Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

October 27th Savannah, Georgia- Blocktoberfest Junior Scrimmage Refs needed by TerryT
October 19, 2018, 01:46:12 am

Low Down Throw Down 2019 - May 3-5 - Augusta, GA by Damn Yankee
October 15, 2018, 10:33:04 pm

Re: Directional While Straddling by Vanilla VICE
October 03, 2018, 03:14:54 pm

Re: Directional While Straddling by Garrotin Keillor
September 22, 2018, 06:03:12 am

Directional While Straddling by HELLvis
September 15, 2018, 11:52:16 pm

Re: Ref and NSO shirts for sale by Renzi06
September 11, 2018, 10:48:43 am

Re: "Unofficial" Referee Code of Conduct by Garrotin Keillor
September 10, 2018, 05:11:19 am

Re: "Unofficial" Referee Code of Conduct by HELLvis
September 07, 2018, 06:25:47 pm

Re: "Unofficial" Referee Code of Conduct by Axis of Stevil
September 06, 2018, 07:30:56 pm

"Unofficial" Referee Code of Conduct by HELLvis
September 06, 2018, 05:06:33 pm

Author Topic: Star Pass Complete ?  (Read 462 times)

Offline Robert 5 to 3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Wdd
Star Pass Complete ?
« on: August 07, 2018, 12:00:13 am »
0
Hi Zebra friends!

I witness a few star passes over the weekends bouts in my home town and saw two different timings on when the Jammer Referees would indicate a star pass is complete (using the hand signal).

1 - As soon as the star cover has been legally handed to the Pivot
2 - As soon as the Pivot has placed the star helmet cover over the Pivot cover...

Which is the at the point of completed star pass? During the change over, if a penalty is given, who would they serve it as?

Offline AdamSmasher

  • NSO
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 228
  • Stats Sheet: 3
  • League Affiliation: Lansing Derby Vixens
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 3
Re: Star Pass Complete ?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2018, 12:16:19 pm »
+1
WFTDA Rule/Clarification:
2.2.4

...Upon releasing the Star into the Pivot’s grasp, the position of Jammer is passed. The new Jammer takes over for the old Jammer in terms of points scored, trips through the pack, and Skaters passed.

You may have just perceived the signal being given longer or later, but the moment of the transfer of position is when the jammer lets go of the star.  This assumes that the pass is fully legal, i.e., that the jammer and the pivot are both upright, in bounds, in play, not in queue, and not currently penalized.
I'm better at remembering "Smasher" is me than "Adam."
Rules Colored Glasses - Useful Officiating Stuff

Offline Robert 5 to 3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Wdd
Re: Star Pass Complete ?
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2018, 01:09:44 am »
0
Thanks AdamSmasher.

So if a Pivot legally receives a the Star helmet cover, has not yet put it on and receives a penalty... They will need to serve the penalty as a Jammer...

Offline AdamSmasher

  • NSO
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 228
  • Stats Sheet: 3
  • League Affiliation: Lansing Derby Vixens
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 3
Re: Star Pass Complete ?
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2018, 03:31:24 am »
+1
Thanks AdamSmasher.

So if a Pivot legally receives a the Star helmet cover, has not yet put it on and receives a penalty... They will need to serve the penalty as a Jammer...

Correct.  As soon as the Jammer releases the star into the Pivot's grasp (all other things being legal), the jammer status has transferred.
I'm better at remembering "Smasher" is me than "Adam."
Rules Colored Glasses - Useful Officiating Stuff

Offline Bluebeard

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 107
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Independent
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Star Pass Complete ?
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2018, 12:41:14 am »
0
First, I agree with everything Smasher said.  He is absolutely correct.

Another possible explanation for an official indicating star pass complete when the pivot turned jammer dons the star is that in old rulesets, the pass was not complete until the pivot donned the star.  I forget off the top of my head if it was the 2014, or 2015 rulesets that changed the star pass process so that the pass was complete upon the jammer releasing the star to the pivot.  That could have been a referee who has been around for a while (possibly with a break during which star passes changed) and could be thinking of star passes from an old ruleset.  In that case that official could use a reminder that star passes have changed and they should probably go over the current rule set with respect to star passes. 

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2530
Views: 4171
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 1943
Views: 4046
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2073
Views: 4531
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2914
Views: 4603
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal