intruder

Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Re: Clamping down with the upper arm by bmd (2113)
June 12, 2019, 07:54:29 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 12, 2019, 04:16:34 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Rego_Derby
June 11, 2019, 11:35:08 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Axis of Stevil
June 10, 2019, 06:56:10 pm

Re: Ref facepaint by Major Wood
June 10, 2019, 01:49:04 pm

Ref facepaint by Rego_Derby
June 09, 2019, 03:38:38 pm

Author Topic: 4.1.1 Intiator of Illegal Target Zone  (Read 1330 times)

Offline Rego_Derby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Med City Mafia
4.1.1 Intiator of Illegal Target Zone
« on: November 07, 2018, 01:14:35 am »
How should I rule on this? A line of blockers shoulder to shoulder are up against one of the lines (inside or outside doesn't matter). The blocker on the line turns their body at an angle so they are facing more towards the inside/outside of the track than straight ahead such that the angle they create with the blocker next to them eliminates the seam and the jammer has nothing to contact except the illegal target zone on both blockers as defined in that section. Does the blocker doing this get called for initiating with the illegal target zone? Does it matter more about how much time they give the jammer to react? It would seem like a sound strategy to force the jammer to the middle depending on how to rule on the situation.

Offline AdamSmasher

  • Referee
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Stats Sheet: 3
  • League Affiliation: Lansing Derby Vixens
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 1
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 3
Re: 4.1.1 Intiator of Illegal Target Zone
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2018, 01:32:07 pm »
I think you may be overthinking this a little bit.  Blockers are allowed to position themselves however they like on the track, as long as they aren't linked.  Turning one shoulder away from an opponent turns the other shoulder toward them, after all.

Initiation is a separate question from positioning.  Initiation just asks "who made the last move which caused this contact to happen the way it did?"

If a jammer is coming in at high speed and the blocker suddenly jumps in front of them such that the jammer couldn't change course, the answer to that is "the blocker."

On the other hand, if a jammer who *could* have changed trajectory *doesn't*, then the answer is "the jammer."

And it is definitely possible for there to be two initiators for a contact, if both people move simultaneously in a way that determines the final situation.
I'm better at remembering "Smasher" is me than "Adam."
Rules Colored Glasses - Useful Officiating Stuff

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3211
Views: 5105
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2311
Views: 4758
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2466
Views: 5303
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3248
Views: 5299
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal