Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
February 01, 2020, 02:47:10 am

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Jammer Passing Inactive Jammers by hellvis
November 14, 2019, 03:37:30 am

Author Topic: Legal star pass style?  (Read 7621 times)

Offline Celtic Raider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
  • Stats Sheet: 6
Re: Legal star pass style?
« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2012, 02:22:07 pm »
I think the "where the jammer left off" is pretty straight forward. I have a different question about who is the initiator of the star pass if the cover has "fallen" to the ground.

At Eastern Regionals I saw 2 penalties for illegal star passes after the cover was retrieved by clockwise skating. So after the cover is on the ground, is the pivot the one initiating the pass by picking it up?
You can't start something that is already started.  Once the Jammer takes the cover off her head to start the pass, the pass is constantly on going until either A) the cover is on the head of the Pivot/new Jammer or B) back on the head of the original Jammer.

Picking up the cover is just that, picking up the cover.  I would think that the rules allow for the Pivot to pick up the cover to allow for situations where the Jammer is trying to get the cover to her Pivot but gets hit so hard that she drops it.  If the hit causes her to go out of bounds and be winded enough to stay off the track but not cause the jam to be called off, that team would not be able to score points until she's back, etc.  But the Pivot can pick it up, put the cover on, and then score points.

Offline Major Puddles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Stats Sheet: 2
Re: Legal star pass style?
« Reply #16 on: October 06, 2012, 12:19:20 am »
So if the jammer has waited until she is outside the EZ, so that her pass is complete, then takes the star off, isn't she, by that logic, initiating the star pass outside of the EZ?

Offline Darkjester

  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • ********************
  • Posts: 3067
  • Stats Sheet: 39
  • "When in doubt, RTFM"
  • League Affiliation: Beach Brawl SK8R Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Legal star pass style?
« Reply #17 on: October 07, 2012, 07:30:45 am »
From my understanding a dropped cover is not a star pass initiation. Its is a dropped cover/recovery, which juts happens to fall under the topic of "Passing the Star."

I freely admit I could be wrong though, but that is the understanding I have been given.

However, to the original post.

Yes, by the written letter of the rules the Jammer has completed her initial scoring pass #1, and then has dropped the cover.   From my understanding the Jammer is not 'on' a new scoring pass until she approaches the rear of the pack.  So, the pivot picking up the cover, is still the pivot until the cover has been replaced.

If the Inactive Jammer does not traverse the track, in preparation to lap the pack, I would go under the 'swallowed by the pack' guidelines. This would put the Pivot (turned/ing) Jammer still on her 1st scoring pass having scored 4 points.

The alternative... would be for the inactive Jammer to make a complete lap as inactive, and prior then once she either enters the pack from the rear or at LEAST makes it within teh engagement zone, would the Pivot turned Jammer now be eligible to 'pick up where the Jammer left off' and begin her 2nd scoring pass.

Its not clear cut in the rules, but it is the fairest for game play.
Madness Tolls
69¢
Beach Brawl Sk8R Dolls
Fort Walton Beach FL

Offline Paxilon Reaver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • HR Darwin Roller Girls
  • League Affiliation: Darwin Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Legal star pass style?
« Reply #18 on: October 09, 2012, 05:33:43 am »
I would look at it as "what would I do if the jammer was still wearing the cover?". If a jammer was to exit the EZ and then be swallowed to the rear of the pack for whatever reason, I wouldnt believe her to have started her new scoring pass just because she had left the EZ, so I cant see how just because the cover doesnt have a skater under it, it would be any different.
HR Darwin Roller Girls
Northern Territory, Australia

In 9.3 we trust

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4140
Views: 6900
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2702
Views: 5602
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2922
Views: 6281
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3745
Views: 6699
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal