Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Jammer Passing Inactive Jammers by hellvis
November 14, 2019, 03:37:30 am

Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER by Stray Taco
October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm

Clover Cup 2020 - March 20-22 - North Richland Hills, TX USA by SodOff
September 28, 2019, 10:09:13 am

JAMMER HELMET COVER by 3Beers
September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Re: Clamping down with the upper arm by bmd (2113)
June 12, 2019, 07:54:29 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 12, 2019, 04:16:34 pm

Author Topic: Passing the Pivot Cover  (Read 5012 times)

Offline ChrisSteel Balls

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Stats Sheet: 0
Passing the Pivot Cover
« on: November 20, 2012, 11:55:15 pm »
Now that the specific wording around the Pivot cover being non-transferable has been removed it seems it can be passed on.

I'm interested in any clarifications around this one, any potential issues to watch for? For example, could a Pivot receive the Star, then pass the Pivot cover and then pass the Star again?

Also, 3.2.2.3 does not refer to an active pivot with the pivot helmet cover on...so could pivot receive the Star cover and then pass both covers on and then that gets passed on again from just being in the skaters hands?

I'm just tying to imagine potential curly questions skaters ask! Any insights welcome!

Thanks again!
« Last Edit: November 21, 2012, 12:39:13 am by ChrisSteel Balls »

Offline FNZebra

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1408
  • Stats Sheet: 35
  • I'm a shitty ref.
  • League Affiliation: Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Passing the Pivot Cover
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2012, 12:32:36 am »
3.2.2.2 says the Pivot is the one with the cover on her helmet or in hand at the start.

I think that lacks ambiguity.  ;)
You will bout as you practice.


Cheers,

FN Zebra
Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby (WFTDA)
Bloomington, Indianer

Offline ChrisSteel Balls

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Stats Sheet: 0
Re: Passing the Pivot Cover
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2012, 12:35:27 am »
3.2.2.2 says the Pivot is the one with the cover on her helmet or in hand at the start.

I think that lacks ambiguity.  ;)

thanks for the reply :)

Sorry, I just modified my post - so could the initial pivot hold it in their hand, then the star gets passed to the pivot and then both covers could get passed on? Potentially, until both covers are on the helmet for the Jammer to identified and scoring, the two covers could get passed around between blockers endlessly?

Offline FNZebra

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1408
  • Stats Sheet: 35
  • I'm a shitty ref.
  • League Affiliation: Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Passing the Pivot Cover
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2012, 12:50:29 am »
No.

A team may have, at most, one (1) Pivot on the track during a jam. That Pivot is their skater who has the striped helmet cover in hand or on their helmet at the jam start whistle.

To be eligible for a star pass, the Pivot must have the striped helmet cover on (see 3.2.1).

A successful star pass is between the Jammer and the Pivot, with both being within the EZ. A successful star pass transfers the position of Jammer (except for lead status) to the was-Pivot. The was-Jammer now skates as a Blocker for the duration of the jam (see 3.5.9.4).

After a successful star pass, there is no Pivot to whom the star may be legally passed.
You will bout as you practice.


Cheers,

FN Zebra
Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby (WFTDA)
Bloomington, Indianer

Offline Major Puddles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Stats Sheet: 2
Re: Passing the Pivot Cover
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2012, 01:01:16 am »
I'm fine with all the above. My question regarding the passing of covers is would it be considered a legal star pass if:

Pivot (wearing cover) receives the jammer cover into her hand, and then removes her pivot cover to put the jammer cover on. Let's not ask why, maybe it falls off as she tries to slide the jammer cover over it, maybe she just thinks that 2 covers will be too hot. Legal? I would say yes, but the rules does say she has to be wearing the cover to complete a legal star pass.

Offline Darkjester

  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • ********************
  • Posts: 3067
  • Stats Sheet: 39
  • "When in doubt, RTFM"
  • League Affiliation: Beach Brawl SK8R Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Passing the Pivot Cover
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2012, 06:16:06 pm »
Its generally accepted (at least of the previous rules set) that it be considered legal.

No other skater however may place the old pivots(not Jammer) cover on her head.
Madness Tolls
69¢
Beach Brawl Sk8R Dolls
Fort Walton Beach FL

Offline Bill Hind

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: A'Salt Creek Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Passing the Pivot Cover
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2012, 07:28:10 pm »
the rules does say she has to be wearing the cover to complete a legal star pass.

I think you may have answered your question here. The pertinent section is 3.2.1: "A Pivot must be wearing the Pivot helmet cover to have any of the Pivot position rights or privileges". Thus if the pivot takes the helmet cover off he or she ceases to be the pivot and cannot become a jammer until the helmet cover is put back on.
Bill Hind Justice, Referee
A'Salt Creek Roller Girls
Casper, WY, USA

Offline Major Wood

  • Administrator
  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2663
  • Stats Sheet: 77
  • League Affiliation: Nashville Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 5
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Passing the Pivot Cover
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2012, 07:54:05 pm »
If she has the pivot cover on when it is handed to her, don't penalize her for taking it off just to put the jammer cover on.
Your friendly Zebra Huddle admin.

Nashville Roller Derby Head Ref
WFTDA Level 5 Certified Referee

I speak only of my opinions and interpretations.

Offline Major Puddles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Stats Sheet: 2
Re: Passing the Pivot Cover
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2012, 09:47:10 pm »
Thanks Jester and Wood, that's how I called it prior, and I didn't think anything in the new ruleset would change that. Just wanted to get a bit of a consensus.

Offline Kim Tonkin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • formerly known as "K.Ossenmeihem"
  • League Affiliation: Victorian Roller Derby League
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Passing the Pivot Cover
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2012, 02:36:18 am »
Should the Pivot-Blocker remove the Pivot helmet-cover (no impact/no penalty as discussed above) but then tuck it into the waistband of the uniform in order to apply the Jammer helmet-cover, is this still considered "...in the skater's hand" as per 3.2.2.2

If not, would it be covered by the penalty 6.13.26 Illegal Procedure - Star Pass Violation (Major) and issued to the initiator (Jammer)?
Kim Tonkin
Volunteer Official - Victorian Roller Derby League

Offline Darkjester

  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • ********************
  • Posts: 3067
  • Stats Sheet: 39
  • "When in doubt, RTFM"
  • League Affiliation: Beach Brawl SK8R Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Passing the Pivot Cover
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2012, 11:34:15 pm »
I wouldn't penalize the above.

Otherwise though, if it WERE to be a penalty it would be applied to the Pivot as the Initiation by the Jammer was clean. It was the pivots removal that would have been considered the illegal action.
Madness Tolls
69¢
Beach Brawl Sk8R Dolls
Fort Walton Beach FL

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3936
Views: 6458
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2557
Views: 5300
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2753
Views: 5912
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3549
Views: 5906
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal