Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Author Topic: 4.1.1 Intiator of Illegal Target Zone  (Read 2440 times)

Offline Rego_Derby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Med City Mafia
4.1.1 Intiator of Illegal Target Zone
« on: November 07, 2018, 01:14:35 am »
How should I rule on this? A line of blockers shoulder to shoulder are up against one of the lines (inside or outside doesn't matter). The blocker on the line turns their body at an angle so they are facing more towards the inside/outside of the track than straight ahead such that the angle they create with the blocker next to them eliminates the seam and the jammer has nothing to contact except the illegal target zone on both blockers as defined in that section. Does the blocker doing this get called for initiating with the illegal target zone? Does it matter more about how much time they give the jammer to react? It would seem like a sound strategy to force the jammer to the middle depending on how to rule on the situation.

Offline AdamSmasher

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Stats Sheet: 3
  • League Affiliation: Lansing Derby Vixens
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 3
Re: 4.1.1 Intiator of Illegal Target Zone
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2018, 01:32:07 pm »
I think you may be overthinking this a little bit.  Blockers are allowed to position themselves however they like on the track, as long as they aren't linked.  Turning one shoulder away from an opponent turns the other shoulder toward them, after all.

Initiation is a separate question from positioning.  Initiation just asks "who made the last move which caused this contact to happen the way it did?"

If a jammer is coming in at high speed and the blocker suddenly jumps in front of them such that the jammer couldn't change course, the answer to that is "the blocker."

On the other hand, if a jammer who *could* have changed trajectory *doesn't*, then the answer is "the jammer."

And it is definitely possible for there to be two initiators for a contact, if both people move simultaneously in a way that determines the final situation.
I'm better at remembering "Smasher" is me than "Adam."
Rules Colored Glasses - Useful Officiating Stuff

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4411
Views: 7375
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2919
Views: 5999
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3121
Views: 6895
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3945
Views: 8927
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal