Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Jammer Passing Inactive Jammers by hellvis
November 14, 2019, 03:37:30 am

Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER by Stray Taco
October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm

Clover Cup 2020 - March 20-22 - North Richland Hills, TX USA by SodOff
September 28, 2019, 10:09:13 am

JAMMER HELMET COVER by 3Beers
September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Re: Clamping down with the upper arm by bmd (2113)
June 12, 2019, 07:54:29 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 12, 2019, 04:16:34 pm

Author Topic: 3.4.2.4 both jammer simultaneously meet all requirement to become lead jammer  (Read 3546 times)

Offline Alonzo Barricades

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Roller Derby Bordeaux Club
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Hi,

This rules come from a clarification of the previous ruleset. I remember the clarification gave a scenario where both jammer had passed all blocker but one, and this last blocker exit the engagement zone. By 3.4.1.3 both jammer meet all requirement to become lead at the exact moment this blocker exit the EZ.

But, is this the only possible scenario ?
If the last blocker in front of jammers fall he is considerdered OOP. So you can say that at this exact moment both blocker had passed the foremost inplay blocker and they both meet requirement for lead jammer status. Is it right ?

Offline Darkjester

  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • ********************
  • Posts: 3067
  • Stats Sheet: 39
  • "When in doubt, RTFM"
  • League Affiliation: Beach Brawl SK8R Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
yep.. or goes out of bounds....
Madness Tolls
69¢
Beach Brawl Sk8R Dolls
Fort Walton Beach FL

Offline Bratty Cardia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Stats Sheet: 15
  • League Affiliation: Toronto Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
I could have sworn that if the Blocker goes down instead of out of the Engagement Zone, that Blocker still needs to be passed to earn Lead Jammer, but I'm not entirely certain. Could anyone chime in on this?

However, I ought to mention the new rule that states:

[rule]3.4.2.4—In the event both Jammers simultaneously meet all requirements for Lead Jammer, the foremost Jammer, if there is one, will be declared Lead Jammer.[/rule]

Therefore, in the original scenario, we need to see which Jammer, if either, is ahead of the other. If there is one, that Jammer will be awarded Lead. Otherwise, neither of them should be awarded Lead. This overrides the clarification from the previous ruleset.
Bratty Cardia
2.2.2 — The team with the most points at the end of the game wins.

Offline Nick Bergus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • Stats Sheet: 10
  • League Affiliation: Old Capitol City Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Every blocker, except those who have exited the front of the engagement zone, needs to be passed for lead jammer to be awarded. It was recently discussed here.
WFTDA-certified referee, level 2
Zebra Huddle moderator

Offline Bratty Cardia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Stats Sheet: 15
  • League Affiliation: Toronto Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Thank you for the quick citation! Unless the Blocker is NOTT or is ahead of the Engagement Zone, they must still be passed for purposes of earning Lead Jammer.

So in the original scenario, if that Blocker were sent off for a penalty, or perhaps because they were in the queue for the penalty box, and now a spot has opened up, they do not need to be passed for purposes of earning Lead Jammer once they are directed off the track. At that moment, apply rule 3.4.2.4 to see if there is a foremost Jammer to award Lead to.
Bratty Cardia
2.2.2 — The team with the most points at the end of the game wins.

Offline Alonzo Barricades

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Roller Derby Bordeaux Club
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Thank you all ! I knew that missed something but now I what it is !

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3932
Views: 6442
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2555
Views: 5290
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2751
Views: 5903
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3545
Views: 5895
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal