ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules


Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

London Roller Derby Referee Sessions by 3Beers
July 14, 2020, 01:34:46 pm

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Author Topic: Derby, you so crazy.  (Read 2549 times)

Offline ZsaZsa KaPow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Forest City Derby Girls
Derby, you so crazy.
« on: February 27, 2018, 01:37:47 am »
Last year, in a sanctioned tournament, we had a real doozy.

Pivot from black team is given a penalty and reports to box, jam ends.
Next line up comes, black fields a new pivot.
No refs notice.
Upon seeing this, original black pivot in the box stashes the stripe in her shirt.
OF COURSE, there is a star pass. Jam ends when white jammer calls it, chaos ensues.

I couldn't quite follow what the HR decided, we had to get the game going so I stood back and watched the benches. But it plagues me, endlessly. I HR ALOT so this may happen again. What penalties would you assign? After some study, I decided an interference to the original pivot in the box. I'm wavering on a penalty to the non-pivot that received the pass, definite warning to the bench.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2018, 01:42:15 am by ZsaZsa KaPow »

Offline Speedy Convalesce

  • NSO
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Rhein-Neckar Delta Quads
Re: Derby, you so crazy.
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2018, 10:42:56 am »
[rule]Scenario C2.2.F
White Pivot is seated in the Penalty Box. Between Jams, three White Blockers–one of whom is wearing a Stripe–line up on the track.

Outcome: If the Jam starts with two White Skaters wearing the Stripe, the Officials should direct the White Blocker on the track to remove their Stripe.

Rationale: The Skater seated in the Box is considered to be the White Pivot for the Jam. As the White team fielded the correct number of Blockers, there is no need to send the “extra” White Pivot back to their bench.

Keep in Mind: If the White Blocker refuses to remove the Stripe, that White Blocker should be penalized. Refusal to obey an instruction about improper gameplay is insubordinate.

Keep in Mind: If the White Blocker engages in any privileges reserved for the Pivot before they have removed the Stripe, even if no warning has yet been issued, that White Blocker should be penalized, as their illegal Stripe had impact on the game.[/rule] (emphais mine)
The penalty would be Interference.

As for the Pivot in the box, one could argue that the rationale of C4.3.D applies:

[rule]Scenario C4.3.D
The Jam starts and White Jammer quickly earns Lead. Red Jammer immediately pulls off their Star and tries to pass it over their opponents’ heads to Red Pivot, but is unable to do so. Red Jammer stuffs the Star into their jersey so they don’t have to hold it as they work their way through the Pack.

Outcome: Red Jammer has hidden the Star from their opponents, also hiding the fact that they are their team’s Jammer. Red Jammer is penalized.

Rationale: It is unsporting to attempt to hide your role in the Jam.[/rule]

I would, however, not issue this penalty by default, as it would be two penalties for one impact.
If this happens repeatedly, I can see giving the teams a warning and afterwards issuing a penalty for hiding the Stripe with the intention of fielding a new Pivot, even if the false Pivot has no impact.

Side note: This can not only be spotted by Refs, but also by penalty box NSOs and especially by LTs. Establishing good communication between Refs and NSO can help sorting this before it has impact.

Offline ZsaZsa KaPow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Forest City Derby Girls
Re: Derby, you so crazy.
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2018, 12:13:29 am »
It was a hiccup, albeit a big one. The penalty tracking NSOs noticed it and tried to alert the HR. I was the FIPR and just as oblivious as the rest of the refs. Def a learning experience as I still stew about it almost a year later. It was a collective brain fart, which happens, hence needing to understand the aftermath.


Featured Product


Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet


Featured Classifieds

ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4564
Views: 7829
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3057
Views: 6373
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3269
Views: 7349
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4096
Views: 9361
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal