Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Jammer Passing Inactive Jammers by hellvis
November 14, 2019, 03:37:30 am

Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER by Stray Taco
October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm

Clover Cup 2020 - March 20-22 - North Richland Hills, TX USA by SodOff
September 28, 2019, 10:09:13 am

JAMMER HELMET COVER by 3Beers
September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Re: Clamping down with the upper arm by bmd (2113)
June 12, 2019, 07:54:29 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 12, 2019, 04:16:34 pm

Author Topic: 6th Jammer Point question  (Read 4503 times)

Offline Major Puddles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Stats Sheet: 2
6th Jammer Point question
« on: November 17, 2012, 10:21:36 pm »
At a bout last night, a jammer was injured and took herself off the track into the ref lane. The other jammer was awarded 2 jammer lap points because she passed the other jammer twice while still on a single scoring pass.

I would have thought the Jammer Lap Point definition in the glossary would have meant this isn't the case. At what point has a skater removed themselves from play, rather than just being downed?
« Last Edit: November 19, 2012, 04:11:08 am by Major Puddles »

Offline Cliquework

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1306
  • Stats Sheet: 55
  • EGO sum Speculum. Noxiae poena par esto.
  • League Affiliation: Demolition City Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: 6th Jammer Point question
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 02:52:03 pm »
The description sounds as though the skater removed herself from play, becoming a not on the track point. Those are scored once per pass per NOTT point.

[rule]8.5.3 - Opponents who have removed themselves from play.
 

   8.5.3.1 - Point is awarded immediately if the Jammer has already earned her first point on an opposing blocker in that scoring pass.[/rule]

They become a NOTT point once they have removed themselves from the track and from play. They are clearly not just down, but not returning. In your description you say the skater was injured, leading me to believe they will not be returning at all. If she was just slow to get up, but not injured and able to return, I would still consider them in play and not a NOTT point.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2012, 02:54:35 pm by Cliquework »
Demolition City Roller Derby Head Ref
Evansville, IN
Zebra Huddle Moderator
WFTDA Refcert Checklist

Offline Darkjester

  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • ********************
  • Posts: 3067
  • Stats Sheet: 39
  • "When in doubt, RTFM"
  • League Affiliation: Beach Brawl SK8R Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: 6th Jammer Point question
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2012, 08:46:13 pm »
Question..
Why was she considered removed from play? The original post says she remained in the Ref lane, which IS considered part of the track.
Madness Tolls
69¢
Beach Brawl Sk8R Dolls
Fort Walton Beach FL

Offline Major Wood

  • Administrator
  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2663
  • Stats Sheet: 77
  • League Affiliation: Nashville Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 5
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: 6th Jammer Point question
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2012, 10:22:12 pm »
Someone can definitely be in the ref lane and be considered to have removed herself from play. An injured skater who is not fully out of the ref lane does not necessarily cause a jam to be called off. However, she can't return to the track, so should be considered as having been removed from play.

It's also possible that the skater got blocked out of bounds and then realizes she has an equipment issue. She intentionally does not return to play, but moves to the outer edge of the ref lane and works on her equipment. There is a possibility of a jammer getting a point for passing her shortly after she had been blocked out, then on a subsequent scoring pass, she is a NOTT point.
Your friendly Zebra Huddle admin.

Nashville Roller Derby Head Ref
WFTDA Level 5 Certified Referee

I speak only of my opinions and interpretations.

Offline Darkjester

  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • ********************
  • Posts: 3067
  • Stats Sheet: 39
  • "When in doubt, RTFM"
  • League Affiliation: Beach Brawl SK8R Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: 6th Jammer Point question
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2012, 05:04:42 pm »
[rule]10.3.3  If a skater removes herself or is removed from a jam during play for equipment issues, she may re-enter the jam once the issue has been resolved. If she removes herself or is removed for injury or any other reason, she may not re-enter the jam.

10.3.3.1A skater who removes herself from the track due to equipment issues must reenter the pack from the back and is subject to penalties per Section 6.13 Illegal Procedures.[/rule]


This is the reasoning I came to the above conclusion. If the skater removes herself from play imo, she is leaving the track. (from 10.3.3.1a)  If its for an equipment issue she may return once fixed.  If she is injured and removes herself from play, she may not return during that jam.

So by saying that a injured skater who moves to the Ref lane for a few seconds to compose herself is removing herself from play and therefore a NOTT point, you are also disallowing her from returning to the jam.

Madness Tolls
69¢
Beach Brawl Sk8R Dolls
Fort Walton Beach FL

Offline Major Wood

  • Administrator
  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2663
  • Stats Sheet: 77
  • League Affiliation: Nashville Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 5
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: 6th Jammer Point question
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2012, 05:15:36 pm »
[rule]10.3.3  If a skater removes herself or is removed from a jam during play for equipment issues, she may re-enter the jam once the issue has been resolved. If she removes herself or is removed for injury or any other reason, she may not re-enter the jam.[/rule]

Emphasis mine.

If she has skated into the ref lane, she has left the track. If she did so to compose herself, she did not leave the track due to equipment issues.

Your friendly Zebra Huddle admin.

Nashville Roller Derby Head Ref
WFTDA Level 5 Certified Referee

I speak only of my opinions and interpretations.

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3928
Views: 6422
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2552
Views: 5269
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2746
Views: 5883
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3540
Views: 5884
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal