Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Author Topic: Referee as a president?  (Read 2802 times)

Offline 2nd skin

• Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Rotterdam Roller Derby
Referee as a president?
« on: June 30, 2014, 10:32:47 am »
Hello all!

I couldn't find a topic concerning referees as a president. But if so, please drop me a link.

I've been president for my league for almost two years now. After a long period of injuries I started playing again for our B-team. Unfortunately I feel that my body can't cope with playing derby actively anymore. Since I love derby, I decided to become a referee next season.

And here starts the concern. A referee should be neutral of course. Although I know I can stay neutral and will not let my other role as a president will influence the way I look at the games and will call penalties, I can imaging other leagues will look differently into this.

Since I love to skate I do want to have a rolling part in roller derby. but I would feel sad if I couldn't support my league anymore by being a president.

A penny for your thoughts ;)

Offline Stray Taco

• Referee
  • Stats Sheet: 4
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Derby / Athens Ohio Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Referee as a president?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2014, 10:59:02 am »
I'm our league's treasurer and head referee. Other than time commitments with having 2 significant league roles, I haven't had any issues.  In derby, most refs are part of leagues and that's known.  Of course YMMV, but for us it's worked out well. A couple things I do to make sure there's not an issue when I put my stripes on: