Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

October 27th Savannah, Georgia- Blocktoberfest Junior Scrimmage Refs needed by TerryT
October 19, 2018, 01:46:12 am

Low Down Throw Down 2019 - May 3-5 - Augusta, GA by Damn Yankee
October 15, 2018, 10:33:04 pm

Re: Directional While Straddling by Vanilla VICE
October 03, 2018, 03:14:54 pm

Re: Directional While Straddling by Garrotin Keillor
September 22, 2018, 06:03:12 am

Directional While Straddling by HELLvis
September 15, 2018, 11:52:16 pm

Re: Ref and NSO shirts for sale by Renzi06
September 11, 2018, 10:48:43 am

Re: "Unofficial" Referee Code of Conduct by Garrotin Keillor
September 10, 2018, 05:11:19 am

Re: "Unofficial" Referee Code of Conduct by HELLvis
September 07, 2018, 06:25:47 pm

Re: "Unofficial" Referee Code of Conduct by Axis of Stevil
September 06, 2018, 07:30:56 pm

"Unofficial" Referee Code of Conduct by HELLvis
September 06, 2018, 05:06:33 pm

Author Topic: Re establishing position  (Read 874 times)

Offline Major Puddles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Stats Sheet: 2
Re establishing position
« on: September 05, 2017, 11:13:05 pm »
0
Scenario C4.30
White Pivot and White Blocker are ahead of Red Pivot. Red Pivot is forced out of bounds by White Pivot. White Blocker skates clockwise behind both Skaters. White Blocker loses their balance, takes a knee, and returns upright. Red Pivot re-enters the track behind White Pivot and ahead of White Blocker.

Outcome: Red Pivot is penalized.

Rationale: Although White Blocker lost their superior position briefly while down, they returned upright before Red Pivot re-entered. White Blocker was not the initiator of the block that forced Red Pivot out of bounds, and thus is able to re-establish their superior position
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Does this also apply to skating out of bounds? For example, if White Blocker had skated into a straddling position, and then completely re entered the track before the Jammer got on, would they still re establish their superior position?

Offline Divide by Zero

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Stats Sheet: 2
  • League Affiliation: Crime City Rollers
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Re establishing position
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2017, 07:15:44 am »
+1
Yes. If the skater loses their superior position (down/OoB/OoP) they can regain it again.

Offline llama of death

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 306
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • Referee
  • League Affiliation: Rollling Hills Derby Dames, WheatWhackers (JRDA)
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Re establishing position
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2017, 11:45:07 pm »
0
Yes. If the skater loses their superior position (down/OoB/OoP) they can regain it again.

Correct, but might not be the whole story. There are really two kinds of superior position; 'Natural' superior position and 'earned' superior position. While 'natural' superior position can be regained, earned superior position cannot be regained.

Earned superior potion is one gained or 'earned' by causing an opponent to be pushed OoB, and cannot be regained once lost. 'Natural' superior position is the based on relative position (Upright/down, In/OoB, In/OoP).
I play devils advocate a lot, it is always because I desire a complete understanding of the rule/scenario. I do make changes to my reffing often as a direct result of discussions resulting in a consensus. Particularly if it is contrary to my previous understanding.

Offline Speedy Convalesce

  • NSO
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Rhein-Neckar Delta Quads
Re: Re establishing position
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2017, 12:11:30 pm »
+1
As another addendum: In C4.30 White Pivot satisfies the criteria for both natural and earned superior position. The rationale indicates that in this case earned superior position takes precedence and it can not be regained after being lost. This is also what I perceived as the consensus with prior rulesets, where the rules made no statement about this.

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2530
Views: 4171
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 1943
Views: 4046
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2073
Views: 4531
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2914
Views: 4603
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal