Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Resources for new referees. by tamall
November 19, 2020, 04:30:47 am

Re: London Roller Derby Referee Sessions by tamall
November 19, 2020, 04:24:30 am

London Roller Derby Referee Sessions by 3Beers
July 14, 2020, 01:34:46 pm

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Author Topic: Star Pass Complete ?  (Read 10486 times)

Offline Robert 5 to 3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Wdd
Star Pass Complete ?
« on: August 07, 2018, 12:00:13 am »
Hi Zebra friends!

I witness a few star passes over the weekends bouts in my home town and saw two different timings on when the Jammer Referees would indicate a star pass is complete (using the hand signal).

1 - As soon as the star cover has been legally handed to the Pivot
2 - As soon as the Pivot has placed the star helmet cover over the Pivot cover...

Which is the at the point of completed star pass? During the change over, if a penalty is given, who would they serve it as?

Offline AdamSmasher

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Stats Sheet: 3
  • League Affiliation: Lansing Derby Vixens
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 3
Re: Star Pass Complete ?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2018, 12:16:19 pm »
[rule]2.2.4

...Upon releasing the Star into the Pivot’s grasp, the position of Jammer is passed. The new Jammer takes over for the old Jammer in terms of points scored, trips through the pack, and Skaters passed.[/rule]

You may have just perceived the signal being given longer or later, but the moment of the transfer of position is when the jammer lets go of the star.  This assumes that the pass is fully legal, i.e., that the jammer and the pivot are both upright, in bounds, in play, not in queue, and not currently penalized.
I'm better at remembering "Smasher" is me than "Adam."
Rules Colored Glasses - Useful Officiating Stuff

Offline Robert 5 to 3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Wdd
Re: Star Pass Complete ?
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2018, 01:09:44 am »
Thanks AdamSmasher.

So if a Pivot legally receives a the Star helmet cover, has not yet put it on and receives a penalty... They will need to serve the penalty as a Jammer...

Offline AdamSmasher

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Stats Sheet: 3
  • League Affiliation: Lansing Derby Vixens
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 3
Re: Star Pass Complete ?
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2018, 03:31:24 am »
Thanks AdamSmasher.

So if a Pivot legally receives a the Star helmet cover, has not yet put it on and receives a penalty... They will need to serve the penalty as a Jammer...

Correct.  As soon as the Jammer releases the star into the Pivot's grasp (all other things being legal), the jammer status has transferred.
I'm better at remembering "Smasher" is me than "Adam."
Rules Colored Glasses - Useful Officiating Stuff

Offline Bluebeard

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Independent
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Star Pass Complete ?
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2018, 12:41:14 am »
First, I agree with everything Smasher said.  He is absolutely correct.

Another possible explanation for an official indicating star pass complete when the pivot turned jammer dons the star is that in old rulesets, the pass was not complete until the pivot donned the star.  I forget off the top of my head if it was the 2014, or 2015 rulesets that changed the star pass process so that the pass was complete upon the jammer releasing the star to the pivot.  That could have been a referee who has been around for a while (possibly with a break during which star passes changed) and could be thinking of star passes from an old ruleset.  In that case that official could use a reminder that star passes have changed and they should probably go over the current rule set with respect to star passes. 

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4856
Views: 8468
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3334
Views: 6960
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3550
Views: 8005
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4417
Views: 9980
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal