intruder

Menu

ZH Classifieds
ZH Files
ZH Staff
WFTDA 12/1/2014 Rules
WFTDA 3/1/2014 Rules

Donate

Please Support Zebra Huddle!

Recent Posts

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
April 26, 2020, 09:46:33 pm

Getting officials attention by Rego_Derby
March 03, 2020, 04:05:02 am

Re: Jammer's time in penalty box by Major Wood
February 05, 2020, 05:52:31 pm

Jammer's time in penalty box by 3Beers
January 29, 2020, 03:33:20 am

Nashville Roller Derby 2020 Scrimmage-A-Thon - 7/11/2020 by Major Wood
January 27, 2020, 09:36:38 pm

Re: Rule clarification by 3Beers
January 26, 2020, 08:09:00 pm

Re: Rule clarification by Bluebeard
January 17, 2020, 05:26:46 am

Rule clarification by 3Beers
December 28, 2019, 06:04:00 pm

Re: Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 29, 2019, 01:13:40 pm

Resources for new referees. by Destructor
November 26, 2019, 06:01:48 pm

Author Topic: Assist  (Read 3319 times)

All-Nate-Long

  • Guest
Assist
« on: March 03, 2010, 06:48:57 am »
If a* assist* starts legal and in bounds and finishes with either the skaters skate or leg(when falling) either out of bounds or OOP(out of play)  Would it be considered a legal assist? ? .....
[rule]   6.5.1   A Blocker engaging, blocking, or assisting outside the legal Engagement Zone. A penalty should be applied to each offending Blocker for each action.[/rule]


Thanks Everyone...

All-Nate-Long

Offline Shaun Ketterman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
  • Stats Sheet: 42
  • Rush Zeta Epsilon Beta! ZEEBS! ZEEBS! ZEEBS!
  • League Affiliation: Rollergirls of Central Kentucky (ROCK)
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Assist
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2010, 02:32:26 pm »
I would say that if an assist becomes illegal, then it is illegal, even if it began legally.  It should be called as soon as it becomes illegal. 

It's the same concept as bloking out of play.  Blockers can engage the jammer up to 20 feet from the pack.  Once that out of play point is reached, their blocking action becomes illegal if they continue it.

WFTDA Level 3 Certified Referee
MRDA Recognized Referee
Zebrahuddle.com Moderator
Head Referee, Rollergirls of Central Kentucky
Lexington, Kentucky

You can call me "Shaun". My shirts say "Ketterman" because they're sports jersies. Only kids and mascots put first names on jersies!

Offline Brother Grim

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
  • Stats Sheet: 6
Re: Assist
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2010, 01:46:15 am »
It's also along the same lines of 6.9.3, where the blocker must cease contact before her own skates are OOB. The block begins legal, but changes once the blocker is OOB.
Brother Grim

All-Nate-Long

  • Guest
Re: Assist
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2010, 09:19:07 am »
so would u consider blocking and assist as under the same guidelines....

I did find in my hunt that you cannot assist OOB... That is OOP

Offline Shaun Ketterman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
  • Stats Sheet: 42
  • Rush Zeta Epsilon Beta! ZEEBS! ZEEBS! ZEEBS!
  • League Affiliation: Rollergirls of Central Kentucky (ROCK)
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Assist
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2010, 05:11:35 pm »
6.5.1 A Blocker engaging, blocking, or assisting outside the legal Engagement Zone. A penalty should be applied to each offending Blocker for each action.

6.9.7 A skater who is straddling the line may not engage, block, or assist because she has one foot down outside the track boundary and is out of bounds by definition.

In general, if a skater is in a situation where blocking an opponent is illegal (out of play, out of bounds, no pack), assisting a teammate is also illegal. 
WFTDA Level 3 Certified Referee
MRDA Recognized Referee
Zebrahuddle.com Moderator
Head Referee, Rollergirls of Central Kentucky
Lexington, Kentucky

You can call me "Shaun". My shirts say "Ketterman" because they're sports jersies. Only kids and mascots put first names on jersies!

Offline Cliquework

  • Superhero Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1306
  • Stats Sheet: 55
  • EGO sum Speculum. Noxiae poena par esto.
  • League Affiliation: Demolition City Roller Derby
  • Referee Certification Level: Level 3
  • NSO Certification Level: Not Certified
Re: Assist
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2010, 05:18:05 pm »
Yup.

Additionally, if we take the definition of Engagement:

[rule]Engage: Any sort of interaction with another player on the track during a jam.
(see also "Assist" and "Block".) [/rule]

and couple that with Engagement Zone (where one can "Engage"):

[rule]Engagement Zone: The zone in which players may legally engage. The legal
 Engagement Zone extends from twenty (20) feet behind the rearmost pack member to
 twenty (20) feet in front of the foremost pack member, between the inside and outside track boundaries. Jammers may engage each other outside of the Engagement Zone. [/rule]

we see where overall interaction between players should be. So it's not only reflected in the specific rule section, but as an overall statement from the glossary definitions themselves.

Demolition City Roller Derby Head Ref
Evansville, IN
Zebra Huddle Moderator
WFTDA Refcert Checklist

All-Nate-Long

  • Guest
Re: Assist
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2010, 09:49:07 pm »
But where they can engage and where they end up after the engagement are two different locations ......

impact happens and in any given scenario a assist may start legal but end up OOB or OOP  due to .. say a opposing blocker flying into the assist or a trip...

The completed assist may have gained a victory ....
« Last Edit: March 04, 2010, 10:02:04 pm by All-Nate-Long »

Offline Brother Grim

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
  • Stats Sheet: 6
Re: Assist
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2010, 10:40:20 pm »
But where they can engage and where they end up after the engagement are two different locations ......

impact happens and in any given scenario a assist may start legal but end up OOB or OOP  due to .. say a opposing blocker flying into the assist or a trip...

These are two different things. Where they end up AFTER the assist has nothing to do with what happens DURING the assist. If they end up OOB or OOP once the assist has been completed, then we're looking at a whole separate scenario. If the OOP/OOB action occurs during the assist then it doesn't matter where they started.

As Patriarchy already demonstrated assisting is held to the same standard as blocking in relation to OOP penalties. As with those, it isn't always about where it starts but if anything illegal occurs during the course of the action.
Brother Grim

 

Featured Product

 

Zebra Huddle Head Referee Bout Booklet

 

Featured Classifieds


ZH Files

How to Score a Point in Roller Derby
Rating: *****
Downloads: 4460
Views: 7504
Filesize: 327.61KB
Date: January 17, 2017, 04:21:03 am
Comments (0)
By: AdamSmasher
June 2013 Ruleset situational questions
Rating: *****
Downloads: 2977
Views: 6086
Filesize: 29.71KB
Date: February 07, 2014, 04:57:32 pm
Comments (2)
By: Crash Test Ref
Rules Q&A and Publications for 6/15/13 Document
Rating: (None)
Downloads: 3179
Views: 7009
Filesize: 26.27KB
Date: August 02, 2013, 04:10:40 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman
Rules Q&A and Publications for 1/1/13 Document (4/24/13 Updates)
Rating: *****
Downloads: 3989
Views: 9035
Filesize: 28.07KB
Date: April 25, 2013, 05:45:34 pm
Comments (0)
By: Shaun Ketterman

Powered by EzPortal