Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: False Start = No pack? by llama of death
October 20, 2017, 10:15:28 pm

Re: False Start = No pack? by AdamSmasher
October 20, 2017, 12:06:46 pm

Re: New Rules Clarifications.. by Assault Disney
October 20, 2017, 07:04:37 am

Re: False Start = No pack? by Bluebeard
October 19, 2017, 10:55:25 pm

Re: New dress code for NSOs by IsaacRi
October 19, 2017, 02:50:15 pm

Re: False Start = No pack? by llama of death
October 18, 2017, 11:07:11 pm

Re: Blocking a Star Pass by llama of death
October 18, 2017, 11:01:19 pm

Re: Blocking a Star Pass by AdamSmasher
October 18, 2017, 05:52:44 pm

Re: New Rules Clarifications.. by AdamSmasher
October 18, 2017, 05:48:16 pm

Re: New Rules Clarifications.. by Vanilla VICE
October 18, 2017, 03:51:39 pm

Author Topic: Apex Jump  (Read 553 times)

Offline Ref Leppard

  • Referee
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Atomic City Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Apex Jump
« on: April 07, 2017, 04:58:45 pm »
+1
I have two questions in this regarding an apex jump.  Based on the rules you maintain the same status airborne that you had when you initiated the jump.

Question 1:  If the jammer is inbounds when the jump starts, can a blocker legally hit them while airborne?  (I believe yes based on Case C4.2.)

Question 2:  If the jammer is out of bounds when the jump starts and a blocker initiates a hit (assuming legal target and legal blocking zone) would this be an Blocking Out of Bounds penalty on the Blocker?

I apologize if this has been asked before but it's hard relying on older posts because of the numerous rule changes over the years.

Offline AdamSmasher

  • NSO
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 206
  • Stats Sheet: 3
  • League Affiliation: Lansing Derby Vixens
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 3
Re: Apex Jump
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2017, 09:29:10 pm »
+1
I have two questions in this regarding an apex jump.  Based on the rules you maintain the same status airborne that you had when you initiated the jump.

Question 1:  If the jammer is inbounds when the jump starts, can a blocker legally hit them while airborne?  (I believe yes based on Case C4.2.)

Assuming the hit is otherwise legal, yes.

Quote
Question 2:  If the jammer is out of bounds when the jump starts and a blocker initiates a hit (assuming legal target and legal blocking zone) would this be an Blocking Out of Bounds penalty on the Blocker?

This is an illegal action, because you are initiating a block on an out-of-bounds skater.  However, whether it is a penalty-worthy action depends on impact.  If the skater is knocked down or severely off balance, penalty.

I'm better at remembering "Smasher" is me than "Adam."
Rules Colored Glasses - Useful Officiating Stuff

Offline Major Puddles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
  • Stats Sheet: 2
Re: Apex Jump
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2017, 12:06:43 am »
+1
Keep in mind that the same definitions would apply for a straddling skater. If a skater attempts an apex jump while straddling, they would be fair game.

Offline Ref Leppard

  • Referee
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Atomic City Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Apex Jump
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2017, 12:41:43 am »
0
@AdamSmasher 
Thanks!  That was my thinking and it's good to have confirmation.

@ Major Puddles

I always thought a straddling player was considered out of bounds.  So if they jumped from straddling, it would depend on which foot left the ground first. 

i.e.  If their out of bound foot lifted first, then they would be inbounds for the jump.  If the inbound foot lifted first, they would be out of bounds for the jump.


Offline Senor Ahzov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Light City Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Apex Jump
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2017, 09:57:08 am »
+2
WFTDA Rule/Clarification:
Scenario 2.5:
Rationale: While airborne, a Skater retains the attributes of their previous status.

I'd say if they were straddling when they jumped, they count as straddling while they're in the air, given that straddling skaters have a different status to completely OOB ones (i.e. they can still be legally blocked and knocked down).

If they had lifted their OOB foot and left one-footed from in-bounds, then they're in bounds. If they'd lifted the in-bounds foot first and jumped one-footed from OOB, they're OOB. Most of the apex jump Cuts I've seen, though, happened because the Jammer jumped with both feet, but their front wheels had rolled OOB.

Offline Vanilla VICE

  • Referee
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 671
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • SC&L
  • League Affiliation: Muscogee Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Apex Jump
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2017, 01:52:05 pm »
0
I agree with Senor that Straddled Jumpers are fair game just as if they would be if they were on the ground. You would be ruling on a Airborne Block, not an OOB Block if in the example you are ruling the airborne person as the initiator.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2017, 01:58:12 pm by Vanilla VICE »
Muscogee Roller Girls: Columbus, GA
FlatTrackStats Mod

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 1796
Views: 2797
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 1648
Views: 2987
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 1694
Views: 3415
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2540
Views: 3530
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal