intruder

Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Jammer Passing Inactive Jammers by hellvis
November 14, 2019, 03:37:30 am

Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER by Stray Taco
October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm

Clover Cup 2020 - March 20-22 - North Richland Hills, TX USA by SodOff
September 28, 2019, 10:09:13 am

JAMMER HELMET COVER by 3Beers
September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Re: Clamping down with the upper arm by bmd (2113)
June 12, 2019, 07:54:29 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 12, 2019, 04:16:34 pm

Author Topic: Quick Question on 7.4.5  (Read 3302 times)

Offline ttjustice

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Stats Sheet: 18
  • And Justice for All!
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Quick Question on 7.4.5
« on: May 06, 2009, 04:19:06 pm »
7.4.5   If one team?s Jammer does not make it on to the track in time to participate in the jam and during the course of that jam the opposing team?s Jammer is sent off for a penalty, the jam will be whistled dead when the penalized Jammer is seated in the penalty box. She will begin the new jam in the box, and the team that did not field a Jammer in the previous jam will be allowed to field a Jammer in the new jam.

(I just want to make sure I am not reading too much into this.)

Does the penalized jammer have to finish serving her remaining penalty time before leaving the box or is she free to go after yielding to the opposing jammer?
Timothy T. Justice
Ohio Roller Girls Head of Officiating 2011-2013
Retired Level 3 Skating Official
WFTDA Rules Theory Clerk

Offline Treble Damage

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Stats Sheet: 1
Re: Quick Question on 7.4.5
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2009, 04:28:50 pm »
Since the other team's jammer has not been penalized, there is no reason to shorten the penalized jammer's penalty.  Nor does rule 7.4.5 provide for a shortened penalty.  As I read it, the penalized jammer will serve her full minute of penalty time starting at the jam-start whistle.

-Treble Damage
Charm City

Offline Darkjester

  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • ********************
  • Posts: 3067
  • Stats Sheet: 39
  • "When in doubt, RTFM"
  • League Affiliation: Beach Brawl SK8R Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Quick Question on 7.4.5
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2009, 05:45:03 pm »
Thats how I read it too..

Which is a shame because it basically states the other team can screw up and 'not' field a Jammer, and then get a 'do-over' while the First teams jammer is still out for the remainder of her penalty.  At least with the old Jammerless Jam situation you had a 'fix' and both teams re-started with a Jammer.

Madness Tolls
69¢
Beach Brawl Sk8R Dolls
Fort Walton Beach FL

Offline FNZebra

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1408
  • Stats Sheet: 35
  • I'm a shitty ref.
  • League Affiliation: Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Quick Question on 7.4.5
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2009, 05:51:49 pm »
yes, but they would have to carefully time their non-fielding of a jammer, eh?
You will bout as you practice.


Cheers,

FN Zebra
Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby (WFTDA)
Bloomington, Indianer

Offline ttjustice

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Stats Sheet: 18
  • And Justice for All!
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Quick Question on 7.4.5
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2009, 06:42:01 pm »
Since the other team's jammer has not been penalized, there is no reason to shorten the penalized jammer's penalty.  Nor does rule 7.4.5 provide for a shortened penalty.  As I read it, the penalized jammer will serve her full minute of penalty time starting at the jam-start whistle.

-Treble Damage
Charm City

Yes, this is how I was reading it as well but it wasn't explicitly spelled out like in some of the other sections of jammerless jam.  I was also thinking the same as Darkjester about a team getting a "do over", but then figured that on the other side of the coin, the jammer in the field is basically getting a "free pass" to score points with no opposition on that jam so if she screws up and gets sent to the box the full penalty should be observed for blowing the opportunity.

Thanks for the answers fellow Refs!
Timothy T. Justice
Ohio Roller Girls Head of Officiating 2011-2013
Retired Level 3 Skating Official
WFTDA Rules Theory Clerk

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3932
Views: 6442
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2555
Views: 5290
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2751
Views: 5903
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3545
Views: 5895
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal