Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Author Topic: Most evil jam of the Year!!!  (Read 4010 times)

Offline MC NINJA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • E = MC Ninja
  • League Affiliation: Southern Illinois Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Most evil jam of the Year!!!
« on: June 11, 2014, 08:47:37 pm »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7b3xTwpPXk
 I completely agree with the HR final decision. Cherry had her hands full with this one.

  I understand after the official review BLUE jammer was issued a CUTTING penalty. For re-entering infront of WHITE 10 (previous jammer)
  After the star pass is complete, WHITE 10 is still considered down a lap??????
  WHITE 10 transferred their position (as a jammer) upon completing the star pass.
 Rule [rule]5.11.1[/rule] says you have to re-enter behind the initiator of the block without bettering their position. Did BLUE jammer better their position re-entering behind the new WHITE jammer???
 



 

Offline Darth Bling

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 207
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Most evil jam of the Year!!!
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2014, 08:57:44 pm »
It's already being discussed here:

http://www.zebrahuddle.com/index.php?topic=4450

Offline The Sharmanator

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 336
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Girls / Cincinnati Battering Rams
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Most evil jam of the Year!!!
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2014, 09:00:03 pm »
There's another active thread talking about this exact same issue.  The consensus is and there has apparently been a WFTDA decision made that this was not a cut.

Offline The Sharmanator

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 336
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Girls / Cincinnati Battering Rams
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Most evil jam of the Year!!!
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2014, 09:16:02 pm »
There's another active thread talking about this exact same issue.  The consensus is and there has apparently been a WFTDA decision made that this was not a cut.

However, what everyone seems to be missing "my opinion" is that the Blue Jammer cut the track within in seconds of getting knocked out.  If you look closely the blue jammer gets knocked out and starts to come back in.  The jammer then falls to try and avoid a track cut.  However the blue jammer's two hands comes down and makes contact with the inside of the track before the jammer could get a knee down.  It' my humble opinion that the JR or and OPR should have called a cut right then.

Offline FNZebra

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1408
  • Stats Sheet: 35
  • I'm a shitty ref.
  • League Affiliation: Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Most evil jam of the Year!!!
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2014, 09:20:12 pm »
Both hands down inside the track = down.
Both hands down outside the track = out.

[rule]Downed skaters who have returned to the track are subject to applicable Cutting the Track penalties when they return to an in-bounds, upright, and skating or standing position. Downed skaters are not to be penalized with Cutting the Track penalties (until upright), but are still subject to Low Blocking and Blocking from Out of Bounds penalties.[/rule]
You will bout as you practice.


Cheers,

FN Zebra
Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby (WFTDA)
Bloomington, Indianer

Offline Megapickle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 616
  • Stats Sheet: 16
  • League Affiliation: Emerald City Roller Girls & Lane County Concussion
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Most evil jam of the Year!!!
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2014, 10:41:40 pm »
Upright & fully in-bounds, but no cut because of new language about 'one skate while trying to stay out' in 5.11.8:

Down (because of two hands) (& anyway, likely straddling), so no cut:

Could be an interesting hypothetical IF only one hand had come down, AND the right foot had clearly stayed up. (As it happened here, both hands touched down in the same frame of the video.) Would he no longer qualify for 5.11.8's exception, because he not strictly "on one skate"?

Offline Charles Dickins

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Stats Sheet: 3
  • NHRDHNSO
  • League Affiliation: New Hampshire Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Most evil jam of the Year!!!
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2014, 11:25:49 pm »
Up is up, down is down. One skate or two skates. One skate and one hand does not void the exception.
Charles Dickins
NHRD - HNSO

Offline The Sharmanator

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 336
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Girls / Cincinnati Battering Rams
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Most evil jam of the Year!!!
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2014, 12:16:44 am »
Your first picture, I don't see it that way.  I see left foot in "okay because of new rule", but to me right foot is off the ground.  Next picture right foot back on the ground OOB, left foot still on the ground inbounds but now also has two hand on the ground inbounds, skater still upright.  I think I would call that a cut.

Modification:  I am incorrect, I am thinking about this backwards.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2014, 12:48:50 am by The Sharmanator »

Offline ShoNuff

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 351
  • Stats Sheet: 29
  • League Affiliation: Mad Rollin' Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 4
Re: Most evil jam of the Year!!!
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2014, 12:49:32 am »
You cannot be up with two hands on the ground.

[rule]Down
 Skaters are considered down if they have fallen, been knocked to the ground, have either or both knees on the ground, or have both hands on the ground. After going down or falling, a skater is considered down until the skater is standing, stepping, and/or skating. Stationary standing skaters are not considered down, nor are skaters who are falling but have not yet met the above criteria.[/rule]

emphasis mine

Offline Wernher

  • Referee
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
  • Stats Sheet: 2
  • League Affiliation: Minnesota RollerGirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 4
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Most evil jam of the Year!!!
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2014, 02:41:16 pm »
I just feel like it should be pointed out that it's not the most evil jam of the year, it's a COPY of the most evil jam of the year. It happened first (?) at Skate to Thrill, a full month before the Big O.

Full disclosure: I was HR on the StT game where it first (?) happened.
Wernher Von Bombed
Assistant Head Ref
Minnesota RollerGirls

Offline Vanilla VICE

  • Referee
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • SC&L
  • League Affiliation: Muscogee Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Most evil jam of the Year!!!
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2014, 04:04:04 pm »
I will add that the Rules Committee agreed that Jammer Turned Blockers cannot retain being on lap negative one after a legal star pass. At the momment of transfer, the Jammer turned Blocker will "teleport forward" 1 lap to be on the same lap as the other blockers.

Reasons for this: Allowing blockers to maintain -1 status tends to go against the rules (or spirit) for Illegal Return, as the rules wouldn't allow a blocker to achieve a -1 lap status on a pending cut in any other scenario.

Jammer re-enters legally on their Initial Pass.
Muscogee Roller Girls: Columbus, GA
FlatTrackStats Mod

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4460
Views: 7511
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2977
Views: 6086
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3182
Views: 7011
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3990
Views: 9035
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal