to reform case
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2012, 01:49:22 pm »
Ok, so like I think it's a very close decision and depend of some details. and you can see this detail on the track only.

Thanks
Watzé

Paris rollergirls
Watzegaga@gmail.com

Offline SeerSin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 993
  • Stats Sheet: 55
  • League Affiliation: Minnesota Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 5
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Failure to reform case
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2012, 03:41:25 pm »
Blocker A must reenter the track at her first legal opportunity, the white team must stop and/or skate clockwise, and the three black skaters must skate foward to join the white skaters. Everyone is responsible for reforming a pack and penalties can go to both teams if both fail to reform.

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3211
Views: 5105
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2311
Views: 4758
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2466
Views: 5303
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3248
Views: 5299
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal