Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Resources for new referees. by tamall
November 19, 2020, 04:30:47 am

Re: London Roller Derby Referee Sessions by tamall
November 19, 2020, 04:24:30 am

London Roller Derby Referee Sessions by 3Beers
July 14, 2020, 01:34:46 pm

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Author Topic: Contact to Non-Penalized Skater in the Penalty Box  (Read 3629 times)

Offline General Hellativity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Ithaca League of Women Rollers
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Contact to Non-Penalized Skater in the Penalty Box
« on: October 06, 2015, 09:47:54 pm »
Scenario:

- White Blocker is assessed a penalty, exits the track, and starts making her way to the penalty box.
- A good while later, Black Blocker receives a legal block, and her momentum takes her out of bounds and into the middle of the penalty box, where she regains control and comes to an upright stop.
- Two beats later, White Blocker enters the penalty box herself to serve her time, perhaps paying more attention to where she is about to sit than where she is going.
- White Blocker makes forcible chest-to-side contact with Black Blocker, clearly moving Black Blocker out of her established position (which was stationary and upright in the middle of the penalty box), but not causing her to lose balance or fall.

What penalties should be assessed? In particular, how would you interpret the word “intruding” in 5.16.3?
[rule]5.16.3 Entry to the Penalty Box that causes contact only to persons intruding on either the safety lane and/or the Penalty Box.[/rule]
Is Black Blocker “intruding?” This is the only place in the rules that word is used.

Offline FNZebra

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1408
  • Stats Sheet: 35
  • I'm a shitty ref.
  • League Affiliation: Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Contact to Non-Penalized Skater in the Penalty Box
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2015, 10:56:29 pm »
That described action should cause the ref crew to huddle briefly (perhaps pull the PBM and/or the PBT(s) into the huddle who had eyes on it) to discuss an expulsion. Then they would probably issue the expulsion, since that sounds pretty much like a textbook scenario there.

[rule]5.16.27 - A Skater who, on their way to the Penalty Box during a jam, makes forcible contact with another person (other than a teammate), or who causes a Penalty Box seat to do so. This includes contact made to people correctly positioned in their team area and is not limited to people in the Penalty Box.[/rule]


Intruding doesn't matter here. That NI/NP is for opposing coaches or Skaters who are contacted while out of position (not in their own bench area) and get struck by a penalized Skater going to the box. Imagine a coach standing in front of (but outside) the box, talking to their own penalized Skater, then starting back to their bench, and walking into the path of an inbound, penalized opponent. That contact should be an NI/NP, unless the opponent swerved to initiate the contact, then we may be right back to 5.16.27.
You will bout as you practice.


Cheers,

FN Zebra
Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby (WFTDA)
Bloomington, Indianer

Offline Bluebeard

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Independent
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Contact to Non-Penalized Skater in the Penalty Box
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2015, 11:22:30 pm »
That NI/NP is for opposing coaches or Skaters who are contacted while out of position (not in their own bench area) and get struck by a penalized Skater going to the box. Imagine a coach standing in front of (but outside) the box, talking to their own penalized Skater, then starting back to their bench, and walking into the path of an inbound, penalized opponent. That contact should be an NI/NP

Agreed ni/np for incoming penalized skater.  But, that actually could initiate a gross misconduct/expulsion discussion for said opposing coach per 5.16.20.
[rule]5.16.20 - Illegal interference in game play by Skaters or support staff not involved in the jam.[/rule]
Depending, of course, on the impact to the incoming skater.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2015, 11:32:03 pm by Bluebeard »

Offline FNZebra

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1408
  • Stats Sheet: 35
  • I'm a shitty ref.
  • League Affiliation: Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Contact to Non-Penalized Skater in the Penalty Box
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2015, 01:32:35 am »
Agreed ni/np for incoming penalized skater.  But, that actually could initiate a gross misconduct/expulsion discussion for said opposing coach per 5.16.20.
[rule]5.16.20 - Illegal interference in game play by Skaters or support staff not involved in the jam.[/rule]
Depending, of course, on the impact to the incoming skater.

Quite possibly.

If you saw me pulled into the OR huddle during a game @ Omaha this past weekend, that was one of the topics that did get discussed, among others.
You will bout as you practice.


Cheers,

FN Zebra
Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby (WFTDA)
Bloomington, Indianer

Offline Darth Bling

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 207
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Contact to Non-Penalized Skater in the Penalty Box
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2015, 05:47:14 am »
Hmm, tricky scenario.  I really want to say I would lean towards NINP per 5.16.3. But since the penalized skater did had "two beats" to avoid the out of bounds skater, I definitely see going with an expulsion per 5.16.27. 

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4762
Views: 8267
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3251
Views: 6774
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3466
Views: 7803
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4311
Views: 9806
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal