Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Resources for new referees. by tamall
November 19, 2020, 04:30:47 am

Re: London Roller Derby Referee Sessions by tamall
November 19, 2020, 04:24:30 am

London Roller Derby Referee Sessions by 3Beers
July 14, 2020, 01:34:46 pm

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Author Topic: Cutting the track??  (Read 2704 times)

Offline 40ozofpain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Cutting the track??
« on: July 31, 2014, 05:04:47 pm »
Hello Everyone,
I need some help making heads or tails on this cutting the track penalty. I have black blocker B knocks out white jammer A out of bounds. Black Pivot B position is in front of White Jammer A when White Jammer A is hit out of bounds. Black Pivot B skates behind the initiator black blocker B and the white jammer A renters behind black blocker B but not black pivot B. Should the white jammer A get a cutting the track penalty or should it be no pass no penalty.

[rule]5.11.1 Returning behind the initiat or of the block. When put into an out-of-bounds (or straddling) position by a block, an opponent must return to the track without bettering their position in relation to other skaters. Returning to the track in front of the initiator of the block is improving one’s relative position, regardless of who is in front when the receiving skater exits the track. An in-bounds skater who forces an opponent out of bounds earns and establishes superior position. A skater may not return in bounds in front of an opponent who blocked that skater out of bounds, [/rule]

I have included 4 pictures for a visual and once again thank you for your time and helping me with this issue.
-40ozofpain
"You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline - it helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer." -Frank Zappa

Offline Vanilla VICE

  • Referee
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • SC&L
  • League Affiliation: Muscogee Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Cutting the track??
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2014, 05:18:56 pm »
It is a cut. They would not be penalized under 5.11.1 though.

They would be penalized under [rule]5.11.9 - A skater cutting any in-bounds and upright opponent, even during a No Pack situation.[/rule]

They satisfy the requirement for 5.11.1, while breaking 5.11.9

The way I explain it to skaters, all opponents in front of you at the time you go out of bounds, need to be in front of you when you re-enter to prevent being penalized under 5.11.9
Muscogee Roller Girls: Columbus, GA
FlatTrackStats Mod

Offline bmd (2113)

  • Referee
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Cincinnati Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Cutting the track??
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2014, 05:19:33 pm »
Yes, this is a track cut.

[rule]5.11.2.1 - An in-bounds, upright, and skating skater who returns completely in bounds (having previously been out of bounds) in front of one or more in-play and upright skaters, which results in the offending skater having bettered their position.[/rule]

In your scenario, the white jammer returned completely in bounds in front of the black pivot, bettering the white jammer's position relative to the black pivot's position.

*tweet* - white jammer, cutting.
Alex Cline
bmd (2113)
Cincinnati Rollergirls

Offline 40ozofpain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Cutting the track??
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2014, 03:55:50 am »
Thank you to the both of you for your input and taking the time to answer my question.
"You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline - it helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer." -Frank Zappa

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4762
Views: 8267
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3251
Views: 6774
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3466
Views: 7803
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4311
Views: 9806
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal