Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Clarification of 'Initiator' of a block requested by General Hellativity
June 18, 2018, 11:35:32 pm

Re: Clarification of 'Initiator' of a block requested by Stony Hawk
June 18, 2018, 03:23:07 pm

Re: Clarification of 'Initiator' of a block requested by General Hellativity
June 17, 2018, 09:47:56 pm

Re: Clarification of 'Initiator' of a block requested by Bluebeard
June 16, 2018, 05:13:02 am

Re: Clarification of 'Initiator' of a block requested by Stony Hawk
June 15, 2018, 10:33:11 pm

Re: Clarification of 'Initiator' of a block requested by Bluebeard
June 15, 2018, 09:51:22 pm

Clarification of 'Initiator' of a block requested by Stony Hawk
June 15, 2018, 05:27:58 pm

Re: Ceding Position by Skate Invader
June 13, 2018, 04:46:12 pm

Re: Ceding Position by Bluebeard
June 12, 2018, 10:59:22 pm

Ceding Position by nueces
June 12, 2018, 08:19:34 pm

Author Topic: Jammer Lap Points Graphic  (Read 6451 times)

Offline Stray Taco

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 382
  • Stats Sheet: 4
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Derby / Athens Ohio Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer Lap Points Graphic
« Reply #15 on: March 13, 2017, 04:09:54 pm »
0
Bumping this to ask the question:

Given the thread on unexpected rules changes (http://www.zebrahuddle.com/index.php?topic=5161) does this analogy still work? As far as I can tell, the answer is still yes, just with the rare caveat that kicks in during an "eat the baby with a Star Pass" scenario. This has been the simplest way to keep my brain straight on JLP and NOTT points for Jammers, so I want to make sure I don't inadvertently drop something.
Mike "Stray Taco" Straw

I know some things, but there's a lot more I don't know.

Offline Vanilla VICE

  • Referee
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 678
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • SC&L
  • League Affiliation: Muscogee Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer Lap Points Graphic
« Reply #16 on: March 13, 2017, 04:32:25 pm »
+1
Yeah it not only works for Jammers still (at least I believe it still does), it works for blockers now also with the change from "you score on blockers when you pass them on your scoring pass" to "you score on blockers when you lap them" with the only caveat for blockers being if you hand a star cover over an opponent's wall that was never passed in an earned or unearned way, that still counts for lapping purposes.
Muscogee Roller Girls: Columbus, GA
FlatTrackStats Mod

Offline Stray Taco

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 382
  • Stats Sheet: 4
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Derby / Athens Ohio Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer Lap Points Graphic
« Reply #17 on: March 13, 2017, 04:34:30 pm »
0
Yeah it not only works for Jammers still (at least I believe it still does), it works for blockers now also with the change from "you score on blockers when you pass them on your scoring pass" to "you score on blockers when you lap them" with the only caveat for blockers being if you hand a star cover over an opponent's wall that was never passed in an earned or unearned way, that still counts for lapping purposes.
Other caveat for blockers would be that the light doesn't turn off when a Blocker leaves the penalty box.

That's a LOT of lights, though!
Mike "Stray Taco" Straw

I know some things, but there's a lot more I don't know.

Offline AdamSmasher

  • NSO
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 222
  • Stats Sheet: 3
  • League Affiliation: Lansing Derby Vixens
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 3
Re: Jammer Lap Points Graphic
« Reply #18 on: March 13, 2017, 09:47:39 pm »
0
Yeah it not only works for Jammers still (at least I believe it still does), it works for blockers now also with the change from "you score on blockers when you pass them on your scoring pass" to "you score on blockers when you lap them" with the only caveat for blockers being if you hand a star cover over an opponent's wall that was never passed in an earned or unearned way, that still counts for lapping purposes.

The point of the "light" analogy for lapping position is to make the point that it is mutually exclusive - only one jammer (at most) can have lapping position on the other jammer at a time.  If Jammer A passes Jammer B, you turn A's light on, and turn B's light off.  This metaphor isn't terribly useful for blockers.
I'm better at remembering "Smasher" is me than "Adam."
Rules Colored Glasses - Useful Officiating Stuff

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2140
Views: 3663
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 1821
Views: 3725
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 1900
Views: 4113
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2736
Views: 4224
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal