Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

cell phone jammers by cheusulema
May 25, 2019, 09:46:16 am

Handheld Signal Jammer by cheusulema
May 25, 2019, 09:42:11 am

audio jammer by cheusulema
May 25, 2019, 09:32:32 am

Re: Answering a directional with forearms by Major Wood
April 30, 2019, 07:44:47 pm

Answering a directional with forearms by Rego_Derby
April 30, 2019, 05:56:20 pm

Re: Yielding to the opposite side of the track by Bluebeard
April 22, 2019, 07:21:28 pm

Yielding to the opposite side of the track by MyBabyDaddy
April 21, 2019, 03:22:45 am

Re: Clamping down with the upper arm by Vanilla VICE
April 14, 2019, 07:46:55 pm

Clamping down with the upper arm by rogrant
April 08, 2019, 09:25:34 pm

Re: 5 blocker points by bmd (2113)
March 21, 2019, 05:58:08 pm

Author Topic: Answering a directional with forearms  (Read 242 times)

Offline Rego_Derby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Stats Sheet: 0
  • League Affiliation: Med City Mafia
Answering a directional with forearms
« on: April 30, 2019, 05:56:20 pm »
During a scrimmage last night one blocker committed a blatant directional into an opposing blocker who then laid her out with the use of blatant forearms. The directional should obviously be called, but does the forearms violation by the other blocker also get called since she wouldn't have done that if she weren't reacting to someone skating directly at her?

Offline Major Wood

  • Administrator
  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2660
  • Stats Sheet: 77
  • League Affiliation: Nashville Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 5
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Answering a directional with forearms
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2019, 07:44:47 pm »
We don't give a penalty if that action was directly caused by another illegal action. For example, a red blocker is back blocked by an white jammer, which causes red blocker to fall through the legs of white blocker, making white blocker fall. In that case, white jammer would receive a back block penalty, but there would be no low block penalty, because that contact was caused by the illegal action of the white jammer.

What you describe here does not sound like that at all. It sounds like the skater saw she was about to receive contact from an opponent (maybe she knew that contact would be illegal, maybe not), and decided to react by counter-blocking with her forearms. That counter-block was not caused by the illegal contact from an opponent, but an active decision. Based on that, both the direction of gameplay and the forearms should be judged individually based on impact.

In short: "reacting to" is not the same as "caused by"
Your friendly Zebra Huddle admin.

Nashville Roller Derby Head Ref
WFTDA Level 5 Certified Referee

I speak only of my opinions and interpretations.

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3121
Views: 4912
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2224
Views: 4603
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2389
Views: 5130
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3173
Views: 5162
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal