Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER by Stray Taco
October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm

Clover Cup 2020 - March 20-22 - North Richland Hills, TX USA by SodOff
September 28, 2019, 10:09:13 am

JAMMER HELMET COVER by 3Beers
September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Re: Clamping down with the upper arm by bmd (2113)
June 12, 2019, 07:54:29 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 12, 2019, 04:16:34 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Rego_Derby
June 11, 2019, 11:35:08 pm

Author Topic: Is possible to one jammer do it one "Out of play Block"?  (Read 4238 times)

Offline Destructor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Las Palmas Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Is possible to one jammer do it one "Out of play Block"?
« on: November 23, 2015, 12:02:19 pm »
Hi!

I saw in one bout, call on one jammer "Out of play Block" but, i can't understand who can do it one "out of play" if Glosary said: [rule]"In Play: When a Blocker is in bounds and upright within the Engagement Zone, the Blocker is in play. Jammers are always in play (so long as they are in bounds and upright)."[/rule]

PD: Sorry for my English.

Offline Stray Taco

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 385
  • Stats Sheet: 4
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Derby / Athens Ohio Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Is possible to one jammer do it one "Out of play Block"?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2015, 12:07:08 pm »
A jammer can be penalized for initiating an out of play block if she blocks an out of play blocker:
[rule]5.10.3 - No Skater may initiate a block while out of play, or to a Skater who is out of play. It is, however, legal to counter-block in such a situation.[/rule] (Emphasis mine.)
Mike "Stray Taco" Straw

I know some things, but there's a lot more I don't know.

Offline Destructor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Las Palmas Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Is possible to one jammer do it one "Out of play Block"?
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2015, 12:32:32 pm »
But this point is an "indication", no is one "penalization". It is not in penalization's seccion "penalty" and no appear in verbal cues document.

Offline Axis of Stevil

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 428
  • Stats Sheet: 7
  • Skating in circles since 2012
  • League Affiliation: Garden State Rollergirls and Jerzey Derby Brigade
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Is possible to one jammer do it one "Out of play Block"?
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2015, 12:42:10 pm »
But this point is an "indication", no is one "penalization". It is not in penalization's seccion "penalty" and no appear in verbal cues document.

I am not certain what you mean.  Perhaps write it in Spanish and I'll translate as best I can?

Stray Taco is correct.  If a jammer initiates a block with high impact against an out of play blocker (either outside of the engagement zone or during a no pack scenario) the jammer receives an "out of play block"  penalty.
6.1.3.5.1.2.3 - The referee who quotes a rule with the most digits is declared the winner.

Offline Destructor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Las Palmas Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Is possible to one jammer do it one "Out of play Block"?
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2015, 03:37:56 pm »
Ok! I write in spanish:

"Ese punto, 5.10.3, parece una indicación, no un penalti como los que aparecen en la sección de "Penalty" y los que están en el documento de advertencias verbales. ¿Qué penalty se le asigna? Los penaltis del 5.10.11 al 5.10.19 están recogidos en el documento "wftda-officiating-verbal-cues" pero, ninguno cumple los requisitos para que una jammer cumpla un Out of play Block."

5.10.3 It's not included in "wftda-officiating-verbal-cues". No is a penalty, is a "suggestion".  What "penalty" (incluided in penalty headland) meets the requirements to indicate that penalty to a jammer?

I wish write better english but... :(
   

Offline Divide by Zero

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Stats Sheet: 2
  • League Affiliation: Crime City Rollers
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Is possible to one jammer do it one "Out of play Block"?
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2015, 03:49:45 pm »
You are correct that there is no explicit mention in the penalty section of initiating contact to a skater that is out of play. However keep in mind that the actions listed under penalties is not an exhaustive list of everything that should be penalized, they are guidelines. Initiating contact to a skater that is out of play should be penalized (assuming impact).

Offline Stray Taco

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 385
  • Stats Sheet: 4
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Derby / Athens Ohio Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Is possible to one jammer do it one "Out of play Block"?
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2015, 03:50:19 pm »
5.10.3 It's not included in "wftda-officiating-verbal-cues". No is a penalty, is a "suggestion".  What "penalty" (incluided in penalty headland) meets the requirements to indicate that penalty to a jammer?

I would call it under one of the following, based on whose relative position changed:
[rule]5.10.16 - Any illegal blocking while out of play that forces the receiving opponent out of their established position. This includes forcing an opponent down, out of bounds, or out of relative position.

5.10.17 - Any illegal blocking while out of play that allows the initiator or a teammate to gain relative position.[/rule]

I do think the rule is somewhat confusing in its wording, but when combined with 5.10.3, I take the intent of "while out of play" to refer to either the initiator or the target.

I wish write better english but... :(
I wish I could still read Spanish with some fluency!  ::)
Mike "Stray Taco" Straw

I know some things, but there's a lot more I don't know.

Offline Destructor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Las Palmas Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Is possible to one jammer do it one "Out of play Block"?
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2015, 04:31:59 pm »
5.10.3 It's not included in "wftda-officiating-verbal-cues". No is a penalty, is a "suggestion".  What "penalty" (incluided in penalty headland) meets the requirements to indicate that penalty to a jammer?

I would call it under one of the following, based on whose relative position changed:
[rule]5.10.16 - Any illegal blocking while out of play that forces the receiving opponent out of their established position. This includes forcing an opponent down, out of bounds, or out of relative position.

5.10.17 - Any illegal blocking while out of play that allows the initiator or a teammate to gain relative position.[/rule]

I do think the rule is somewhat confusing in its wording, but when combined with 5.10.3, I take the intent of "while out of play" to refer to either the initiator or the target.

That's is the problem, jammer never "Out of play" then could be block skaters in out of play.

Correct explanation:
5.10.16 - Any illegal blocking while out of play, initiator or receiver, that forces the receiving opponent out of their established position. This includes forcing an opponent down, out of bounds, or out of relative position.

I wish write better english but... :(
I wish I could still read Spanish with some fluency!  ::)

But at less we can undestand us. ^^

Thx for help! I know it now that's jammer can do it but in rules text no enough correctly concrete.

Offline Axis of Stevil

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 428
  • Stats Sheet: 7
  • Skating in circles since 2012
  • League Affiliation: Garden State Rollergirls and Jerzey Derby Brigade
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Is possible to one jammer do it one "Out of play Block"?
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2015, 01:34:57 am »
Ok! I write in spanish:

"Ese punto, 5.10.3, parece una indicación, no un penalti como los que aparecen en la sección de "Penalty" y los que están en el documento de advertencias verbales. ¿Qué penalty se le asigna? Los penaltis del 5.10.11 al 5.10.19 están recogidos en el documento "wftda-officiating-verbal-cues" pero, ninguno cumple los requisitos para que una jammer cumpla un Out of play Block."

5.10.3 It's not included in "wftda-officiating-verbal-cues". No is a penalty, is a "suggestion".  What "penalty" (incluided in penalty headland) meets the requirements to indicate that penalty to a jammer?

I wish write better english but... :(

I understand your confusion.  You know 5.10.3 says that a jammer cannot block an out of play skater.  But you do not see a good rule between 5.10.11 and 5.10.19 to call the penalty.

As others are writing, the correct penalty is 5.10.17.  It could be better written, but the understanding is this: "Any illegal blocking while the initiator or the target are out of play..."

The correct verbal cue is "out of play block".

From your last message you understand this now, so I'm glad you now understand.  Happy officiating!

6.1.3.5.1.2.3 - The referee who quotes a rule with the most digits is declared the winner.

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3533
Views: 6333
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2512
Views: 5196
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2703
Views: 5796
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3491
Views: 5784
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal