intruder

Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Re: Clamping down with the upper arm by bmd (2113)
June 12, 2019, 07:54:29 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 12, 2019, 04:16:34 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Rego_Derby
June 11, 2019, 11:35:08 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Axis of Stevil
June 10, 2019, 06:56:10 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 10, 2019, 01:49:04 pm

Ref facepaint by Rego_Derby
June 09, 2019, 03:38:38 pm

Author Topic: What The...Starpass?  (Read 8124 times)

Offline Speedy Convalesce

  • NSO
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Rhein-Neckar Delta Quads
Re: What The...Starpass?
« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2016, 12:52:08 pm »
once the pass has taken place and the pivot-now-jammer skates off with the star, is the initial pass complete when they exit the EZ?

No. Before the SP the (old) jammer was on the pre-initial pass*. After the SP the (new) jammer is on the same pass, i.e. the pre-initial pass. So when they exit the EZ (to the front) they are on the initial pass.

*If the jammer lined up at the jammer line and skated clockwise after the whistle, this would be very obvious. But even if the jammer lines up immediately in front of the pivot line and the pack lines up immediately behind the pivot line, the jammer is considered to be behind the pack:
[rule]3.2.1 - At the start of a jam all Skaters must be in position with the Blockers in front of the Jammers.[/rule]

Offline Hans Oferbach

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Central Coast Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: What The...Starpass?
« Reply #16 on: March 22, 2016, 01:08:33 pm »
If this was not the jam start and was, say, a scoring lap, the jammer exits the EZ (completing the pass), and is pushed back into the EZ by the opposition jammer. The jammer then finds their pivot, behind them,  at the front of the pack. For whatever reason (not important) they pass the star legally, and the pivot-now-jammer skates forward and exits the engagement zone. Since the former jammer has already completed that pass, it can't be completed again, and therefore the pivot-now-jammer doesn't complete a pass until they come through the pack and exit the EZ, effectively exiting the EZ twice, but only really once because the former jammer had already completed the pass.
So at the jam start, should the pass happen at the front of the pack, it should be treated the same? Anyone have a wftda type answer here, rather than speculation and opinion?
Keep turnin left...

Offline Major Puddles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Stats Sheet: 2
Re: What The...Starpass?
« Reply #17 on: March 22, 2016, 11:04:39 pm »
2.1.2 and 3.2 both establish that the blockers are in front of the jammers in the lineup. Clearly that means that the Jammer is behind the blockers, even if they are just in front of the pivot line.

Then 2.5.5 states "The Pivot picks up where the previous Jammer left off". Which is behind the blockers. At least that's how I read the rules.

Roller Derby, where the magic of teleportation happens.

RawShark

  • Guest
Re: What The...Starpass?
« Reply #18 on: March 23, 2016, 01:38:42 am »
If this was not the jam start and was, say, a scoring lap, the jammer exits the EZ (completing the pass), and is pushed back into the EZ by the opposition jammer. The jammer then finds their pivot, behind them,  at the front of the pack. For whatever reason (not important) they pass the star legally, and the pivot-now-jammer skates forward and exits the engagement zone. Since the former jammer has already completed that pass, it can't be completed again, and therefore the pivot-now-jammer doesn't complete a pass until they come through the pack and exit the EZ, effectively exiting the EZ twice, but only really once because the former jammer had already completed the pass.

This isn't quite accurate.

- Jammer on scoring pass 2
- Jammer exits EZ at front, completes scoring pass 2, starts scoring pass 3 (7.1.3.5)
- Jammer forced back into EZ by opposing, returns to scoring pass 2 (7.1.5.1) but cannot score any more points in that pass because they already completed it (7.2.2.1)
- Star pass, new-Jammer is on scoring pass 2 (2.5.5)
- new-Jammer exits EZ at front again, returns to scoring pass 3

Anyone have a wftda type answer here, rather than speculation and opinion?

Rules Committee has posted a reply on the WFTDA forum that agrees with the previous discussion in this thread. Unfortunately, the way it's been posted is "We agree with the consensus" - so although we can state that this is the Rules-endorsed answer, we can't really post any previous discussion without breaking the NDA.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2016, 01:45:34 am by RawShark »

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3350
Views: 5477
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2439
Views: 5046
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2598
Views: 5658
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3382
Views: 5618
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal