Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Author Topic: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds  (Read 25111 times)

Offline Ballistic Whistle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Stats Sheet: 14
  • I like watermelon...
Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« on: January 26, 2009, 12:45:28 pm »
One little thing has been kind of nagging at me, and thought I'd put it up here to hear some perspectives on this.

In order to score a point on an opposing blocker, the jammer must pass the player legally and in-bounds.

In an instance whereby a blocker blocks the jammer out, and ends up going our of bounds herself, the jammer is allowed to re-enter ahead of the blocker (who is now OOB), without incurring a Cutting Track penalty.

My question is, since the jammer passed the blocker while out of bounds, does she get the point for that blocker?

Offline Major Wood

  • Administrator
  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2665
  • Stats Sheet: 77
  • League Affiliation: Nashville Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 5
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2009, 01:06:03 pm »
If the pass occurs out of bounds, it does not count as a legal pass. She would not get a point for that blocker. If she were on her initial pass, she would need to re-pass that blocker to be able to get lead jammer.

Also, if the blocker gets back in bounds first, it does count as track cutting. So long as the pass occurred out of bounds.
Your friendly Zebra Huddle admin.

Nashville Roller Derby Head Ref
WFTDA Level 5 Certified Referee

I speak only of my opinions and interpretations.

Offline Matt the Knife

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Rainy City Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2009, 01:37:20 pm »
The way I read it, the jammer wouldn't score the point as per;

7.3.1.1 - Any legal pass counts. If a Jammer becomes ineligible for a point by committing an illegal action or passing while out-of-bounds, she is allowed an opportunity to re-pass and score the point.

However if the blocker was still OOB when the Jammer re-enters the track, I don't think it would be cutting track, cos from memory (although I can't find the written rule) girls who are out of bounds "cease to exist" for the sake of cutting track etc. However as Major Wood points out, if the Jammer passes the Blocker OOB and the Blocker gets onto the track first, the Jammer will be vulnerable to cutting track.

(I think I saw this one too, if it is from the bout this weekend Ballistic?)
Matt the Knife
WFTDA Level 3 Certified Referee
Head Referee - Rainy City Roller Girls

Offline Johnny Zebra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
  • Stats Sheet: 40
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2009, 02:08:56 pm »
No point; the absolute requirement for scoring against a player currently on the track is passing her legally and in bounds (exceptions being NOTT points, and unscored-upon players who are in front and OOP when the jam ends).

~j.z.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2009, 02:15:14 pm by Johnny Zebra »
===============
Johnny Zebra
WFTDA Certified Referee (Level 3)
WFTDA Rules Q&A Working Group
Gotham Girls Roller Derby
Zebra Huddle Moderator

Offline Riff Reff

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1001
  • Stats Sheet: 30
  • League Affiliation: Dublin Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2009, 03:00:48 pm »
so if this occurs... let's say the jammer is on her initial pass... she keeps skating... passes all other blockers (legally).. the blocker she passed OOB went down but now catches up and is within 20' before the jammer passed the foremost (opposing) blocker = Not lead jammer!?
(the other jammer is behind, in the box or NOTT)
Don't look at the game with rules-tinted glasses; look at the rules with game-tinted glasses!

Offline Major Wood

  • Administrator
  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2665
  • Stats Sheet: 77
  • League Affiliation: Nashville Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 5
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2009, 03:04:46 pm »
She has to pass ALL opposing blockers legally and in-bounds. If she passed any of them out of bounds, it does not count.
Without passing that one blocker legally and in bounds, she cannot become lead jammer.
Your friendly Zebra Huddle admin.

Nashville Roller Derby Head Ref
WFTDA Level 5 Certified Referee

I speak only of my opinions and interpretations.

Offline Riff Reff

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1001
  • Stats Sheet: 30
  • League Affiliation: Dublin Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2009, 03:12:15 pm »
thanks for the confirmation. (I just kind of repeated it for myself) :)
Don't look at the game with rules-tinted glasses; look at the rules with game-tinted glasses!

Offline Johnny Zebra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
  • Stats Sheet: 40
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2009, 03:15:05 pm »
so if this occurs... let's say the jammer is on her initial pass... she keeps skating... passes all other blockers (legally).. the blocker she passed OOB went down but now catches up and is within 20' before the jammer passed the foremost (opposing) blocker = Not lead jammer!?
(the other jammer is behind, in the box or NOTT)

Yep. If the opposing blocker gets back within the pack/engagement zone, before the jammer passes the foremost opposing blocker, she must also be passed legally and in bounds, because she is again part of the pack. While she remains OOP, she ceases to be a part of the pack and does not need to be passed.

~j.z.
===============
Johnny Zebra
WFTDA Certified Referee (Level 3)
WFTDA Rules Q&A Working Group
Gotham Girls Roller Derby
Zebra Huddle Moderator

Offline Riff Reff

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1001
  • Stats Sheet: 30
  • League Affiliation: Dublin Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2009, 03:26:51 pm »
just to be anal: being within the engagement zone does not necessarily mean you're part of the pack...  ;)

(you may give me a Major for a needless post)
« Last Edit: January 26, 2009, 03:49:28 pm by Riff Reff »
Don't look at the game with rules-tinted glasses; look at the rules with game-tinted glasses!

Offline Jessticular Fortitude

  • Referee
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Stats Sheet: 27
  • SOLID
  • League Affiliation: Nashville Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 2
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2009, 03:28:16 pm »
7.3.1.1 - Any legal pass counts. If a Jammer becomes ineligible for a point by committing an illegal action or passing while out-of-bounds, she is allowed an opportunity to re-pass and score the point.

How many times is the Jammer allowed to try to legally pass someone? "An opportunity" sounds like 1... does that mean she only gets 2 shots at it?
Hey look, a search function! Right up there! No on the left

Perhaps we should all spend a little more time reading and a little less time making shit up.

Offline Johnny Zebra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
  • Stats Sheet: 40
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2009, 03:33:21 pm »
7.3.1.1 - Any legal pass counts. If a Jammer becomes ineligible for a point by committing an illegal action or passing while out-of-bounds, she is allowed an opportunity to re-pass and score the point.

How many times is the Jammer allowed to try to legally pass someone? "An opportunity" sounds like 1... does that mean she only gets 2 shots at it?

*Any* pass -- so, theoretically, her chances are infinite.

~j.z.
===============
Johnny Zebra
WFTDA Certified Referee (Level 3)
WFTDA Rules Q&A Working Group
Gotham Girls Roller Derby
Zebra Huddle Moderator

Offline Riff Reff

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1001
  • Stats Sheet: 30
  • League Affiliation: Dublin Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2009, 03:33:47 pm »
ha.. I know that one: As many times as she wants... unless she leaves the engagement zone.  (until she passes the panty because she's done)

Edit: dammit... JZ was faster on the draw...)
Don't look at the game with rules-tinted glasses; look at the rules with game-tinted glasses!

Offline Johnny Zebra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
  • Stats Sheet: 40
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2009, 03:36:18 pm »
just to anal: being within the engagement zone does not necessarily mean you're part of the pack...  ;)

(you may give me a Major for a needless post)

No major for that -- it's a fair distinction! The rules say "pass through the pack," but those within the engagement zone count, so, it's a little gushy to me, so I included both :)

~j.z.
===============
Johnny Zebra
WFTDA Certified Referee (Level 3)
WFTDA Rules Q&A Working Group
Gotham Girls Roller Derby
Zebra Huddle Moderator

Offline Matt the Knife

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Stats Sheet: 1
  • League Affiliation: Rainy City Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2009, 03:45:45 pm »
7.3.1.1 - Any legal pass counts. If a Jammer becomes ineligible for a point by committing an illegal action or passing while out-of-bounds, she is allowed an opportunity to re-pass and score the point.

How many times is the Jammer allowed to try to legally pass someone? "An opportunity" sounds like 1... does that mean she only gets 2 shots at it?

*Any* pass -- so, theoretically, her chances are infinite.

~j.z.


Yeah, sorry about that, I should probably have quoted the next rule too, saying how the scoring pass is complete once the Jammer is 20ft ahead of the foremost pack skater, and so I interpret that as so long as the jammer doesn't go more than 20ft ahead of the pack, she is allowed infinate attempts to re-pass a blocker she has not passed legally as yet.
Matt the Knife
WFTDA Level 3 Certified Referee
Head Referee - Rainy City Roller Girls

Offline Major Wood

  • Administrator
  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2665
  • Stats Sheet: 77
  • League Affiliation: Nashville Rollergirls
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 5
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Jammer passing while Out of Bounds
« Reply #14 on: January 26, 2009, 03:50:20 pm »
She may attempt to repass as many times as she wants, so long as she does not reach 20 feet ahead of the pack.
Your friendly Zebra Huddle admin.

Nashville Roller Derby Head Ref
WFTDA Level 5 Certified Referee

I speak only of my opinions and interpretations.

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4416
Views: 7394
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2922
Views: 6007
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3126
Views: 6909
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3947
Views: 8937
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal