intruder

Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Clamping down with the upper arm by bmd (2113)
June 12, 2019, 07:54:29 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 12, 2019, 04:16:34 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Rego_Derby
June 11, 2019, 11:35:08 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Axis of Stevil
June 10, 2019, 06:56:10 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 10, 2019, 01:49:04 pm

Ref facepaint by Rego_Derby
June 09, 2019, 03:38:38 pm

Re: Answering a directional with forearms by Major Wood
April 30, 2019, 07:44:47 pm

Answering a directional with forearms by Rego_Derby
April 30, 2019, 05:56:20 pm

Re: Yielding to the opposite side of the track by Bluebeard
April 22, 2019, 07:21:28 pm

Yielding to the opposite side of the track by MyBabyDaddy
April 21, 2019, 03:22:45 am

Author Topic: A skater sat in the box by mistake/for an overturned call. How do you fill stats  (Read 3717 times)

Offline Lucas

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 200
  • Stats Sheet: 2
  • League Affiliation: Wheel Spirit
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
I'm filling the statbook for a game where a skater went to the box by mistake (mistaking "remove your cover" for a call). In the lineups page, shoud I put her as having sit/being released from the box, or not at all? Does the answer depends on whether she just sat for a few seconds before being released by an official, or for the full 30s because nobody noticed until it was too late?

Offline SilkenTofu

  • NSO
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 105
  • Stats Sheet: 4
  • League Affiliation: Bleeding Heartland Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 5
I always mark her as having sat (because she did), but I insert a comment into the cell saying something like "skater sat by mistake, no penalty."  In the case where a call was overturned after she got to the box, I'll mark her as having gone to the box, with a comment like "call overturned, skater served 12 seconds" (if I know how long she served).

Not 100% sure that's "right," but it makes the stats accurately reflect what actually happened and why.
Bloomington, IN
WFTDA Level 5 Certified NSO
WFTDA Clinic Instructor, WFTDA Officials Committee member
MRDA Certification Committee

Offline BadgerBadger

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 120
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Crime City Rollers
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Yeah, I've also always understood that the stat book should reflect what actually happened, even if it was all wrong. The answer to questions like this always seems to be "add the data, write a comment". :)

Offline FNZebra

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1408
  • Stats Sheet: 35
  • I'm a shitty ref.
  • League Affiliation: Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Not 100% sure that's "right," but it makes the stats accurately reflect what actually happened and why.

The PB paperwork is optional, from a Sanctioning standpoint.

I have always thought it should reflect who sat in the box, and when possible, why. So self-reports, substitutions, and so on are reflected with a new row on the paperwork when someone's butt hit a seat.

But that's me.
You will bout as you practice.


Cheers,

FN Zebra
Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby (WFTDA)
Bloomington, Indianer

Offline SilkenTofu

  • NSO
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 105
  • Stats Sheet: 4
  • League Affiliation: Bleeding Heartland Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 5
The PB paperwork is optional, from a Sanctioning standpoint.

I meant on the lineup tracking paperwork, which is required for sanctioning.  The current statsbook instructions explicitly say not to enter the data from the Penalty Box sheets into the statsbook after the game, so I do not.  During a game, I would absolutely leave that line on my Penalty Box paperwork, with a note that the skater sat in error or the penalty was overturned or whatever the case was.
Bloomington, IN
WFTDA Level 5 Certified NSO
WFTDA Clinic Instructor, WFTDA Officials Committee member
MRDA Certification Committee

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3173
Views: 5013
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2272
Views: 4681
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2427
Views: 5211
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3214
Views: 5227
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal