Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

London Roller Derby Referee Sessions by 3Beers
July 14, 2020, 01:34:46 pm

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Author Topic: Clockwise/Stopped Assist?  (Read 3622 times)

Offline General Hellativity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Ithaca League of Women Rollers
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Clockwise/Stopped Assist?
« on: June 11, 2016, 02:56:13 pm »
Hi everyone!

Some time ago, this video circulated around facebook illustrating a successful Pegassist.

When I watch the video, here is what I see:
  • Black Blocker skates slowly clockwise and reaches out her arms to her jammer.
  • Black Jammer skates slowly in derby direction and reaches out her arms to Black Blocker.
  • They grab arms, Black Jammer jumps, and Black Blocker exerts a strong force propelling the Black Jammer up and forward in derby direction. At this moment, Black Blocker appears to be stopped, but can't possibly be traveling in derby direction, since she is slowing from a clockwise approach.
  • The assist causes Black Jammer to gain position on at least one opponent (Yellow 23) in the vicinity.

With all the usual caveats that the video and position of the camera is not ideal, it looks to me like a Stopped Assist or Clockwise Assist penalty should be assessed. The hive mind's thoughts? And if so, who gets it, Jammer or Blocker?

Offline llama of death

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 306
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • Referee
  • League Affiliation: Rollling Hills Derby Dames, WheatWhackers (JRDA)
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Clockwise/Stopped Assist?
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2016, 07:35:35 pm »
Looks like a stopped assist from that angle. I don't know who to apply it to but if I had to make a call on the floor I would likley give it to the blocker as this assist could be seen as initiated from BOTH players but is still one action. Feel the skating back and reaching out sets up the blocker as the most responsible skater in this assist.

Though the usual caveats apply, in my mind right now the clearest explanation for the no call. Is the JR was probably watching the legality of the Jammer's take off and landing. They could likely not see the legality of the initiating blockers movement, or lack of it.
I play devils advocate a lot, it is always because I desire a complete understanding of the rule/scenario. I do make changes to my reffing often as a direct result of discussions resulting in a consensus. Particularly if it is contrary to my previous understanding.

Offline Mav'Ricky

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 126
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Victorian Roller Derby League (Melbourne, Australia)
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Clockwise/Stopped Assist?
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2016, 05:22:52 am »
I probably would have missed the stop block due to checking for multis and cuts, but an HR might spot it. Also is that a late hit by yellow jammer at the end there?
Be fair. Be clear.

Offline Bluebeard

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Independent
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Clockwise/Stopped Assist?
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2016, 09:55:42 pm »
*tweet*,black 2,3,stopped assist.

With that said, I agree with llama about why it was missed.  The jr was (appropriately) watching the jammer, not her blocker's feet.  The IPRs had no idea there was an assist coming that they needed to watch for legality.

@mavericky: I don't see a late hit.

Offline Mav'Ricky

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 126
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Victorian Roller Derby League (Melbourne, Australia)
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Clockwise/Stopped Assist?
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2016, 09:54:23 am »
@mavericky: I don't see a late hit.

I agree. Neglected to account for black blocker initiating.
Be fair. Be clear.

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4612
Views: 8079
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3100
Views: 6621
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3314
Views: 7595
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4145
Views: 9602
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal