intruder

Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Jammer Passing Inactive Jammers by hellvis
November 14, 2019, 03:37:30 am

Re: JAMMER HELMET COVER by Stray Taco
October 03, 2019, 12:54:03 pm

Clover Cup 2020 - March 20-22 - North Richland Hills, TX USA by SodOff
September 28, 2019, 10:09:13 am

JAMMER HELMET COVER by 3Beers
September 22, 2019, 12:35:26 pm

Re: "Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Bluebeard
July 11, 2019, 06:30:49 pm

"Pincer" blocks = multipayer? by Rego_Derby
July 11, 2019, 01:08:36 am

Re: Jammer Scoring Theory by Major Wood
June 26, 2019, 09:59:33 pm

Jammer Scoring Theory by Rego_Derby
June 25, 2019, 04:30:03 am

Author Topic: Initiating a block using the forearm.  (Read 13382 times)

Offline JoeXCore

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1022
  • Stats Sheet: 20
  • Will go anywhere to which I can afford to travel.
Initiating a block using the forearm.
« on: November 03, 2009, 07:33:58 pm »
It's illegal... I thought this was clear.

But apparently refs that I've trained and/or trained with have been corrected by their head refs for calling penalties for a girl initiating a block using the forearm. The instance at question is when the forearm is resting firmly against the body.
Black n Bluegrass Roller Girls - head referee
MRDA Recognized Refree

Offline Stegoscorus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 773
  • Stats Sheet: 51
  • STOP. Collaborate, and listen.
  • League Affiliation: Rose City Rollers
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2009, 07:43:38 pm »
If a forearm is pulled into the chest, it's considered an extension of the chest.  They can make initial contact with their forearms in this manner. 

If the forearm is out in front/at the side of the skater, and she initiates a block with it, call it based on impact.

If she initiates with the forearm tucked in to the body, but pushes off with the forearm during the block, call it based on impact. 
WFTDA Certified Referee - Level 3
Founding Member, ARROW
Portland, OR, U.S.A.

Offline howie~swerve

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
  • Stats Sheet: 20
  • Cake or death?
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2009, 08:31:45 pm »
Yah that was me.  Joe's so diplomatic.

If a forearm is pulled into the chest, it's considered an extension of the chest.

I swear the HRs I've worked with split 50/50 on this, but the more experienced tend towards Steg's position.

It flows naturally from [rule] No Impact 6.3.5   Contact made with the forearms when forearms are pulled in to the body to absorb a hit.[/rule] but I know people quibble about the "to absorb a hit" part of that.  There are two positions:

Opinion 1: 6.3.5. is only there to clarify that skaters don't get forearm penalties when opponents hit them in the forearms.  This may seem redundant with the concept of initiating contact, but this kind of redundancy happens sometimes in the "No Impact" parts of Section 6 (e.g., 6.12.2, 6.14.1).

Opinion 2: 6.3.5 allows a skater to make a hit, and absorb the impact of her own hit, with her forearms as long as they are drawn in.  This is consistent with an "exclusive" reading of 6.3.1 that says Forearm penalties are ONLY to be given in the event of a "grab, hold or push".


Example from last night:  Red Jammer comes up on Green Blocker and lands a hard block on Green's upper arm, using her forearms as a blocking surface, while they are tightly drawn into her chest.  Green is pushed to one side and Red Jammer skates on.

I'm simply not sure whether this can be called "contact made... to absorb a hit".  Suppose it can, but isn't it more accurately described as "contact made to execute a hit"?   I'd like to hear other folks' interpretations.

howie~
Rollergirls of Central Kentucky (Lexington, KY)
"To protect and to swerve."

Offline Johnny Zebra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
  • Stats Sheet: 40
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2009, 09:29:31 pm »
I swear the HRs I've worked with split 50/50 on this, but the more experienced tend towards Steg's position.

Yep. The leaning is towards letting them play. Forearms as part of block without extension will generally be let go.

~j.z.
===============
Johnny Zebra
WFTDA Certified Referee (Level 3)
WFTDA Rules Q&A Working Group
Gotham Girls Roller Derby
Zebra Huddle Moderator

Offline Darkjester

  • Has Too Much Damn Time Member
  • ********************
  • Posts: 3067
  • Stats Sheet: 39
  • "When in doubt, RTFM"
  • League Affiliation: Beach Brawl SK8R Dolls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2009, 09:36:04 pm »
The biggest portion of JZ's quote above is the "without extension".

If you have the arm bent and tucked tight against the body, part of the forearm, bicep will hit. If you kick out the elbow ala 'chicken wing', the forearm will be the front part and an illegal blocking zone.

Madness Tolls
69¢
Beach Brawl Sk8R Dolls
Fort Walton Beach FL

Offline noidd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Stats Sheet: 28
  • Start with 100% accuracy and get better over time.
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2009, 11:19:47 pm »
I swear the HRs I've worked with split 50/50 on this, but the more experienced tend towards Steg's position.

Yep. The leaning is towards letting them play. Forearms as part of block without extension will generally be let go.

~j.z.

I tend to be very literal (as captain literal).

[rule]
6.3.7.1   A slight but observable push with the hands or forearms.
6.3.7.2   A block initiated with the shoulder, in which there is either a simultaneous or subsequent push with the forearm. A push is indicated by the initiating skater extendingobservable push

but also how to tell if it's happening:

as indicated by the initiating skater extending her arms

--
Referees are not here to legislate, dictate, pontificate or participate.  We are there only to facilitate.

Offline mick hawkins

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1926
  • Stats Sheet: 61
  • They're covers people. Helmet COVERS!
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2009, 12:21:56 am »
firstly, i really appreciate hearing how the experienced wftda refs are doing things and being up-to-date


secondly, noidd, mate, love the way you're looking at this

ive always considered

[rule]Minor Penalty
6.3.7 Illegal forearm or hand contact to an opponent falling within the legal target zones that forces the receiving opposing skater off balance, forward, and/or sideways but does not cause her to lose her relative position. This includes:
6.3.7.1 A slight but observable push with the hands or forearms.[/rule]

to say that a push with the forearms are held against the chest - is still a push with the forearms
that is, the forearm doesnt need to be extended for a push to occur

since

[rule]6.3.3.1 The initiating skater extends her arm during contact [/rule]
was just one criteria to determine a push had occured

and could be seen as distinct to
[rule]6.3.3.2 The receiving skater is propelled forwards or sideways[/rule]
meaning you dont need both criteria to assess a push with the forearms has taken place

that is, a push with the forearms held to the chest - even without the arm being extended - is still, literally, a push with the forearms


again, really appreciate  hearing how this is being called


Sun State Roller Girls (WFTDA Apprentice League)
Brisbane, Australia

Offline noidd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Stats Sheet: 28
  • Start with 100% accuracy and get better over time.
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2009, 12:26:15 am »
firstly, i really appreciate hearing how the experienced wftda refs are doing things and being up-to-date

Full disclosure - I am neither a WFTDA ref nor very experienced but I'm glad you appreciated it.
--
Referees are not here to legislate, dictate, pontificate or participate.  We are there only to facilitate.

Offline mick hawkins

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1926
  • Stats Sheet: 61
  • They're covers people. Helmet COVERS!
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2009, 12:29:29 am »
yeah mate no worries

i meant that as a comment on the discussion as a whole
Sun State Roller Girls (WFTDA Apprentice League)
Brisbane, Australia

Offline ttjustice

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Stats Sheet: 18
  • And Justice for All!
  • League Affiliation: Ohio Roller Girls
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Level 2
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2009, 06:37:15 pm »
I swear the HRs I've worked with split 50/50 on this, but the more experienced tend towards Steg's position.

Yep. The leaning is towards letting them play. Forearms as part of block without extension will generally be let go.

~j.z.

This how I was told to interpret it as well.  Still our players are quite bad about "pushing off" at the end of the block and drawing the penalty.
Timothy T. Justice
Ohio Roller Girls Head of Officiating 2011-2013
Retired Level 3 Skating Official
WFTDA Rules Theory Clerk

Offline howie~swerve

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
  • Stats Sheet: 20
  • Cake or death?
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2009, 08:20:49 pm »
ive always considered

[rule]Minor Penalty
6.3.7 Illegal forearm or hand contact to an opponent falling within the legal target zones that forces the receiving opposing skater off balance, forward, and/or sideways but does not cause her to lose her relative position. This includes:
6.3.7.1 A slight but observable push with the hands or forearms.[/rule]

to say that a push with the forearms are held against the chest - is still a push with the forearms
that is, the forearm doesnt need to be extended for a push to occur

since

[rule]6.3.3.1 The initiating skater extends her arm during contact [/rule]
was just one criteria to determine a push had occured

and could be seen as distinct to
[rule]6.3.3.2 The receiving skater is propelled forwards or sideways[/rule]
meaning you dont need both criteria to assess a push with the forearms has taken place

that is, a push with the forearms held to the chest - even without the arm being extended - is still, literally, a push with the forearms

Given mick's rules-text argument, which I think is sound -- how do we justify JZ's position, which is the most common practice in upper levels?  Just looking for something clear in the text which doesn't (although I like noidd's work too) string together several parts of the rules which aren't necessarily referring to the same context.

What I really think it comes down it is two lines:
[rule]No Impact/No Penalty 6.3.5   Contact made with the forearms when forearms are pulled in to the body to absorb a hit.[/rule]
Read alone, this supports JZ's position as long as you accept that "executing a block" falls under the definition of "absorbing a hit."

but if you read this together with the very next line:
[rule]6.3.6     A block initiated with the shoulder in which there is forearm contact to the opponent but no observable push with the forearm.[/rule]
... it suggests that 6.3.5 doesn't apply when there is contact AND a push.  Then this supports mick's position as long as you accept that "pushing with the forearm" doesn't have to include "extending the forearm". (per 6.3.3, it clearly can include extending the forearm, but that list isn't necessarily exclusive.)

I actually don't see a way to resolve this in the rules.  I'm happy to abide by the dicta of senior refs, but I'd love a citation to chapter and verse.
Rollergirls of Central Kentucky (Lexington, KY)
"To protect and to swerve."

Offline Stegoscorus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 773
  • Stats Sheet: 51
  • STOP. Collaborate, and listen.
  • League Affiliation: Rose City Rollers
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2009, 08:47:22 pm »
that is, a push with the forearms held to the chest - even without the arm being extended - is still, literally, a push with the forearms


again, really appreciate  hearing how this is being called


But if we consider tucked-in forearms an extension of the chest, this is really a push with the chest.  I see what you're saying Mick (and Howie), but my interpretation has been that pushing off with the forearms means the forearms are extended from the body. 

I think that the rules as they're written support us calling it this way. 
WFTDA Certified Referee - Level 3
Founding Member, ARROW
Portland, OR, U.S.A.

Offline noidd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Stats Sheet: 28
  • Start with 100% accuracy and get better over time.
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2009, 09:27:37 pm »
Given mick's rules-text argument, which I think is sound -- how do we justify JZ's position,

Like this:

[rule]
6.3.2 Incidental forearm contact between skaters is acceptable.
[/rule]

If the forearm is pulled into the chest then the contribution due to the forearm is incidental.

Thusly, no penalty.
--
Referees are not here to legislate, dictate, pontificate or participate.  We are there only to facilitate.

Offline mick hawkins

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1926
  • Stats Sheet: 61
  • They're covers people. Helmet COVERS!
  • Referee Certification Level: Not Certified
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2009, 10:17:42 pm »
isnt incidental contact just referring to "rubbing" forearms while skating?
... not contact that has impact


stego, i like your thought...

Quote
interpretation has been that pushing off with the forearms means the forearms are extended from the body. 
that could cover it really.

being extended there's greater reach - even if the forearm is fixed and not moving during the contact

before hearing about this i would have previously said that there's not much difference between contact with a fixed extended forearm and one thats held to the chest
... but i see that there is (or can be)

interesting - ive not considered this before



EDIT: just wanted to add in that im looking at interpretations of the rules and how they support the practice... As Howie says "I'm happy to abide by the dicta of senior refs".
« Last Edit: November 04, 2009, 10:51:22 pm by mick »
Sun State Roller Girls (WFTDA Apprentice League)
Brisbane, Australia

Offline howie~swerve

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
  • Stats Sheet: 20
  • Cake or death?
Re: Initiating a block using the forearm.
« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2009, 12:37:41 am »
If the forearm is pulled into the chest then the contribution due to the forearm is incidental.

Thusly, no penalty.


Key concept, contribution.  I can definitely live with that. 

h~
Rollergirls of Central Kentucky (Lexington, KY)
"To protect and to swerve."

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3980
Views: 6577
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2587
Views: 5364
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 2788
Views: 6002
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3582
Views: 5987
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal