intruder

Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Doubt about score points. by Divide by Zero
Today at 03:23:16 pm

Doubt about score points. by Destructor
Today at 12:47:07 pm

What Happened to 2015 rule 5.4.8 (arm pinning) by Cheat Skates
Today at 04:02:00 am

Re: star pass and cutting penalty by Bluebeard
Today at 01:25:01 am

Re: star pass and cutting penalty by Triop
September 19, 2017, 11:07:36 pm

Re: Is this an expulsion-level action? by Vanilla VICE
September 19, 2017, 09:08:06 pm

Re: star pass and cutting penalty by Vanilla VICE
September 19, 2017, 08:56:02 pm

Re: Is this an expulsion-level action? by Triop
September 19, 2017, 07:11:38 pm

Re: Is this an expulsion-level action? by Ria
September 19, 2017, 06:03:17 pm

Re: Is this an expulsion-level action? by Divide by Zero
September 19, 2017, 05:38:18 pm

Author Topic: star pass and cutting penalty  (Read 674 times)

Offline llama of death

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 290
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • Referee
  • League Affiliation: Rollling Hills Derby Dames, WheatWhackers (JRDA)
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: star pass and cutting penalty
« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2017, 09:49:01 pm »
+1
Let's use pictures!
 
--><--**edited for brevity**--><--

What I see looking at these is that y'all are way overcomplicating this.  (As was I when I misread the first post)  The engagement zone is irrelevant.  Even the star pass is irrelevant.  Let's call the original blue jammer "Pat."  Orange jammer was hit out by Pat.  Orange jammer came in ahead of Pat.

Cut. Done.

This was exactly what I was thinking, down to the use of pictures. Thank you for getting those images lain out.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2017, 09:52:28 pm by llama of death »
I play devils advocate a lot, it is always because I desire a complete understanding of the rule/scenario. I do make changes to my reffing often as a direct result of discussions resulting in a consensus. Particularly if it is contrary to my previous understanding.

Online Speedy Convalesce

  • NSO
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Rhein-Neckar Delta Quads
Re: star pass and cutting penalty
« Reply #16 on: September 12, 2017, 12:00:23 pm »
0
That is not how C4.39 works.  The important concept in C4.39 is that the jammer skates a full lap backwards relative to the pack and then passes the star to suddenly join it.

There is no -1 lap here.  The jammer has skated forward 21 feet, and then back.

So if the Jammer skates back a full lap it's no cutting. If they skate back 21 feet it is a cutting. Got it. But since Jammers can hit each other oob anywhere on the track, there has to be a point on the lap where it switches from cutting to no call. Where is this point? (I guess, most plausible would be half a lap from the pack, in line with the glossary definition of ahead/behind, which would bring us back to reply #8.)

Offline llama of death

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 290
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • Referee
  • League Affiliation: Rollling Hills Derby Dames, WheatWhackers (JRDA)
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: star pass and cutting penalty
« Reply #17 on: September 12, 2017, 04:08:08 pm »
0
That is not how C4.39 works.  The important concept in C4.39 is that the jammer skates a full lap backwards relative to the pack and then passes the star to suddenly join it.

There is no -1 lap here.  The jammer has skated forward 21 feet, and then back.

So if the Jammer skates back a full lap it's no cutting. If they skate back 21 feet it is a cutting. Got it. But since Jammers can hit each other oob anywhere on the track, there has to be a point on the lap where it switches from cutting to no call. Where is this point? (I guess, most plausible would be half a lap from the pack, in line with the glossary definition of ahead/behind, which would bring us back to reply #8.)

I would like to help you answer that but I do not fully understand what you are trying to ask. It sounds like you are still thinking about the jammer cutting jammer scenario as the star cover is the one the OoB jammer is cutting, if so I refer you back to AdamSmashers diagrams and my own example scenario below.

Skating back 21ft or even 1000ft is not the point.

The point being made here is Cutting penalties happen when on skater cuts another skater not relative to their position as jammer or pivot or anything.

Sue blocks out John, Sue Passes star to Betty. Even though Sue is no longer the jammer she still has earned superior position on John. When John cuts Sue, it no longer matters if she passed the star because the cut is on the sue not the position she was playing.
I play devils advocate a lot, it is always because I desire a complete understanding of the rule/scenario. I do make changes to my reffing often as a direct result of discussions resulting in a consensus. Particularly if it is contrary to my previous understanding.

Offline Vanilla VICE

  • Referee
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 659
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • SC&L
  • League Affiliation: Muscogee Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: star pass and cutting penalty
« Reply #18 on: September 12, 2017, 04:32:09 pm »
0
Quote
When John cuts Sue, it no longer matters if she passed the star because the cut is on the sue not the position she was playing.

Not if you believe Sue teleports forward a lap after the star pass, then it isn't a cut. Speedy is correct in that your saying people 100ft behind the pack don't teleport forward, and that those in the the pack do (even though both of these situations would be on the same lap). This is just too inconsistent for me to want to rely on the "half way" idea. I think teleportation always happens if starpass happens while being -1 lap from the original knockout OOB.

The rules do not allow a blocker to be on a different lap than the pack, so we know after the star pass they would have to teleport forward. They lose their relative position after they teleport forward.

WFTDA Rule/Clarification:
C4.39: The former White Jammer, by virtue of having become a Blocker, is considered to be far ahead of Red Jammer (just like all the other Blockers).

This right here tells you they instantly move forward to become on the same lap as the pack. If that is true, than it isn't a Relative Position gain, and cannot be a cut.

You lose superior position if you teleport forward a lap. You teleport forward a lap because you can't be -1 lap from the pack.

Why do we have to say that people teleport forward one lap? Because we allow Jammers to go -1 lap, and do NOT allow blockers to go down -1 lap. If your a jammer at -1 and you starpass, you teleport forward because the rules don't allow you to be -1 as a blocker.

The whole point of C4.39 is to tell you if you are -1, you lose your Superior Position on folks you knocked out on lap 0 if you are a jammer turned blocker. That is exactly what happens in this scenario.


For this to be a cut, the re-entry would have to occur before the teleporation(Star Pass). I know I said I was picturing something different before, but I'm still convinced of the same result.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2017, 05:26:59 pm by Vanilla VICE »
Muscogee Roller Girls: Columbus, GA
FlatTrackStats Mod

Online Speedy Convalesce

  • NSO
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Rhein-Neckar Delta Quads
Re: star pass and cutting penalty
« Reply #19 on: September 13, 2017, 10:55:33 am »
0
So if the Jammer skates back a full lap it's no cutting. If they skate back 21 feet it is a cutting. Got it. But since Jammers can hit each other oob anywhere on the track, there has to be a point on the lap where it switches from cutting to no call. Where is this point? (I guess, most plausible would be half a lap from the pack, in line with the glossary definition of ahead/behind, which would bring us back to reply #8.)

I would like to help you answer that but I do not fully understand what you are trying to ask. It sounds like you are still thinking about the jammer cutting jammer scenario as the star cover is the one the OoB jammer is cutting, if so I refer you back to AdamSmashers diagrams and my own example scenario below.

[...]

Sue blocks out John, Sue Passes star to Betty. Even though Sue is no longer the jammer she still has earned superior position on John. When John cuts Sue, it no longer matters if she passed the star because the cut is on the sue not the position she was playing.

My question stems from the fact that in C4.39 Sue also does not physically get ahead of John. But it's not a cut there. And the only difference to Smasher's diagrams I can see is how far Sue (and John) have skated clockwise before the Star Pass.

Offline Vanilla VICE

  • Referee
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 659
  • Stats Sheet: 6
  • SC&L
  • League Affiliation: Muscogee Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: star pass and cutting penalty
« Reply #20 on: September 19, 2017, 08:56:02 pm »
0
https://wftda.com/2017-rules-changes-to-game-structure/
WFTDA Rule/Clarification:
A Jammer cedes their superior position when they Pass the Star.

I finally found this. If this doesn't make you think this isn't a cut, nothing will. Superior position evaporates after the star pass is complete. The Jammer turned blocker loses superior position. That is why the re-entry would have to occur before the star pass for this to be a cut.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2017, 08:59:30 pm by Vanilla VICE »
Muscogee Roller Girls: Columbus, GA
FlatTrackStats Mod

Offline Triop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Stats Sheet: 0
Re: star pass and cutting penalty
« Reply #21 on: September 19, 2017, 11:07:36 pm »
0
https://wftda.com/2017-rules-changes-to-game-structure/
WFTDA Rule/Clarification:
A Jammer cedes their superior position when they Pass the Star.

I finally found this. If this doesn't make you think this isn't a cut, nothing will. Superior position evaporates after the star pass is complete. The Jammer turned blocker loses superior position. That is why the re-entry would have to occur before the star pass for this to be a cut.

Is that actually described in the rules anywhere? I never have good luck finding anything in the rules anymore.

Offline Bluebeard

  • Referee
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Independent
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: star pass and cutting penalty
« Reply #22 on: Today at 01:25:01 am »
0
@Smasher Thank you for the pictures, They're very helpful.

https://wftda.com/2017-rules-changes-to-game-structure/
WFTDA Rule/Clarification:
A Jammer cedes their superior position when they Pass the Star.

I finally found this. If this doesn't make you think this isn't a cut, nothing will. Superior position evaporates after the star pass is complete. The Jammer turned blocker loses superior position. That is why the re-entry would have to occur before the star pass for this to be a cut.

That is from the announcement about changes in the rules and giving a plain language synopsis thereof.  If it were meant to be enforced this way in all circumstances, then the third paragraph of 4.2.2 would include the language ", or pass the star".  It does not.
WFTDA Rule/Clarification:
4.2.2. Gaining Position
It is illegal for a Skater to use the out-of-bounds area to gain position on someone who is upright and in bounds. Skaters who are out of bounds must return in bounds behind any upright and in bounds Skaters who they were behind when they left the track. If there is a Pack, Skaters who are out of bounds may return in bounds in front of any out of play Skaters. If there is no Pack, Skaters who are out of bounds may return in bounds in front of any Skaters more than 20 ft (6.10 m) from the last defined Pack.

Skaters who intentionally, but legally, leave the track (examples include, to report to the Penalty Box or to fix equipment) must return to the track behind all in play Blockers. If there is no Pack, they must return to the track behind all Blockers within 20 ft (6.10 m) of the last defined Pack.

If a Skater is put out of bounds due to an opponent’s block, the Skater must return in bounds behind that opponent, even if the Skater was in front of the opponent before being blocked. That opponent gives up this advantage if they go down, out of bounds, or out of play (or more than 20 ft (6.10 m) from the last defined Pack if there is no Pack) prior to the Skater re-entering the track.

I have submitted a ticket to timeout suggesting a rule change to say that a skater relinquishes superior position by passing the star with no qualifications.  Which would make the rules as you describe.


@Speedy I understand and can sympathize with your confusion.  the front edge of the engagement zone is where a jammer transitions between trips through the pack.
WFTDA Rule/Clarification:
3.2. Scoring Trips
Points are grouped by trips through the Pack. One trip through the Pack ends, and the next begins, when the Jammer exits the front of the Engagement Zone. Upon completion of a trip through the Pack, the Jammer’s score for that trip can no longer be altered by dropping back to re-pass any opponents the Jammer did not score upon on that trip.

If a Jammer enters the Engagement Zone from the front, they return to their previous trip until they exit the Engagement Zone from the front again. A Jammer cannot, however, fall behind by more than one trip. Whenever a Jammer exits the Engagement Zone from the front, they return to their latest trip. If a Jammer falls behind their initial trip through the Pack, passes on Blockers do not count toward scoring or lapping until they return to their initial trip through the Pack.

When a Jam ends, whatever trip the Jammers are on is considered to have been “completed” by the Jam ending.

If the in bounds (teal) jammer returns to a prior trip and the out of bounds (orange) jammer remains on their next scoring trip, when the teal jammer passes her star to become a blocker she has to "teleport" forward a lap to join the pack on the same trip as the orange jammer.

If the orange jammer also returns to their prior trip, then there is no teleport necessary because everyone is on the same trip.

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 1765
Views: 2677
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 1634
Views: 2927
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 1671
Views: 3347
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2522
Views: 3485
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal