intruder

Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Jammer Passing Inactive Jammers by hellvis
November 14, 2019, 03:37:30 am

Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER by Stray Taco
October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm

Clover Cup 2020 - March 20-22 - North Richland Hills, TX USA by SodOff
September 28, 2019, 10:09:13 am

JAMMER HELMET COVER by 3Beers
September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Author Topic: JAMMER HELMET COVER  (Read 1193 times)

Offline 3Beers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Stats Sheet: 2
  • League Affiliation: PARD
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
JAMMER HELMET COVER
« on: September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm »
Rules state: "...Jammer must pass the foremost in-play blocker legally, in bounds, and upright, while wearing the Jammer cover with the stars visible...."
If starting the jam in the penalty box, does the player have to be wearing the helmet cover?

Offline Stray Taco

  • Referee
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 385
  • Stats Sheet: 4
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Derby / Athens Ohio Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm »
No. If the Jammer starts the jam in the penalty box and dons the cover prior to making all the passes they need to earn Lead Jammer, they should be awarded lead.

I'm basing this on Scenario C2.2.2.A:
Quote
Red Jammer starts the Jam with their helmet cover inside-out. The stars are not visible with high contrast. They remove the cover, invert it, and put it back on their helmet. They then legally pass all Skaters, including the foremost Blocker.

Outcome: Red Jammer is declared Lead.

Rationale: Since Red Jammer did not have the ability to gain Lead prior to removing the Star from their head, they did not lose that ability.

Keep in Mind: If Red Jammer had removed the Star when the stars were visible, they would have lost the ability to gain Lead.

This scenario is similar: since they didn't have the ability to gain Lead until they were out of the Penalty Box AND wearing the cover with the Star visible, they didn't lose that ability, so they're still eligible to gain the ability and then earn Lead.
Mike "Stray Taco" Straw

I know some things, but there's a lot more I don't know.

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3980
Views: 6576
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2586
Views: 5364
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2787
Views: 6002
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3582
Views: 5987
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal