Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
February 01, 2020, 02:47:10 am

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Jammer Passing Inactive Jammers by hellvis
November 14, 2019, 03:37:30 am

Author Topic: Relative Position Q & A  (Read 1903 times)

Offline Bishop

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1626
  • Stats Sheet: 51
  • Quoth the raven, "Nevermore."
  • League Affiliation: Unaffiliated
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Relative Position Q & A
« on: March 08, 2013, 12:00:09 am »

Can anyone speak to why this Q & A was removed from the WFTDA website?


Quote
Relative Position
Q: 1. Should relative position be judged by all skaters on the track, or only by the skaters directly involved/impacted by engagement?
2. An illegal hit puts a player off balance. The initiator of that hit doesn’t gain position on the recipient. Some other player completely uninvolved and unaffected by the engagement passes the off-balance skater. No penalty or major?
A: 1. Relative position should be judged only by the skaters directly involved or impacted by an engagement. This is not limited to the person initiating contact and the person receiving contact. If the engagement is having a direct effect on the receiver’s position relative to a third skater, that should be considered. For instance, if, while it is occurring, the illegal engagement allows the opposing Jammer to get past, it should be considered Major impact. 2. The referee must determine the impact of that hit on the recipient in order to determine if it is a Major or no impact; if the illegal action only causes the skater to be off balance but does not physically move/propel her or cause her to fall or go out of bounds then it would be no impact. Updated 9/21/10.


Thanks.
Recommended Resources:WFTDA Rules Central, WFTDA officiating & Successful Sports Officiating
Propose rule changes at timeout.wftda.com.

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4125
Views: 6858
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2686
Views: 5570
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2907
Views: 6255
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3727
Views: 6671
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal